Futuro. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Don’t just watch it, live it: VIRTUAL REALITY POP-UP CINEMA guests at FUTURO

For the second time, DOK.fest Munich will be guesting at Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum. Matti Suuronen’s plastic house FUTURO – the Space-Age icon that stands in front of the Pinakothek der Moderne – will host the Virtual Reality Pop-Up Cinema, which opens its doors on May 9. To mark the 30th anniversary of the collaboration between Québec and Bavaria, the cinema will be screening seven documentary-style virtual reality / 360° experiences recently released in these regions. Join NASA astronauts on a space mission, ride a motorcycle from Ho Chi Minh City to Bangkok, float above Munich’s National Theater on a red velvet chair, immerse yourself in the world of a young bipolar woman, and much more.

Curated by Myriam Achard (Centre Phi Montréal), Astrid Kahmke und Oliver Seibert (Bayerisches Filmzentrum)

Funders and Partners
Vertretung der Regierung von Québec, Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Digitales, Bayerische Landeszentrale für neue Medien, MedienNetzwerk Bayern, Pinakothek der Moderne, INVR, Centre Phi Montréal, Bayerisches Filmzentrum

PROGRAMME:

ROXHAM
Michel Huneault, Maude Thibodeau, Chantal Dumas / NFB, CA 2018, 15 Min.
Photographer Michel Huneault takes you to Roxham Road, the location with the largest number of irregular border crossings by asylum seekers moving from the United States to Canada. Based on 32 true stories.

SPACE EXPLORERS: A NEW DAWN
Felix & Paul Studios, CA 2018, 20 Min.
Witness the lives of NASA astronauts as they navigate the trials and sacrifices of their training and missions. Explore the camaraderie of space programs around the world, and discover the latest advancements and plans for deep space exploration.

TRAVELLING WHILE BLACK
Roger Ross Williams, Ayesha Naradajah in collaboration with Felix & Paul Studios, USA 2018, 21 Min.
Confronting the way we understand and talk about race in America, this VR documentary immerses the viewer in the long history of restriction of movement for black Americans and the creation of safe spaces in our communities.

MANIC VR
Kalina Bertin, Sandra Rodriguez, Fred Casia, CA 2018, 15 Min.
Explore the exuberant and chaotic bipolar world of a young woman. The user will embark on a journey to decipher the whirlwind of mania, psychosis and depression.

CROSSING BORDERS
Emil Spiewok, DE 2019, 20-40 Min.
A travel documentary set on one of the most beautiful motorcycle routes in South East Asia. Meandering from Ho Chi Minh City to Bangkok we cross countries shaken by wars and political turmoil – Local perspectives, problems and dreams are center stage in this VR experience.

FATCAP
Christian Felder, DE 2018, 7 Min.
The mini documentary “Fat Cap” tells the story of the artists of the “Scale” Festival. Graffiti artist Daniel Man brought the international stars of the Mural scene to Munich for this project.

V-ARIA
Daniel Mohsel, D 2018, 5 Min.
With V-ARIA everyone can dive into the dazzling and overwhelming world of opera. On a red velvet chair from the Munich National Theatre you travel through the opera house, meet musicians, dancers and great singers.

Venue:
Space-Age Pastics House Futuro in Front of Pinakothek der Moderne
Barerstrasse 40, 80333, Munich
Free admission

 

May 9th, 2019
THU, 3 pm – 8pm

May 10th – 19th, 2019
MO – SUN, 10:00 am – 6 pm, THU until 8 pm

Futuro. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Mittendrin statt nur dabei: VIRTUAL REALITY POP UP KINO zu Gast im FUTURO

Los gehts am Donnerstag, 09. Mai von 15:00 – 20:00!

Zum zweiten Mal ist das DOK.fest München zu Gast in der Neuen Sammlung – The Design Museum. Im Kunststoffhaus FUTURO von Matti Suuronen, der Space-Age-Ikone vor der Pinakothek der Moderne, öffnet am 9. Mai das Virtual-Reality-Pop-Up-Kino seine Pforten. Anlässlich des 30-jährigen Jubiläums der Kooperation zwischen Québec und Bayern werden sieben aktuelle dokumentarische Virtual Reality / 360° Experiences aus diesen Regionen gezeigt. Gehen Sie mit NASA-Astronauten auf Weltraum-Mission, fahren Sie mit dem Motorrad von Ho Chi Minh City nach Bangkok, schweben Sie auf einem roten Samtstuhl durch das Münchner Nationaltheater, tauchen Sie ein in die Welt einer bipolaren jungen Frau und vieles mehr.

Kuratiert von Myriam Achard (Centre Phi Montréal), Astrid Kahmke und Oliver Seibert (Bayerisches Filmzentrum)

Förderer und Partner
Vertretung der Regierung von Québec, Bayerisches Staatsministerium für Digitales, Bayerische Landeszentrale für neue Medien, MedienNetzwerk Bayern, Pinakothek der Moderne, INVR, Centre Phi Montréal, Bayerisches Filmzentrum

PROGRAMM:

ROXHAM
Michel Huneault, Maude Thibodeau, Chantal Dumas / NFB, CA 2018, 15 Min.
Der Fotograf Michel Huneault zeigt Ihnen Roxham Road: Die einst ruhige, wenig frequentierte Straße ist zum Ort mit den meisten Grenzübertritten pro Jahr von Asyl-bewerberInnen geworden, die aus den USA nach Kanada migrieren. Basierend auf 32 wahren Geschichten.

SPACE EXPLORERS: A NEW DAWN
Felix & Paul Studios, CA 2018, 20 Min.
Das Leben von NASA-AstronautInnen aus nächster Nähe: Sie stellen sich Herausforderungen und bringen Opfer, beim Training und auf Weltraum-Mission. Wir fliegen mit Ihnen ins All, erforschen das Universum und entdecken die neuesten Fortschritte und Pläne der Raumfahrt.

TRAVELLING WHILE BLACK
Roger Ross Williams, Ayesha Naradajah in collaboration with Felix & Paul Studios, USA 2018,
21 Min.
Was bedeutet der Begriff „Rasse“ in Amerika? TRAVELLING WHILE BLACK taucht ein in die Geschichte der eingeschränkten Bewegungsfreiheit für AfroamerikanerInnen und die Schaffung von „safe spaces“ in unserer Gesellschaft. Besuchen Sie das legendäre Restaurant Ben’s Chili Bowl, mischen Sie sich unter die Gäste und teilen Sie deren Erfahrungen.

MANIC VR
Kalina Bertin, Sandra Rodriguez, Fred Casia, CA 2018, 15 Min.
Erkunden Sie die übersprudelnde und chaotische Fantasie einer bipolaren jungen Frau. Wir begeben uns auf eine Reise, um die Spirale von Manie, Psychose und Depression zu verstehen.

CROSSING BORDERS
Emil Spiewok, DE 2019, 20 – 40 Min.
Das dokumentarische Road Movie CROSSING BORDERS führt entlang einer der landschaftlich schönsten Motorradstrecken Südostasiens. Auf dem Weg von Ho Chi Minh City nach Bangkok durchqueren wir auch Länder, die von Kriegen und politischen Unruhen erschüttert werden. Lokale Perspektiven, Probleme und Träume der Menschen stehen im Mittelpunkt dieser VR Experience.

FATCAP
Christian Felder, DE 2018, 7 Min.
Der Mini-Dokumentarfilm „Fat Cap“ erzählt von den KünstlerInnen des „Scale“ Festivals. Graffiti Artist Daniel Man hat für dieses Projekt die internationalen Größen der Mural Art Szene nach München geholt.

V-ARIA
Daniel Mohsel, D 2018, 5 Min.
Mit V-ARIA kann jede und jeder in die schillernde, überwältigende Welt der Oper eintauchen. Auf einem roten Samtstuhl aus dem Münchner Nationaltheater reisen Sie durch das Opernhaus, treffen MusikerInnen, TänzerInnen und große SängerInnen.

ORT:
Space-Age Kunststoffhaus FUTURO vor der Pinakothek der Moderne
Barerstrasse 40, 80333 München
Eintritt frei

09.05.2019
DO 15:00 – 20:00

10.05.2019 – 19.05.2019
MO – SO 10:00 – 18:00, DO 10:00 – 20:00