Schmuck // Jewelry  2012 ‒ 2022

SCHMUCK-MATINEE 2022

FINISSAGE AND BOOK PRESENTATION
Sunday, July 10,  11:00

Ernst-von-Siemens-Auditorium
Pinakothek der Moderne

Admission free. No registration required

 

Exhibition: Schmuck // Jewelry 2012 ‒ 2022
Duration: June 12 – July 10, 2022
Location: Entrance to the collection area at Die Neue Sammlung

Donations and acquisitions are shown in “Schmuck // Jewelry 2012 ‒ 2022” stretching back over the past ten years. Most of these works are being showcased at an exhibition for the first time. To cite a few examples, independent funding has meant that we have now been able to acquire the Kieselstein-Ring (“pebble ring”) made of gold wire by Naum Slutzky, the former workshop supervisor at the Dessau Bauhaus, and the gold bracelet by sculptor E.R. Nele, both pieces we had long hoped for to complement our jewelry collection.
Together with patrons from the United States, with some of whom Die Neue Sammlung has maintained friendly ties over several decades now, it has been possible to specifically direct the museum’s gaze at the narrative aspect of American studio jewelry. Works such as the “Liberty” brooch (1998) by Joyce J. Scott featuring the raised fist of the Black Power Movement or the brooch “Oh, No!” (Self Portrait, 1992) by Keith Lewis, in which the artist addresses the subject of the HIV virus and its consequences for the queer community, are particularly noteworthy examples in this respect.

Thanks to many generous gifts and our collaboration agreements both with the Danner-Foundation and with the Paul und Katrin Basiner-Stiftung highlights of studio jewelry by artists such as Caroline Broadhead / Great Britain, Esther Knobel / Israel, Shinji Nakaba and Takayoshi Terajima / both Japan, Jung-Hoo Kim / Korea, Annelies Planteijdt /Netherlands ‒ to quote another few examples of the artists whose work has found its way into our jewelry collection. Time and time again established ways of looking are questioned and an attempt made to discover new contexts. With an early work by Therese Hilbert, the Swiss jewelry artist who lives in Munich – the pendant “Apfel” (apple, 1973) – Die Neue Sammlung is referencing the upcoming exhibition “Therese Hilbert. Rot” which is scheduled for March 2023 under Pinakothek der Moderne’s glass cupola. But the museum is very happy that she was only recently allowed to take the “Apple” as a gift from the artis into her own collections.

We would like to thank the artists, the donaters and the two foundations involved which support Die Neue Sammlung’s undertakings in the area of modern, contemporary jewelry in such a great and generous manner.

 

FURTHER INFORMATION
Dr. Petra Hölscher, Die Neue Sammlung
p.hoelscher@die-neue-sammlung.de
T +49 (0)89 272725-0


Tine Nehler M.A.
Head of Press Department
Pinakothek der Moderne
T +49 (0)89 23805-280
presse@pinakothek.de


The images may be used free of charge for editorial reporting on this exhibition, on condition that the credit is clearly and fully indicated.

 

View into the exhibition “Schmuck ‒ Jewelry 2012-2022” at Pinakothek der Moderne. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Eva Jünger

View into the exhibition “Schmuck ‒ Jewelry 2012-2022” at Pinakothek der Moderne. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Eva Jünger

View into the exhibition “Schmuck ‒ Jewelry 2012-2022” at Pinakothek der Moderne. Bettina Dittlmann, brooch “Wohin”, 2019, iron, solder, pyrite, garnets, neodymium disc magnet. Danner-Prize 2020. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Acquisition with support from the Paul und Katrin Basiner-Stiftung

View into the exhibition “Schmuck ‒ Jewelry 2012-2022” at Pinakothek der Moderne. Joyce J. Scott (1948 Baltimore, US), brooch “Liberty”, 1998, beads, peyote stitch. Given as a gift to Die Neue Sammlung / Pinakothek der Moderne from the Helen Williams Drutt Family Collection, Philadelphia, PA, US, in honor of the artist and in memory of Arnd Hoch.
Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Eva Jünger.

 

 

 

Therese Hilbert (1948 Zürich, CH). Pendant “Apfel”, 1972. Silver, plastic
Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Donation from the artist, 2022. Photo: Ingrid Amslinger

Felicia Mühlbaier (1988 Speyer, DE). Ring “Dach” (roof), 2021. Lapis lazuli
Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum, 2021. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Annelies Planteijdt (1956 Rotterdam, NL). Bracelet, 1982. Cardboard. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum, 2022. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Joyce J. Scott (1948 Baltimore, US). Brooch “Liberty”, 1998. Beads, peyote stitch. Given as a gift to Die Neue Sammlung / Pinakothek der Moderne from the Helen Williams Drutt Family Collection, Philadelphia, PA, US, in honor of the artist and in memory of Arnd Hoch. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum, 2021. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Keith Lewis (1956, US). Brooch “Oh-No!” (self portrait), 1992. Gold plated brass, expoxy, human hair, dirt, metal shavings, bronze powder. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Donation from Ron Porter and Joe Price, Columbia, South Carolina, 2022. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Takayoshi Terajima (1986 Chiba, JP). Bracelet, 2016. Tatami. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Permanent loan from the Danner Foundation Munich, 2021. Photo: Takayoshi Terajima

Takayoshi Terajima (1986 Chiba, JP). Pendants (amulet) “Omamori” (amulet) , 2018. Copper, zinc, enamel. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Permanent loan from the Danner Foundation Munich, 2021Photo: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Jasmin Matzakow (1982 Aachen, DE). Brooch “Skepsographia 2”. Cocobolo, silver, stainless steel. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Permanent loan from the Danner Foundation Munich, 2021. Photo: Jasmin Matzakow

Mari Ishikawa (1964 Kyoto, JP). Necklace from the series “EN”, 1999. Kozo paper, silver. Herbert-Hofmann-Preis 2000. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Permanent loan from the Danner Foundation Munich,  2021. Photo: Frank Vetter

Caroline Broadhead (1959, GB). “Black Tufted Bracelet”, 1978. Wood, nylon, lacquer. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Permanent loan from the Danner Foundation Munich, 2021. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Naum Slutzky (1894 View, UA–1965 Stevenage, GB). Pebble ring, 1962. Gold, pebble. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Acquisition with support from the Paul und Katrin Basiner-Stiftung , 2019. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Alexander Laurenzo

Ausstellung. Schmuck // Jewelry 2012 ‒ 2022
Dauer: 12.06.2022 – 10.07.2022

Ort: Pinakothek der Moderne
Eingang zum Sammlungsbereich der Neuen Sammlung

Donationen und Erwerbungen aus den letzten zehn Jahren sind das Thema von „Schmuck // Jewelry 2012‒2022“. Die meisten der Werke sind erstmals in einer Ausstellung zu sehen. Als lang ersehnte Ergänzungen und dank der Unterstützung von außen gelangten der Kieselstein-Ring aus Golddraht von Naum Slutzky, dem ehemaligen Werkstattleiter am Dessauer Bauhaus, und der goldene Armschmuck der Bildhauerin E.R. Nele den Weg in Die Neue Sammlung.

Gemeinsam mit Förderern aus Amerika, mit denen Die Neue Sammlung zum Teil eine jahrzehntelange Freundschaft verbindet, konnte der museale Blick gezielt auf die narrative Seite der amerikanischen Schmuckkunst gerichtet werden. Arbeiten wie die Brosche „Liberty“ (1998) von Joyce J. Scott mit der gestreckten Faust der Black-Power-Bewegung oder die Brosche „Oh, No!“ (Self portrait, 1992) von Keith Lewis, in der sich der Künstler mit dem HIV-Virus und den Folgen für die Queere-Community auseinandersetzt, sind als besondere Beispiele zu benennen.

Dank großzügiger Schenkungen vieler und der Zusammenarbeit mit der Danner-Stiftung wie auch der Paul und Katrin Basiner-Stiftung fanden Arbeiten von Schmuckkünstler*innen wie Caroline Broadhead / Großbritannien, Esther Knobel / Israel, Shinji Nakaba und Takayoshi Terajima / beide Japan, Jung-Hoo Kim / Korea, Annelies Planteijdt / Niederlande ‒ die hier nur beispielhaft genannt sein sollen ‒ den Weg in die Schmucksammlungen. Ein ums andere Mal werden dabei bisherige Sichtweisen überprüft und der Versuch unternommen, neue Kontexte zu erspüren. Mit einem Frühwerk der in München lebenden Schweizer Schmuckkünstlerin Therese Hilbert ‒ dem Anhänger „Apfel“ (1973) ‒ verweist Die Neue Sammlung nicht nur auf die kommende Ausstellung „Therese Hilbert. ROT“, die für März 2023 unter der Glaskuppel der Pinakothek der Moderne geplant ist. Sondern sie freut sich sehr darüber, dass sie erst vor Kurzem den „Apfel“ als Geschenk der Künstlerin in die eigenen Sammlungen übernehmen durfte.

Unser Dank gebührt den Künstler*innen, den Donator*innen und den beiden beteiligten Stiftungen, die Die Neue Sammlung in ihren Vorhaben im Bereich des modernen, zeitgenössischen Schmucks auf so großartige und großzügige Weise unterstützen.

Alle Objekte der Ausstellung spiegeln in einem kleinen Ausschnitt Phänomene der letzten zwei Jahrzehnte, die im Design ihre innovative und relevante gestalterische Umsetzung finden. 


WEITERE INFORMATIONEN
Dr. Petra Hölscher, Die Neue Sammlung
p.hoelscher@die-neue-sammlung.de
T +49 (0)89 272725-0


Tine Nehler M.A.
Leitung Presse & Kommunikation
Pinakothek der Moderne
T +49 (0)89 23805-122
presse@pinakothek.de


Die Abbildungen dürfen nur im Zuge der aktuellen Berichterstattung zur Ausstellung honorar- und genehmigungsfrei verwendet werden, sofern der Urhebervermerk korrekt und vollständig angegeben wird (meist: Eigentümer, Copyright Holder, Fotograf).

 

Therese Hilbert (1948 Zürich, CH). Anhänger „Apfel“, 1972
Silber, Kunststoff. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Schenkung der Künstlerin, 2022. Foto: Ingrid Amslinger

Felicia Mühlbaier (1988 Speyer, DE). Ring „Dach“, 2021. Lapislazuli. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum, 2021. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Annelies Planteijdt (1956 Rotterdam, NL). Armschmuck, 1982. Karton. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum, 2022. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Joyce J. Scott (1948 Baltimore, US). Brosche „Liberty“, 1998. Perlen, Peyote-Stich. Ein Geschenk an Die Neue Sammlung / Pinakothek der Moderne von der Familiensammlung Helen Williams Drutt, Philadelphia, PA, US, zu Ehren der Künstlerin und in Erinnerung an Arnd Hoch. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum, 2021. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Keith Lewis (1956, US). Brosche „Oh-No!“ (self portrait), 1992
Vergoldetes Messing, Klebstoff; menschliches Haar, Dreck, Metallspäne, Bronzepulver. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Schenkung von  Ron Porter aud Joe Price, Columbia, South Carolina, 2022. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Takayoshi Terajima (1986 Chiba, JP). Armschmuck, 2016. Tatami. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Dauerleihgabe der Danner-Stiftung München, 2021. Foto: Takayoshi Terajima

Takayoshi Terajima (1986 Chiba, JP). Anhänger „Omamori“ (Amulett), 2018, Kupfer, Zink, Punktemaille. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Dauerleihgabe der Danner-Stiftung München, 2021. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Jasmin Matzakow (1982 Aachen, DE). Brosche „Skepsographia 2“. Cocobolo, Silber, Edelstahl. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Dauerleihgabe der Danner-Stiftung München, 2021. Foto: Jasmin Matzakow

Mari Ishikawa (1964 Kyoto, JP). Halsschmuck aus der Serie „EN“, 1999.
Kozo-Papier, Silber. Herbert-Hofmann-Preis 2000. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Dauerleihgabe der Danner-Stiftung München, 2021.
Foto: Frank Vetter

Caroline Broadhead (geb. 1959, GB). Armschmuck „Black Tufted Bracelet“, 1978. Holz, Nylon, Farbe. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Dauerleihgabe der Danner-Stiftung München, 2021. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Kai Mewes

Naum Slutzky (1894 View, UA–1965 Stevenage, GB). Kieselstein-Ring, 1962. Gold, Kieselstein. Die Neue Sammlung ‒ The Design Museum. Erwerbung mit Unterstützung der Paul und Katrin Basiner-Stiftung, 2019. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung ‒ Alexander Laurenzo