Taking as their title “Facets of Democratic Design”, students on the Master’s program in Advanced Design at the University of Munich have created an intervention in X-D-E-P-O-T Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum, Munich.

In their intervention, 11 Master’s students explore the democratic potential of design and use selected exhibits to address the facets of what democratic means. In addition, the students add objects to the collection whose democratic aspects were in their opinion previously missing from the collection and are especially relevant for a younger generation. Moreover, this preoccupation with design and democracy takes place not only at the intellectual level as it has also left physical traces behind: At a live event on July 26: anyone who wanted to permanently demonstrate their understanding of democratic design was able to have the outline of one of the selected objects tattooed on their body in a professional tattoo studio in Munich. The results are documented in the exhibition in photographs and a film.

The students of the Advanced Design Master’s program at the University of Munich have for over a year being applying themselves intensively to the democratic potential of design. They understand democracy as a value system that has a major influence on how we all live together: Design can visualize future visions and innovative solutions, take a clear stance, and enhance both the shape of our society and our lives together. Design is capable of kicking off transformation processes and social change. The immense innovative potential of design is also reflected in designed objects: For example, the exhibits embody democratic values such as equality, accessibility, participation, and tolerance, but always also the restrictions of the respective time. Thanks to their intensive preoccupation with the objects the students reflect on the extent to which design supports, promotes, shapes but also prevents democratic structures.

The X-D-E-P-O-T provides new insights into and impressions of the Die Neue Sammlung’s collection. A diverse selection of objects from various epochs, different origins and design categories is shown alongside one another with the intention of enabling new perspectives. The interventions of the students (whose seminar was supervised by Prof. Markus Frenzl) highlights designs that could be interpreted differently given a broader understanding of democracy. This takes into consideration such aspects as background information on the design, the context of the item’s realization, its conception or accessibility to individual exhibits. In addition, the students adopt the role of curator by enriching the exhibition of the X-D-E-P-O-T temporarily with contemporary democratic objects that stand for current societal developments. And so that democratic design really gets beneath the skin and the objects are accessible in the sense of democratic participation they could be taken home as professional tattoos.

The exhibition “Facets of Democratic Design”
was developed by
Miriam Glöckler, Magdalena Kern, Amanda Kock, Marie Körner, Alica Kroll, Anja Lietzau, Leila Potocki, Marius Rohne, Liene Sanktjohanser, Clara Schlegelmilch und Rona Stupka

Exhibition. X-D-E-P-O-T. Facets of Democratic Design. Pinakothek der Moderne
October 19, 2011 – September 14, 2021

Interventionen:
Facetten demokratischen Designs.

Unter dem Titel „Facetten demokratischen Designs“ gestalten Studierende des Masterstudiengangs Advanced Design der Hochschule München eine Intervention im X-D-E-P-O-T der Neuen Sammlung – The Design Museum, München.

Elf Masterstudierende befassen sich in ihrer Intervention mit dem demokratischen Potenzial von Design und thematisieren die Facetten des Demokratischen anhand ausgewählter Ausstellungsobjekte.
Darüber hinaus ergänzen die Studierenden die Sammlung um Objekte, deren demokratische Aspekte ihrer Meinung nach in der Sammlung bislang fehlen und die für eine jüngere Generation besonders relevant sind. Die Auseinandersetzung mit Design und Demokratie erfolgt jedoch nicht nur auf intellektueller Ebene, sondern hat bei einem Live-Event am 26.Juli auch physische Spuren hinterlassen: Wer sein Verständnis demokratischen Designs dauerhaft demonstrieren wollte, konnte sich die Kontur eines der ausgewählten Objekte in einem professionellen Tattoo-Studio in München auf den eigenen Körper tätowieren lassen. Die Ergebnisse sind in der Ausstellung in Film und Fotografie dokumentiert.

Die Studierenden des Masterstudiengangs Advanced Design der Hochschule München setzen sich bereits seit über einem Jahr intensiv mit den demokratischen Potenzialen von Design auseinander. Sie verstehen Demokratie als Wertesystem, das unser Zusammenleben maßgeblich bestimmt: Design kann dabei Zukunftsvisionen zeichnen, innovative Lösungsstrategien entwickeln, klare Haltungen einnehmen und die Gestaltung unserer Gesellschaft sowie unseres Zusammenlebens verbessern. Durch Design werden Transformationsprozesse und gesellschaftlicher Wandel angestoßen. Das große Innovationspotenzial von Design spiegelt sich auch in gestalteten Objekten: So zeigen die Ausstellungstücke demokratische Werte wie Gleichberechtigung, Zugänglichkeit, Teilhabe und Toleranz, aber immer auch die Restriktionen der jeweiligen Zeit auf. Durch die intensive Auseinandersetzung mit den Gegenständen reflektieren die Studierenden die Frage, inwiefern Design demokratische Strukturen unterstützt, fördert, prägt oder auch verhindert.

Das X-D-E-P-O-T bietet neue Eindrücke in den Bestand der Neuen Sammlung. Eine vielfältige Auswahl an Objekten unterschiedlicher Epochen, verschiedener Herkünfte und Designkategorien wird nebeneinander gezeigt, um neue Sichtweisen zu ermöglichen. Die Intervention der Studierenden (Seminarbetreuung: Prof. Markus Frenzl) hebt Entwürfe hervor, die unter einem erweiterten Demokratieverständnis unterschiedlich gedeutet werden können. Dabei werden unter anderem Hintergrundinformationen zum Entwurf, zum Entstehungskontext, zur Konzeption oder zur Zugänglichkeit der einzelnen Ausstellungsstücke betrachtet. Darüber hinaus übernehmen die Studierenden eine kuratorische Rolle, indem sie die Ausstellung des X-D-E-P-O-T temporär um demokratische Objekte der Gegenwart bereichern, die für aktuelle gesellschaftliche Entwicklungen stehen. Und damit demokratisches Design real unter die Haut geht und die Objekte im Sinne demokratischer Teilhabe zugänglich sind, konnten sie als professionell gestochene Tattoos

Die Ausstellung „Facetten demokratischen Designs“
wurde entwickelt von
Miriam Glöckler, Magdalena Kern, Amanda Kock, Marie Körner, Alica Kroll, Anja Lietzau, Leila Potocki, Marius Rohne, Liene Sanktjohanser, Clara Schlegelmilch und Rona Stupka

Ausstellung. X-D-E-P-O-T. Facetten demokratischen Designs. Pinakothek der Moderne
19.10.2011 – 14.11.2021.