Satellite 6. Hello, Hello Future!
Speculative design: Researching tomorrow today.
With a Future-Malking-Lab with UnDesignUnit and a lecture and talk with Fiona Raby

Saturday, October 6, 2018, 2 p.m. – 8 p.m.
Pinakothek der Moderne, Barerstraße 40, 80333 München
Entrance and participation free

Curated by UnDesignUnit | Sarah Dorkenwald, Karianne Fogelberg, Tanja Seiner

“Hello Future!” is a journey through time to the future. Having landed in the museum’s grounds, the FUTURO serves as a symbolic vehicle that will catapult us into an age still to come that we can experience by the means of speculative design. Together we explore the social, economic, political and ecological impact emerging technologies could have and come up with alternatives to predominant designs for the future.

To kick off the “Hello Future!” series, which is curated by UnDesignUnit with various cooperation partners, on October 6, 2018 Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum invites this time visitors to attend a half-day participatory program during which they will explore the ambivalent relationship between the present day and the future, between pre-fabricated visions of the future and our own imagination. To what degree can we help shape our futures here and now? To what extent is this controlled by governments, technology companies, and other players?

PROGRAM

2 p.m. – 6 p.m.
Future-Making Lab “Shaping Our Futures Ourselves!” with UnDesignUnit
Pinakothek der Moderne | Library, Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum in Pinakothek der Moderne

You are an expert when it comes to your own everyday reality! Based on critical and speculative design methods, we shape our futures ourselves here and now. Assuming that the future is rooted in the present, we conceive, build, explore and test alternative scenarios for pressing challenges. The lab is open to all visitors who question and want to shape standard visions of the future. This takes place in interdisciplinary exchange with entrepreneurs, academics, futurologists, artists, and designers.
The lab will be introduced and hosted by UnDesignUnit. The results will be presented in the form of mock-ups and models in the presence of the designer Fiona Raby.

Please register at info@die-neue-sammlung.de, using the reference “Hello Future!” by September 30, 2018
Attendance free

6 p.m. – 8 p.m.
Design discussion “Who Else Makes Our Futures?”
Fiona Raby, Designer and Professor at The New School in New York: “Realists of a Larger Reality” (Ursula K. Le Guin, 2014)
UnDesignUnit | Sarah Dorkenwald, Karianne Fogelberg, Tanja Seiner: “Exploring tomorrow today”
Pinakothek der Moderne, Ernst von Siemens Auditorium, entrance free
In English

Who, apart from ourselves, makes our futures? What role can design play in speculating about possible and desirable futures? And how, and on what terms and with what goals do companies with a future work?

In her lecture, the designer Fiona Raby will talk about the power of imagination, fiction, alternative realities and the values designed into everyday objects. She asks how far visions of the future restrict our imagination and ingenuity, instead of setting them free, and how far an eye continually geared to the future paradoxically prevents us from making genuine progress. Together with Anthony Dunne, she works in their joint teaching and design practice on countering the dominance of monolithic progress scenarios with the plurality of futures and on exploring the role design can play in making these diverse futures visible and tangible.

Born in 1963 in Singapore the Britisch designer Fiona Raby is Professor of Design and Social Inquiry at The New School in New York. From 2011 until 2016 she was Professor of Industrial Design at the University of Applied Arts in Vienna. Between 1995 and 2015 she was Reader in Design Interactions at the Royal College of Art in London and lectured in Architecture, Computer-related Design, and Design Interactions. Fiona Raby is a partner at the design studio Dunne & Raby and, together with Anthony Dunne, co-author of “Design Noir. The Secret Life of Electronic Objects” (Birkhäuser, 2001) and “Speculative Everything. Design, Fiction and Social Dreaming” (MIT Press, 2013). Their joint work has been exhibited in museums all over the world, including MoMA in New York, the Centre Pompidou in Paris, and the Design Museum in London, and features in various collections, among them MoMA, New York, Victoria & Albert Museum, London, and MAK, Vienna.
dunneandraby.co.uk
unitedmicrokingdoms.org

UnDesignUnit questions narrow definitions of design practice and – given the current extension of the concept of design – sounds out boundaries and new freedoms. With their design concepts, discursive formats and exhibitions, which are curated by Sarah Dorkenwald, Karianne Fogelberg and Tanja Seiner, not to mention their work as authors for specialist journals, exhibition catalogs, and academic publications, they play a part in current design theory discourse.
undesignunit.com

The event is sponsored by bayern design and the Bavarian State Ministry for Economic Affairs and Media, Energy and Technology.

Anthony Dunne & Fiona Raby, Digiland, United Micro Kingdoms, 2012/13. Comissioned by the Design Museum London.


Anthony Dunne & Fiona Raby, Digicars, United Micro Kingdoms, 2012/13. Comissioned by the Design Museum London.


Anthony Dunne & Fiona Raby, Digitarians, United Micro Kingdoms, 2012/13. Comissioned by the Design Museum London. Foto: Jason Evans

Satellit 6. Hello, Hello Future!
Spekulatives Design: das Morgen heute erforschen.
Mit einem Future-Making-Lab mit UnDesignUnit und einem Vortrag und Designgespräch mit Fiona Raby

Samstag, 06.10.2018, 14:00 – 20:00
Pinakothek der Moderne, Barerstraße 40, 80333 München
Eintritt und Teilnahme frei

Kuratiert von UnDesignUnit | Sarah Dorkenwald, Karianne Fogelberg, Tanja Seiner

„Hello Future!“ ist eine Zeitreise in die Zukunft. Dabei dient das auf der Museumswiese gelandete FUTURO als symbolisches Vehikel, um uns in eine kommende Zeit zu katapultieren, die wir mit den Mitteln des spekulativen Designs erfahren können. Wir erforschen gemeinsam, welche gesellschaftlichen, wirtschaftlichen, politischen und ökologischen Auswirkungen aufkommende Technologien haben könnten und entwerfen Alternativen zu den vorherrschenden Zukunftsentwürfen.

Zum Auftakt der von UnDesignUnit kuratierten Reihe „Hello Future!“ mit unterschiedlichen Kooperationspartnern lädt diesmal Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum am 6. Oktober 2018 dazu ein, im Rahmen eines halbtägigen, partizipativ angelegten Programms das ambivalente Verhältnis zwischen Gegenwart und Zukunft, zwischen vorgefertigten Zukunftsvisionen und unserer eigenen Vorstellungskraft zu erforschen. Bis zu welchem Grad können wir unsere Zukünfte im Hier und Jetzt mitgestalten? Inwieweit werden diese durch Regierungen, Technologieunternehmen oder andere Akteure gelenkt?

PROGRAMM

14:00 – 18:00
Future-Making-Lab „Wir gestalten unsere Zukünfte selbst!“ mit UnDesignUnit
Pinakothek der Moderne | Ort: Bibliothek, Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum in der Pinakothek der Moderne

Du bist Experte/in für Deine eigene Lebenswirklichkeit! Basierend auf den Methoden des kritischen und spekulativen Designs gestalten wir unsere Zukünfte im Hier und Jetzt selbst. Ausgehend von der Annahme, dass die Zukunft bereits in der Gegenwart angelegt ist, ersinnen, bauen, erforschen und erproben wir alternative Szenarien für drängende Herausforderungen. Das Lab steht allen interessierten Besucher_innen offen, die die gängigen Zukunftsvisionen hinterfragen und aktiv mitgestalten wollen. Dies geschieht im interdisziplinären Austausch mit Unternehmer_innen, Wissenschaftler_innen, Zukunftsforscher_innen, Künstler_innen und Designer_innen.

Das Lab wird inhaltlich und konzeptionell von UnDesignUnit begleitet. Die Ergebnisse werden anhand von selbst entworfenen Modellen und im Beisein der Designerin Fiona Raby vorgestellt.

Anmeldung bis zum 30.09.2018:  info@die-neue-sammlung.de unter dem Stichwort „Hello Future!“
Teilnahme frei

18:00 – 20:00
Designgespräch „Who Else Makes Our Futures?“
Fiona Raby, Designerin und Professorin an The New School in New York: „Realists of a Larger Reality“ (Ursula K. Le Guin, 2014)
UnDesignUnit | Sarah Dorkenwald, Karianne Fogelberg, Tanja Seiner: „Das Morgen heute erforschen“
Pinakothek der Moderne, Ernst von Siemens-Auditorium, Eintritt frei
In englischer Sprache

Wer außer uns selbst macht noch unsere Zukünfte? Welche Rolle kann Design dabei spielen, über mögliche und wünschenswerte Zukünfte zu spekulieren? Und wie und unter welchen Bedingungen und Zielsetzungen arbeiten Unternehmen mit Zukunft?

In ihrem Vortrag spricht die Designerin Fiona Raby über die Wirkmacht von Imagination, Fiktion, alternativen Realitäten und den Werten, die alltäglichen Dingen eingeschrieben sind. Sie fragt, inwieweit Zukunftsvisionen unsere Vorstellungskraft und unseren Erfindungsreichtum begrenzen anstatt sie freizusetzen, und uns der fortwährend auf die Zukunft gerichtete Blick paradoxerweise davon abhält, wirkliche Fortschritte zu erzielen. Mit Anthony Dunne arbeitet sie in ihrer gemeinsamen Lehre und Designpraxis daran, der Dominanz monolithischer Fortschrittsszenarien die Pluralität von Zukünften entgegenzusetzen und zu erforschen, welchen Beitrag Design leisten kann, diese vielfältigen Zukünfte sichtbar und erfahrbar zu machen.

Die 1963 in Singapur geborene britische Designerin Fiona Raby ist Professorin für Design und die Erforschung des Sozialen an The New School in New York. Von 2011 bis 2016 hatte sie den Lehrstuhl für Industriedesign an der Universität für Angewandte Künste in Wien inne. Zwischen 1995 und 2015 war sie Dozentin im Fachbereich Design Interactions am Royal College of Art in London und lehrte in den Fachbereichen Architektur, Computerbezogenes Design sowie Design Interactions. Fiona Raby ist Partnerin des Designstudios Dunne & Raby sowie gemeinsam mit Anthony Dunne Co-Autorin von „Design Noir. The Secret Life of Electronic Objects“ (Birkhäuser, 2001) und „Speculative Everything. Design, Fiction and Social Dreaming“ (MIT Press, 2013). Ihre gemeinsame Arbeit wurde in Museen weltweit ausgestellt, u.a. im MoMA New York, im Centre Pompidou in Paris und im Design Museum in London, und sie ist in verschiedenen Sammlungen vertreten, u.a. MoMA, New York, Victoria & Albert Museum, London, und MAK, Wien.
dunneandraby.co.uk
unitedmicrokingdoms.org

UnDesignUnit hinterfragt eng gefasste Definitionen von gestalterischer Praxis und lotet – vor dem Hintergrund der gegenwärtigen Erweiterung des Designbegriffs – Grenzbereiche und neue Freiräume aus. Mit den Designkonzepten, diskursiven Formaten und Ausstellungen, die Sarah Dorkenwald, Karianne Fogelberg und Tanja Seiner kuratieren sowie durch ihre Tätigkeit als Autorinnen für Fachmagazine, Ausstellungskataloge und akademische Publikationen tragen sie zum aktuellen designtheoretischen Diskurs bei.
undesignunit.com

Die Veranstaltung wird von bayern design und vom Bayerischen Staatsministerium für Wirtschaft und Medien, Energie und Technologie gefördert.

Anthony Dunne & Fiona Raby, Digiland, United Micro Kingdoms, 2012/13. Beauftragt durch das Design Museum London.


Anthony Dunne & Fiona Raby, Digicars, United Micro Kingdoms, 2012/13. Beauftragt durch das Design Museum London.


Anthony Dunne & Fiona Raby, Digitarians, United Micro Kingdoms, 2012/13. Beauftragt durch das Design Museum London. Foto: Jason Evans