Born 1936 in Mansfield, Ohio, and a resident of New York since 1960, American Thomas Gentille is a leading studio jewelry artist not just in the United States but in the world as a whole. To mark his 80th birthday in 2016, Die Neue Sammlung decided to invite the co-founder of studio jewelry in America to stage the first comprehensive exhibition on his oeuvre. On display will be 180 items of jewelry, drawings and a film conceived and realized by the artist about the two most important cities in his life, namely New York and Munich.
 
He favors innovative plastics, solid aluminum and a wide variety of woods, not to mention papier-mâché, sawdust, silk threads, old glass spheres hand blown in Bohemia and air – over gold, silver and precious stones.
 Gentille is one of the first American studio jewelry artists to employ such non-precious materials so consistently – and he did so from 1960 onwards, calling into question the value of precious metals in how jewelry is designed and estimated. He only uses high-quality gold for the rear of the brooch. For Thomas Gentille the emphasis is always irrevocably on the piece itself, its artistic statement and its quality. Every item is a one-off, be it a brooch, necklace or bracelet, and a masterpiece of craftsmanship, unique in its affiliation with sculpture and architecture. For this reason, Gentille refuses to date his works, as this might make his older items possibly appear more valuable than younger ones.
His works with an eggshell overlay are famous. Using this mysterious method and even without employing the old Asian lacquer technique he produces a krakelée surface on his works. Gentille explains that it takes years of experimentation and practice with the technique until you finally grasp the “soul of the material”.
 
The exhibition is being produced in close collaboration with Gentille himself and will be located on the second floor of the Rotunda in Pinakothek der Moderne.
Pieces by Thomas Gentille can be found, among others, in New York’s Metropolitan Museum of Art, the Cleveland Museum of Art, the Philadelphia Museum of Art, the Museum of Fine Arts in Houston, in Melbourne’s National Gallery of Victoria, in the Victoria & Albert Museum in London – and in Neue Sammlung in Munich.
 
Thanks to Arnoldsche Art Publishers, Stuttgart, Danner-Stiftung in Munich and the Maurice English Poetry Award handed over by Helen W. Drutt English and H. Peter Stern, USA.
 
Arnoldsche Verlagsanstalt will be publishing a 210-page catalogue on the life and work of the artist with a preface by Angelika Nollert, an essay by Andrea DiNoto and an interview with Thomas Gentille conducted by Bettina Dittelmann and Petra Hölscher.
 
Pinakothek der Moderne. Exhibition
Untitled. Thomas Gentille. American Jeweler
Munich. February 27 – June 5, 2016
Exhibition view. Photo: Patrizia Hamm
Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Patrizia Hamm
Exhibition view. Photo: Patrizia Hamm
Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Patrizia Hamm
Exhibition view. Photo: Patrizia Hamm
Exhibition view. Photo: Patrizia Hamm

Der seit 1960 in New York tätige Amerikaner Thomas Gentille – 1936 in Mansfield, Ohio, geboren – ist einer der führenden Schmuckkünstler nicht nur in den USA, sondern weltweit. 2016, das Jahr seines 80. Geburtstags, hat Die Neue Sammlung zum Anlass genommen, den Mitbegründer des Autorenschmucks in Amerika zu seiner weltweit ersten umfassenden Ausstellung über sein Lebenswerk einzuladen. Zu sehen sind 180 Schmuckobjekte, Zeichnungen und ein von ihm konzipierter und umgesetzter Film über die beiden wichtigsten Städte in seinem Leben: New York und München.
 
Neuartige Kunststoffe, massives Aluminium und unterschiedlichste Hölzer – Pappmaché, Sägemehl, Seidenfäden, alte böhmische Glaskugeln und Luft statt Gold, Silber und Edelsteinen.
 Gentille gilt als einer der ersten amerikanischen Schmuckkünstler, der in dieser Konsequenz seit 1960 unedle Materialien einsetzt und damit die Wertigkeit von Edelmetallen bei der Schmuckgestaltung und -bewertung in Frage stellt. Hochkarätiges Gold dient allein für die Broschierung auf der Rückseite. Das Stück an sich, seine künstlerische Aussage und seine Qualität stehen für Thomas Gentille immer und unumstösslich im Vordergrund. Jedes Stück ein Unikat und handwerkliches Meisterstück – egal ob Brosche, Hals- oder Armschmuck – einzigartig in seiner Nähe zu Skulptur und Architektur. Aus denselben Gründen verweigert Gentille eine Datierung seiner Schmuckarbeiten, die ein frühes Stück allein wegen seines Alters eventuell wertvoller erscheinen lassen könnte als ein jüngeres.

Berühmt sind seine Arbeiten in „Eggshell“-Technik, die auf geheimnisvolle Art und Weise auch ohne Verwendung der alten asiatischen Lacktechnik ein Oberflächen-Krakelée auf seinen Arbeiten entstehen läßt – es bedurfte Jahre des Ausprobierens und Erlernens dieser Technik, um – mit seinen Worten zu sprechen – der „soul of material“ endgültig habhaft zu werden.
Die Ausstellung entsteht in enger Kooperation mit dem Künstler und wird im zweiten Obergeschoss der Rotunde in der Pinakothek der Moderne eingerichtet.
Stücke von Thomas Gentille finden sich unter anderem im Metropolitan Museum of Art, New York, Cleveland Museum of Art, Philadelphia Museum of Art, Museum of Fine Arts, Houston, National Gallery of Victoria, Melbourne, Victoria & Albert Museum London und in der Neuen Sammlung in München.
 
Unser Dank gilt Arnoldsche Publishers, Stuttgart, Danner-Stiftung in München und dem Maurice English Poetry Award überreicht durch Helen W. Drutt English und H. Peter Stern, USA.
 
In der Arnoldschen Verlagsanstalt erscheint ein 210 Seiten umfassender Katalog zu Leben und Werk des Künstlers mit einem Vorwort von Angelika Nollert, einem Beitrag von Andrea DiNoto und einem Interview mit Thomas Gentille, geführt von Bettina Dittelmann und Petra Hölscher
 
Pinakothek der Moderne. München
Untitled. Thomas Gentille. American Jeweler
27.02.2016 – 05.06.2016

Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Patrizia Hamm


Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Patrizia Hamm
Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Patrizia Hamm


Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Patrizia Hamm
Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Patrizia Hamm


Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Patrizia Hamm