Alma Siedhoff-Buscher, throw dolls, Bauhaus, Weimar, 1924. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


To mark the 100th anniversary of Bauhaus, Die Neue Sammlung is having an exhibition that discusses the significance of this pioneering reform design college today.
Simultaneously, Die Neue Sammlung is taking the opportunity to highlight its own historical links to Bauhaus; after all, the museum opened in 1925 not long after the art-&-design college opened its own doors.

Leipzig-born (1972) artist Tilo Schulz, who is based in Berlin, will team up with the museum to realize a year-long exhibition interlocking 40 historical objects and responses to them by five contemporary artists.
For the first time the museum will showcase historical objects from its own holdings in Munich including textiles by Anni Albers and Gunta Stölzl, but also luminaires by Christian Dell and graphic design work by Herbert Bayer and Lászlo Moholy-Nagy, not to mention ceramics by Theodor Bogler and Otto Lindig. In addition, metal works by Wolfgang Tümpel and Wilhelm Wagenfeld, furniture by Marcel Breuer and married couple Singer-Dicker, jewelry by Naum Slutzky, toys by Ludwig Hirschfeld-Mack and Alma Siedhoff-Buscher will also be on show.

In Tilo Schulz’s concept, five invited artists each explore one Bauhaus object and develop an independent work of their own which is then included in the exhibition. The international artists come from various disciplines. Invitations have been taken up by designer Ayzit Bostan, poet Barbara Köhler, architect Anupama Kundoo, composer Junya Oikawa, and artist Sofie Thorsen.
With this concept Tilo Schulz succeeds in uniting the past and present – and enables viewers to identify the historical origins and contemporary reflections on them.

Funded by the Bauhaus heute Fund of the German Federal Cultural Foundation


Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich
Exhibition
February 1 – December 31, 2019

Alma Siedhoff-Buscher, Wurfpuppen, Bauhaus, Weimar, 1924. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Die Neue Sammlung zeigt anlässlich des 100-jährigen Geburtstags des Bauhauses eine Ausstellung, die die gegenwärtige Bedeutung der Reformschule bespricht.
Gleichzeitig nutzt Die Neue Sammlung die Gelegenheit, auf die eigene historische Verbundenheit mit dem Bauhaus hinzuweisen, die gleich nach der Museumsgründung 1925 entstand.

In Kooperation mit dem Künstler Tilo Schulz, geboren 1972 in Leipzig und in Berlin lebend, entsteht eine zwölfmonatige Ausstellung, die 40 historische Objekte und fünf zeitgenössische Rezeptionen miteinander verschränkt.
Erstmals werden historische Objekte aus dem eigenen Bestand in München gezeigt: Darunter die Textilien von Anni Albers und Gunta Stölzl. Aber auch Leuchten von Christian Dell und Grafik von Herbert Bayer und Lászlo Moholy-Nagy, sowie Keramik von Theodor Bogler und Otto Lindig. Ebenfalls werden Metallarbeiten von Wolfgang Tümpel und Wilhelm Wagenfeld, Möbel von Marcel Breuer und dem Ehepaar Singer-Dicker, Schmuck von Naum Slutzky, Spielzeug von Ludwig Hirschfeld-Mack und Alma Siedhoff-Buscher präsentiert.

In dem Konzept von Tilo Schulz befassen sich fünf eingeladene zeitgenössische Künstlerinnen und Künstler mit je einem anderen Bauhaus-Objekt und entwickeln durch den Dialog mit dem Objekt eine eigenständige Arbeit, die Teil der Ausstellung ist. Die internationalen Künstlerinnen und Künstler entstammen verschiedener Disziplinen. Hierzu eingeladen sind die Designerin Ayzit Bostan, die Lyrikerin Barbara Köhler, die Architektin Anupama Kundoo, der Komponist Junya Oikawa und die Künstlerin Sophie Thorsen.
In seiner konzeptionellen Form verbindet Tilo Schulz Vergangenheit und Gegenwart und ermöglicht den Besuchern die Lesbarkeit von überlieferter Herkunft und heutiger Reflexion.

Gefördert im Fonds Bauhaus heute der


Pinakothek der Moderne, München
Ausstellung
01.01.2019 – 31.12.2019