Brooch from the series “Glut (Glow)“, 2004, silver blakened, laquer, h. 1,8 cm, Ø 5,8 cm, private collection. Photo: O. Künzli

Necklace, 1983, brass, laquer, PVC, steel, ca 45,0 x 4,3 cm, private collection. Photo: O. Künzli

Brooch, 2018, silver blakened, laquer, 9,6 x 7,1 x 1,5 cm, private collection. Photo: O. Künzli

She uses silver rather than gold. She develops her formal vocabulary from the classical canon of basic shapes rather than drawing on the amorphous games of nature. She surrounds discs with frames as though to protect them, as though some of their invisible content might fall out when they are worn as a brooch. Vessels with perforated shells offer a view into their cores. Her work does not exude excitement or loudness, its archaic proportions convey calm and strength. Not to be confused with coldness and distance. At times, she does away with the characteristic interplay between the silver and the ambient light by brushing it to create a matt surface, adding delicately drawn hatching, oxidizing or whiten it varnishing it with a dynamic brush stroke. Quietly and as a matter of course she strives for absolute perfection in all of her work.

The fast pace of our time comes to a halt when we are looking at her work, as we begin to enter into a communication that is careful, tentative, involves several senses, and that allows us to discover a different level, one of emotional depth: the joyful, radiant, surprising side of the artist, which oozes power but is also fragile … and in the end we are reminded of these qualities in ourselves. As children we would hold seashells up to our ears and the grown-ups would tell us we could hear the rush of the sea: But it wasn’t the sea, what we heard was our innermost being. That’s what Hilbert’s jewelry objects are like. You have to take your time to listen to what’s inside of you, in order to feel all of the fragility but also the irrepressible power they contain. As for so many things, nature has created its own visual synonym: the volcano. On the outside, the volcano symbolizes calm, silence, idleness; its inner processes hidden away – for years, decades, centuries it lies dormant and still. Then it begins to seethe. Cracks form in the earth’s crust. Smoke rises. Culminating in a powerful eruption. The volcano’s true nature shows itself as fiery magma bursts out into the open. Therese Hilbert discovered this fascinating topic in the early 1990s and has since addressed it in ever new and unique works.

Much more could be said and even more written about the works of the Swiss jewelry artist Therese Hilbert, born 1948 in Zürich. She studied under Swiss goldsmith Max Fröhlich at the Zurich Applied Arts School (Kunstgewerbeschule), was awarded the Scholarship Prize of the Swizerland’s Federal Department of Home Affairs (Schweizer Department des Innern) several times early in her career (1972, 1974, 1975) and then relocating to Munich, together with her love. It was here that she continued her studies, at Munich’s Academy of Fine Arts with jewelry artist Hermann Jünger – one of the founders of international studio jewelry along with Max Fröhlich. Therese Hilbert has been living and working in Munich ever since. In 1974, she was awarded the renowned Herbert Hofmann Prize. In 1978, she received her diploma at the Academy, in 1986 she was awarded the City of Munich’s Förderpreis Prize. And in 2001, she was awarded – one almost wants to exclaim: “finally!” – the Bavarian State Prize (Bayerischer Staatspreis). It had been clear for a long time that what she was creating were works of art. Contemporary art works that can be worn. They can be found in the most renowned of museums world-wide, in the choicest galleries for contemporary art, and the most renowned of private collections.

Die Neue Sammlung is delighted to present the first solo exhibition on Therese Hilbert’s art in close collaboration with the artist herself. Hilbert has selected around 250 pieces for the exhibition, beginning with almost unknown early works through to her newest works created in 2021.
Join us in celebrating the life work of an extraordinary artist.

The exhibition will be accompanied by the first comprehensive catalogue of jewelry artist Therese Hilbert’s work. The volume will be issued by arnoldsche Art Publishers, Stuttgart, and will include texts by Heike Endter, Otto Künzli, Ellen Maurer-Zilioli, Pravu Mazumdar, Angelika Nollert, Warwick Freeman and Petra Hölscher.


Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich
Exhibition

March 12, 2022 – June 16, 2022

Brosche aus der Serie „Glut“, 2004, Silber geschwärzt, Lack, H. 1,8 cm, Ø 5,8 cm, Privatsammlung (Foto: O. Künzli)

Halsschmuck, 1983, Messing, Lack, PVC, Stahl, ca. 45,0 x 4,3 cm, Privatsammlung (Foto: O. Künzli)

Brosche, 2018, Silber geschwärzt, Lack, 9,6 x 7,1 x 1,5 cm, Privatsammlung (Foto: O. Künzli)

Ihr Material ist meist Silber und nicht Gold. Ihre Formensprache entwickelt sie aus dem klassischen Kanon der Grundformen und nicht aus dem amorphen Spiel der Natur. Sie umgibt Scheiben mit Rändern wie zu ihrem Schutz, als könnte etwas vom unsichtbaren Inhalt herunter fallen, wenn man sie als Brosche trägt. Behältnisse bieten mit ihren durchbrochenen Fronten den Blick in ihr Innerstes. Ihre Arbeiten strahlen keine Aufgeregtheit, auch nicht Lautheit aus, sondern ihre Archaik vermittelt Ruhe und Kraft. Nicht zu verwechseln mit Kühle und Distanz. Dem Silber nimmt sie ein ums andere Mal sein charakteristisches Spiel mit dem Licht, bürstet es matt, schraffiert es fein, versieht es mit einer Oxydation oder sudet es – lackiert es mit einem dynamisch aufgetragenen Pinselstrich. Absolute Perfektion bei all ihren Tätigkeiten ist eine unausgesprochene Selbstverständlichkeit.

Die Schnelllebigkeit unserer Zeit kommt zum Stillstand beim Betrachten ihrer Werke – beim Beginn einer zu erspürenden, vorsichtigen, zaghaften Kommunikation, die uns die andere Ebene, die emotionale Tiefe, entdecken läßt: die freudige, die strahlende, die Kraft sprühende, die überraschende aber auch die verletzliche Ebene der Künstlerin … und am Ende von uns selbst. Als Kinder hielten wir Muscheln an unsere Ohren und die Erwachsenen sagten uns, wir würden das Meer rauschen hören. Es war nicht das Meer, sondern wir horchten in unser Innerstes. So sind Hilberts Schmuckobjekte. Man muss sich Zeit nehmen, in sich selbst hineinhorchen, um die ganze Zartheit, aber auch die unbändige Kraft zu erspüren, die sie enthalten. Die Natur hat dafür – wie für so vieles – ihr eigenes bildliches Synonym geschaffen: den Vulkan. Nach außen hin signalisiert er Ruhe, Schweigen, Untätigkeit, zeigt niemanden sein Innerstes – über Jahre, Jahrzehnte, ja über Jahrhunderte ist es still um ihn. Dann ein Brodeln. Risse zerreißen die Erdkruste. Rauch steigt auf. Am Ende eine gewaltige Eruption. Sein wahres Inneres zeigt sich – feuerrotes Magma tritt ans Tageslicht. Anfang der 1990er-Jahre entdeckte Therese Hilbert dieses faszinierende Thema und wird seither nicht müde, sich in immer wieder neuen und einzigartigen Arbeiten damit auseinanderzusetzen.

Es ließe sich noch viel sagen und noch mehr schreiben über die Arbeiten der 1948 in Zürich geborenen Schweizer Schmuckkünstlerin Therese Hilbert. Sie studierte bei dem Schweizer Goldschmied Max Fröhlich an der Zürcher Kunstgewerbeschule, wurde früh mehrfach mit dem Stipendienpreis des Schweizer Departments des Innern (1972, 1974, 1975) ausgezeichnet und ging dann – mit ihrer Liebe – nach München. Hier setzte sie ihr Studium an der Akademie der Bildenden Künste in München bei dem Schmuckkünstler Hermann Jünger fort – wie Max Fröhlich einer der Väter des internationalen Autorenschmucks. Seither lebt und arbeitet Therese Hilbert in München. 1974 erhielt sie den renommierten Herbert-Hofmann-Preis. 1978 folgte das Diplom an der Akademie, 1986 der Förderpreis der Stadt München. 2001 wurde ihr – fast möchte man einwerfen endlich – der Bayerische Staatspreis verliehen. Längst hat man erkannt, dass von ihrer Hand Werke moderner Kunst entstehen. Tragbare Werke moderner Kunst. Sie finden sich weltweit in den namhaftesten Museen, in den ausgesuchtesten Galerien für moderne Kunst und profiliertesten Privatsammlungen.

Die Neue Sammlung freut sich sehr, in enger Zusammenarbeit mit Therese Hilbert die erste monografische Ausstellung der Künstlerin zu zeigen. Rund 250 Arbeiten wählte Hilbert dafür aus, beginnend mit Arbeiten aus ihrem fast unbekannten Frühwerk bis zu Arbeiten aus dem Jahr 2020. Freuen Sie sich mit uns auf das Lebenswerk einer außergewöhnliche Künstlerin.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint bei arnoldsche Art Publishers, Stuttgart, das erste umfassende Buch über die Schmuckkünstlerin Therese Hilbert mit Texten von Heike Endter, Ellen Maurer-Zilioli, Pravu Mazumdar, Angelika Nollert, Warwick Freeman und Petra Hölscher.


Pinakothek der Moderne, München
Ausstellung

13.03.2021 – 13.06.2021