The oeuvre of Tom Vack not only reads like a Who’s Who of the international design scene since the 1980s but also reflects its globalisation today. His photographs now take on an additional depth of meaning when presented against the backdrop of the permanent collection display at Die Neue Sammlung.
 
Creating enigmas and telling stories, imagination and nostalgia, the processual and the playful, deconstruction and a new historicism – postmodernism revolutionised not just architecture but also design and its pictorial strategies. The Alchimia studio, the Memphis group and their success created the need for a new language of photography, conveying a new concept of design and portraying the products born from it in the process.
 
The photographer Tom Vack (born 1948 in Chicago), whose path has led him from the United States to Italy, France and Germany, played a decisive role in these new forms of expression and communication. Tom Vack conveyed the work of renowned designers — like Michele De Lucchi, Philippe Starck or Ingo Maurer — in photographs, which were mostly taken for journals or manufacturers’ catalogues.
 
Tom Vack’s creative beginnings fall under the golden age of postmodernism. He allowed factors such as naiveté and subconscious memories to be his guide, and he experiments with cinematic effects and strong effects of light and shade. ’I wanted to make an object in a picture rather than a picture of an object’ is his creative mindset. Vack has left the credo of classical object and product photography and creates expressive, atmospherically dense compositions that give a sense of their stories – subjective, dramatic, poetic.
 
An exhibition of Die Neue Sammlung – in collaboration with Tom Vack (exhibition concept)
 
Exhibition designer: Arch. Ester Pirotta, Milan
Lighting Consultant: Hagen Sczech, Munich
 
Die Neue Sammlung will be publishing a newspaper featuring extensive background information relating to Vack’s work. The newspaper is available for free in the exhibition.
32 pages. German and English. Graphic design: Heine/Lenz/Zizka.
 
Video statement by Tom Vack on his exhibition:
VANITY OF OBJECT. A MENTAL JOURNEY
by bangertprojects / © Die Neue Sammlung
 
The exhibition has been supported by PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V. and Magis S.p.A.
 
Pinakothek der Moderne. Munich
Tom Vack. Vanity of Object
November 8, 2014 – January 25, 2015


Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack
Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack


Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack
Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack


Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack
Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack

Das Oeuvre von Tom Vack liest sich nicht nur wie ein Who’s Who der internationalen Designszene seit den 1980er Jahren, sondern spiegelt auch die heutige Globalisierung des Designs wider. Im Kontext mit der ständigen Designausstellung der Neuen Sammlung gewinnen die Aufnahmen von Tom Vack zusätzlichen Resonanzraum.
 
Verrätseln und Geschichten erzählen, Emotion, Phantasie und Nostalgie, das Prozesshafte und Spielerische, Dekonstruktion und neuer Historismus — die Postmoderne revolutionierte nicht nur die Architektur, sondern auch das Design und dessen Bildstrategien. Die Designergruppen Alchimia und Memphis veränderten die Sprache der Fotografie, die den neuen Design-Begriff transportierte und die Produkte darstellte.
 
Der Fotograf Tom Vack (geb. 1948 in Chicago), den sein Weg aus den USA nach Italien, Frankreich und Deutschland führte, hatte an diesen neuen Ausdrucks- und Kommunikationsformen entscheidenden Anteil. Das Werk namhafter Entwerfer – etwa Michele De Lucchi, Philippe Starck oder Ingo Maurer – wurde durch seine Aufnahmen vermittelt, die meist für Zeitschriften oder Herstellerkataloge entstanden.
 
Die Anfänge von Tom Vacks Schaffen fallen in die Blütezeit der Postmoderne. Für seine Fotografien, oder Bildfindungen setzte er bewusst Faktoren wie Naivität und unterbewusste Erinnerungen ein. Er experimentierte mit Kino-Effekten und starken Licht-Schatten-Wirkungen. „Das Objekt in einem Bild zu zeigen, und nicht das Bild eines Objektes aufzunehmen“, ist sein gestalterischer Ansatz. Tom Vack hat das Credo der klassischen Sach- und Produktfotografie verlassen und schafft expressive, atmosphärisch dichte Kompositionen, die Geschichten erahnen lassen – subjektiv, dramatisch, poetisch.
 
Eine Ausstellung der Neuen Sammlung in Kooperation mit Tom Vack, Mailand/München (Ausstellungskonzeption).
Ausstellungsgestaltung: Arch. Ester Pirotta. Lichtberatung: Hagen Sczech.
 
Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Zeitung, die im Museum kostenlos erhältlich ist. 32 Seiten mit Abb. und einführenden Texten. Deutsch/englisch. Graphic Design: Heine/Lenz/Zizka.
 
Film Statement Tom Vack über seine Ausstellung:
VANITY OF OBJECT. A MENTAL JOURNEY
bangertprojects / © Die Neue Sammlung
 
Unterstützt durch PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V. und Magis S.p.A.
 
Pinakothek der Moderne. München
Tom Vack. Vanity of Object
08.11.2014 – 25.01.2015

Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack
Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack


Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack
Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack


Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack
Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Tom Vack