For over 12 years now, Pierre Mendell’s opera posters have adorned billboards and repeatedly created exciting highlights in downtown Munich. On the occasion of the 2006 Opera Festival Die Neue Sammlung is devoting a special show in the light-filled wintergarden of the Pinakothek der Moderne to this highly diverse and entertaining topic.
 

Pierre Mendell, born in 1929, has won countless international awards for his oeuvre – and the work of this graphic designer has focused on two international cultural institutions: Die Neue Sammlung (the State Museum of Applied Arts and Design in Munich), for whom he has created posters year-in year-out since 1980 and whose corporate identity he likewise devised until 2003, and the Bavarian State Opera, for whom he has worked in a similar capacity since 1993.
Good graphic design stands out for the intellectual approach behind it: stringent, minimalized, always vibrant, never claiming to be something it is not. In this vein, Pierre Mendell has developed a style that is truly his own, yet flexibly adapts to the respective task and thus does great justice to the respective themes. For this reason, his posters are as simple as they are convincing, and thus withstand the test of time.


 
An exhibition in cooperation with Bayerische Staatsoper on the occasion of the Münchner Opern-Festspiele (Munich Opera Festival) 2006

Exhibition catalogue in German and English. Lars Müller Publishers, CH-Baden. Design: Pierre Mendell, Munich. € 25,00.
 
Pinakothek der Moderne. Munich
Pierre Mendell’s opera posters
June 21 – September 03, 2009
Presentation view. Photo: Rainer Viertlböck
Presentation view. Photo: Rainer Viertlböck

Seit über 12 Jahren akzentuieren die Opernplakate von Pierre Mendell auf Litfaßsäulen und Anschlagflächen immer von neuem in markanter Weise das Stadtbild Münchens. Anläßlich der Opernfestspiele 2006 widmet Die Neue Sammlung diesem facettenreichen und unterhaltsamen Thema eine Ausstellung im lichtdurchfluteten Wintergarten der Pinakothek der Moderne.
 
Das mit zahlreichen internationalen Auszeichnungen gewürdigte Oeuvre des Graphikdesigners Pierre Mendell (geb. 1929) besitzt gleichsam als Brennpunkte zwei international agierende Kulturinstitutionen: Die Neue Sammlung, für die er von 1980 bis 2003 Jahr für Jahr sowohl Plakate als auch das gesamte Visuelle Erscheinungsbild gestaltet hat, und die Bayerische Staatsoper, für die er seit 1993 in vergleichbar umfassender Weise tätig ist.
Es ist die geistige Haltung, die gutes Graphic Design auszeichnet: stringent, in der Form reduziert, stets kraftvoll, nie etwas vortäuschend. So entwickelte Pierre Mendell eine Handschrift von höchster Eigenständigkeit, die flexibel auf die jeweiligen Aufgabenstellungen eingeht und dadurch den Themen in hohem Maße gerecht wird. Daher sind die Plakate von Pierre Mendell so einfach und überzeugend und über den Tag hinaus von Bestand.
 
Eine Ausstellung in Kooperation mit der Bayerischen Staatsoper anläßlich der Münchner Opern-Festspiele 2006
 
Ausstellungskatalog in deutscher und englischer Sprache. Lars Müller Publishers, CH-Baden. Gestaltung: Pierre Mendell, München. € 25,00.
 
Pinakothek der Moderne. München
Pierre Mendell – Plakate für die Oper
21.06.2009 – 03.09.2009


Blick in die Präsentation. Foto: Rainer Viertlböck


Blick in die Präsentation. Foto: Rainer Viertlböck