Exhibition: Thonet & Design
Press conference: May 16, 2019, 11:00
Opening: May 16, 2019, 19:00
Venue: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum, Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich
Duration: May 16, 2019 – February 2, 2020

To mark the 200th anniversary of the company Thonet, Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum has invited Munich-based product designer Steffen Kehrle to stage a new exhibition of Thonet furniture.

With more than 400 objects in its possession, Die Neue Sammlung boasts one of the world’s largest and most important collections of Thonet furniture, one that therefore not only reflects the development of seating furniture but also, and in particular, represents an important chapter in European company history.

The exhibition will not only highlight Thonet’s pioneering work in the field of the development of bentwood and tubular-steel furniture, it will also spotlight the designs since the second half of the 20th century and emphasize the more recent designs.

Michael Thonet (1796-1871) was a trailblazer in the field of bentwood furniture. A master joiner who hailed from Boppard in the Rhineland, Thonet set lasting standards in shaping the age of machines and industry. Whilst his competitors were imitating historic designs with the aid of lathes and slicing machines, Thonet chose an entirely new path. He came up with a fundamentally modern repertoire of shapes using the new opportunities afforded by the technology and production technology that he had developed himself. Thonet put into practice a future-oriented principle – shape as the result of industrial methods of production.
Thonet’s outstanding achievement was a process that bent wood, initially in veneer bundles and later in the form of slabs of solid beech wood, into curved shapes, under the action of steam and pressure – a process that was ideally suited for mass production. Another innovation was that the individual parts were no longer glued but now screwed together. This meant that the chairs could be shipped in pieces. Thirty-six of the No. 14 chairs fitted into one crate with a volume of one cubic meter, for example. This farsighted business strategy and distribution policy transformed the firm Thonet into a unique phenomenon. Comprehensive catalogs were published almost yearly and Thonet exported throughout the world. By World War I, more than 1,400 different models had come on the market. Despite the wealth of different models many of the furniture items used standardized elements; this standardization and mass production made for affordable prices. The concept was extremely successful – by 1910, over 50 million of the famous “consumer chair” No. 14 had been sold.

With the advent of tubular-steel furniture in the late 1920s the ascendancy of bentwood furniture initially came to an end, but in this new sector too Thonet was able to manufacture successfully. In the 1930s the company was the world’s largest producer of tubular-steel furniture, some of which was designed by famous exponents of the Bauhaus such as Ludwig Mies van der Rohe and Marcel Breuer. This furniture represents a renunciation of decoration, an unadorned formal vocabulary whose clarity focuses on the practicality of the object. The simplicity of the pieces’ rectilinear structures highlights their functionality, their ergonomics and their economy. Rejecting the forms adopted by the Wilhelminian style and by the Jugendstil, and with their stylistic vocabulary shaped by industry, the chairs stand for a new era and an approach that aimed to change society in a positive way.

The period beginning from the second half of the 20th century, when the company established a new home in Frankenberg, Germany, was characterized by designers such as Eddie Harlis and Verner Panton and, in more recent times, by Norman Foster, Konstantin Grcic, Stefan Diez and Sebastian Herkner.

For the exhibition design, Kehrle is planning a clear, bright space that will provide viewers with an unobstructed line of vision and allow for a matter-of-fact presentation of the objects.
Based in Munich, Kehrle works in the fields of industrial, exhibition and interior design; in 2009 he established ASK (Atelier Steffen Kehrle). Using simple means, Kehrle develops a characteristic shape for his products, one that appears self-explanatory and self-evident.

It was his search for new typologies that also led to a design for Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum. Steffen Kehrle conceived for the museum the so called DNS-Chair-series whose various stages of development are on display within the exhibition.
With the items in the DNS-Chair-series, the focus of the design is on function. The idea for this series arose out of both the need for visitor chairs at the museum and the conviction of wanting to also use this kind of mobile chair with its special shape for personal and other public purposes.

The exhibition is accompanied by a publication by Koenig Books, designed by Bureau Borsche.

Cooperation partners:
Thonet
Münchner Volkshochschule


FURTHER INFORMATION
Dr. Xenia Riemann-Tyroller
Dr. Josef Straßer
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
T +49 (0)89 272725-0
riemann@die-neue-sammlung.de
strasser@die-neue-sammlung.de

Tine Nehler M.A.
Head Press & Communikation
Alte Pinakothek, Neue Pinakothek, Sammlung Schack und Staatsgalerien
& Pinakothek der Moderne (Kunst | Graphik | Architektur | Design)
Barer Strasse 29 | 80799 Munich
T +49 (0)89 23805-122
presse@pinakothek-der-moderne.de

These images may be used free of charge for editorial reporting on this exhibition, on condition that the credit is clearly and fully indicated. Download: Move Cursor on your choice and click; start download of High Resolution files with “save as” command.

View into the exhibition “Thonet & Design”. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Blick in die Ausstellung “Thonet & Design”. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Michael Thonet, Chair Nr. 14., c. 1856. Gebrüder Thonet, Wien: Former Royal House of Hanover. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Michael Thonet / Peter Hubert Desvignes, Chair Nr. 1 (Schwarzenberg-Sessel), c. 1849. Gebrüder Thonet, Wien: Former Royal House of Hanover. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Folding Chair Nr. 6310 (Klapp-Fauteuil), c. 1870. Gebrüder Thonet, Wien, Sammlung Ellenberg. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Chair Nr. 13, c. 1860. Gebrüder Thonet, Wien, Sammlung Ellenberg. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


View into the exhibition “Thonet & Design”. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Marcel Breuer / Mart Stam, Cantilever chair B 33, 1927 / 1928. Gebrüder Thonet, Frankenberg, Production 1931. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Marcel Breuer, Cantilever Armchair B35, 1928 / 1929. Gebrüder Thonet AG, Frankenberg, Production 1931. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum, Munich (A. Laurenzo)


View into the exhibition “Thonet & Design”. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Eddie (Edelhard) Harlis, Chair ST 664, 1954. Gebrüder Thonet, Frankenberg. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


View into the exhibition

Stefan Diez, Chair 404, 2007. Thonet GmbH, Frankenberg. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Konstantin Grcic, Cantilever Chair Muji, 2008. Thonet GmbH, Frankenberg for Muji, Tokio. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Verner Panton, Cantilever Chair Nr. 275, 1956. Firma August Sommer, Plüdershausen for Gebrüder Thonet AG, Frankenberg. Production from 1967. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum


Steffen Kehrle, Portrait.
Photo: Myrzik & Jarisch

Ausstellung: Thonet & Design
Pressekonferenz: 16.05.2019, 11:00
Eröffnung: 16.05.2019, 19:00
Ort: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum, Pinakothek der Moderne, München
Ausstellungsdauer: 17.05.2019 – 02.02.2020

Anlässlich des 200-jährigen Bestehens des Unternehmens Thonet hat Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum den Münchner Produktdesigner Steffen Kehrle eingeladen, in einer Neuinszenierung eine Ausstellung von Thonetmöbeln zu entwickeln.

Mit über 300 Objekten besitzt die Neue Sammlung eine der weltweit größten und bedeutendsten Sammlungen von Thonetmöbeln, die damit nicht nur die Entwicklung von Sitzmöbeln spiegeln, sondern vor allem auch ein wichtiges Kapitel europäischer Unternehmensgeschichte repräsentieren.

Die Ausstellung wird die Thonetschen Pionierleistungen auf dem Gebiet der Entwicklung von Bugholzmöbeln und Stahlrohrmöbeln repräsentieren, aber auch einen Fokus legen auf die Entwürfe seit der 2. Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts und vor allem die jüngeren Modelle vorstellen.

Wegbereiter der Bugholzmöbel war Michael Thonet (1796-1871). Der aus dem rheinischen Boppard stammende, seit 1842 in Wien lebende Schreinermeister setzte bleibende Maßstäbe für die Formgebung des Maschinen- und Industriezeitalters. Während seine Konkurrenten mit Hilfe von Drechsel- und Schnitzmaschinen historische Formen nachahmten, ging Thonet einen völlig neuen Weg. Er schuf sein fundamental modernes Formenrepertoire aus den von ihm selbst entwickelten neuen technologischen und produktionstechnischen Möglichkeiten. Thonet verwirklichte ein zukunftweisendes Prinzip: Form als Ergebnis industrieller Fertigungsmethoden.
Die grandiose Leistung Thonets bestand in einem Verfahren, Buchenholzstäbe unter Dampfeinwirkung und Druck in geschwungene Formen zu biegen – ein Verfahren, das sich bestens für die Serienproduktion eignete. Neu war auch, daß die Einzelteile nicht mehr verleimt, sondern geschraubt wurden. Dadurch ließen sich die Stühle zerlegt verschicken. In eine Kiste mit einem Volumen von einem Kubikmeter passten 36 Stühle des Modells Nr. 14. Die weitblickende kaufmännische Strategie und Vertriebspolitik machten das Unternehmen Thonet zu einem in seiner Zeit einzigartigen Phänomen. Nahezu jährlich erschienen umfangreiche Kataloge. Thonet exportierte in alle Welt. Bis zum Ersten Weltkrieg kamen über 1400 verschiedene Modelle auf den Markt. Trotz der Fülle an Modellen besaßen viele Möbel standardisierte Elemente; Typisierung und Serienproduktion erlaubten erschwingliche Preise. Das Konzept war überaus erfolgreich – der berühmte „Konsumsessel“ Nr. 14 wurde bis 1910 über 50 Millionen Mal verkauft.

Mit dem Aufkommen der Stahlrohrmöbel Ende der Zwanzigerjahre ging die Vorherrschaft der Bugholzmöbel zunächst zu Ende, aber Thonet konnte auch in diesem neuen Bereich wieder erfolgreich produzieren. In den 1930er-Jahren war das Unternehmen der weltweit größte Produzent von Stahlrohrmöbeln, die unter anderen von den berühmten Bauhäuslern wie Ludwig Mies van der Rohe oder Marcel Breuer stammten. Diese Möbel stehen für eine Abkehr vom Dekor, für eine schmucklose Formensprache, deren Klarheit die Zweckmäßigkeit des Objektes betont. Die Einfachheit der rechtwinkligen Konstruktionen stellen ihre Funktionalität, Ergonomie und Ökonomie in den Vordergrund. In Abwendung von den Formen der Gründerzeit und des Jugendstils stehen sie mit ihrer industriell geprägten Formensprache für eine neue Zeit und eine Haltung, die die Gesellschaft positiv verändern wollte.

Die Zeit ab der 2. Hälfte des 20. Jahrhunderts ist geprägt durch Designer wie Eddi Harlis und Verner Panton oder in der jüngeren Zeit durch Entwürfe von Norman Foster, Konstantin Grcic, Stefan Diez oder Sebastian Herkner.

Für die Ausstellungsinszenierung plant Steffen Kehrle einen hellen und klaren Raum, der sich durch weite Blicke und eine sachliche Präsentation der Exponate auszeichnet. Der in München lebende Steffen Kehrle ist in den Bereichen Industrie-, Ausstellungs- und Interiordesign tätig und gründete 2009 das ASK (Atelier Steffen Kehrle). Mit einfachen Mitteln entwickelt er für seine Produkte eine charakteristische Gestalt, die selbsterklärend ist und selbstverständlich erscheint.

Seine Suche nach neuen Typologien führte auch zu einem Entwurf für Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum. Steffen Kehrle hat für das Museum die sogenannte DNS-Chair-Reihe konzipiert, deren verschiedene Entwicklungsstufen in der Ausstellung auch gezeigt werden.
Bei der DNS-Chair-Reihe steht die Funktion im Fokus der Gestaltung. Denn die Idee für diese Reihe entwickelte sich einerseits aus einem Mangel an Besucherstühlen im Designmuseum und andererseits aus der Zielsetzung, einen mobilen Stuhl mit einer besonderen Form auch für private und andere öffentliche Zwecke nutzen zu wollen.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation bei Koenig Books, gestaltet von Bureau Borsche.

Kooperationspartner:
Thonet
Münchner Volkshochschule


WEITERE INFORMATIONEN
Dr. Xenia Riemann-Tyroller
Dr. Josef Straßer
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
T +49 (0)89 272725-0
riemann@die-neue-sammlung.de
strasser@die-neue-sammlung.de

Tine Nehler M.A.
Leitung Presse & Kommunikation
Alte Pinakothek, Neue Pinakothek, Sammlung Schack und Staatsgalerien
& Pinakothek der Moderne (Kunst | Graphik | Architektur | Design)
T +49 (0)89 23805-122
presse@pinakothek.de
www.pinakothek.de/presse

Diese Abbildungen dürfen nur im Zuge der aktuellen Berichterstattung zur Ausstellung honorar- und genehmigungsfrei verwendet werden, sofern der Urhebervermerk korrekt und vollständig angegeben wird (meist: Eigentümer, Copyright Holder, Fotograf).
Download: Cursor bitte auf das jeweilige Motiv und anklicken; den download der High Resolution Daten mit “speichern unter” Befehl starten.

Michael Thonet, Stuhl Nr. 14., c. 1856. Gebrüder Thonet, Wien: Ehemals Königshaus Hannover. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Michael Thonet / Peter Hubert Desvignes, Stuhl Nr. 1 (Schwarzenberg-Sessel), c. 1849. Gebrüder Thonet, Wien: Ehemals Königshaus Hannover. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Klappsessel Nr. 6310 (Klapp-Fauteuil), c. 1870. Gebrüder Thonet, Wien Sammlung Ellenberg. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Stuhl Nr. 13, c. 1860. Gebrüder Thonet, Wien, Sammlung Ellenberg. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Marcel Breuer / Mart Stam, Freischwinger B 33, 1927 / 1928. Gebrüder Thonet, Frankenberg, Ausführung 1931. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Marcel Breuer, Freischwinger Armlehnsessel B35, 1928 / 1929. Gebrüder Thonet AG, Frankenberg, Ausführung 1931. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Eddie (Edelhard) Harlis, Stuhl ST 664, 1954. Gebrüder Thonet, Frankenberg. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Stefan Diez, Stuhl 404, 2007. Thonet GmbH, Frankenberg. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Konstantin Grcic, Freischwinger Muji, 2008. Thonet GmbH, Frankenberg für Muji, Tokio. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Verner Panton, Freischwinger Nr. 275, 1956. Firma August Sommer, Plüdershausen für Gebrüder Thonet AG, Frankenberg. Ausführung ab 1967. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)