Camping in East Germany: Fishing and camping stool, 1970s. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (K. Mewes)

 

Sports Outdoors: Michael Müller, Kajak NATSEQ, 2018/2019, Kayak Innovations. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (K. Mewes)

 

Urban Mobility: Christoph Fraundorfer / Heinz Mayrhofer, Bike Tour, 2017, My Esel GmbH (Austria). Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (K. Mewes)

 

 

 

 

 

The exhibition “Heading Outdoors” focuses on one of humankind’s fundamental longings – the desire to go outside. Irrespective of whether this means heading out into the great wide open, going out to a park, into our own backyards, or even to the city, alone or with other people – our need to spend some of our free time outside is greater than ever.

In design, this centuries-old longing is reflected in all manner of ways, be it in designs for outdoors, in sports equipment or in folding, hinged and portable objects. Even nature itself serves as a source of inspiration for design objects. The exhibits range from camping equipment from what was once East Germany to 3D printed garden chairs made of recycled plastic or even the kind of park benches that support social distancing. The exhibition is structured into a total of seven thematic complexes that also cover the different fields of the museum’s collection: “Outdoors = Indoors”, “Sitting Outdoors”, “Camping in East Germany”, “Urban Mobility”, “Parks and the Pandemic”, “Sports Outdoors” and “Foehn Skies”.


A footbridge made, as is the entire exhibition architecture, of recycled and reusable material, guides viewers through the room, allowing forperspectives on the different subjects and eras.
As the exhibits make it clear, design is always specific to particular societies and times. One example is the material that is plastic. In the 1960s, it was hailed as trendsetting but nowadays it poses an environmental problem that it is almost impossible to solve. Issues relating to sustainability currently present designers with major challenges.

The exhibition invites viewers to consider the relationships between humans and nature, between public and private space, inside and outside, and even our responsibility towards “Heading Outdoors”, since all these relationships are always subject to change.

The exhibition design was developed in cooperation with the designer Hannes Gumpp.
The show is accompanied by an exhibits booklet in a German, English, and easy-to-read version.
An extensive accompanying program, also outdoors, is planned. In addition, a digital tour of the exhibition will be available beginning
October 29, 2021.

PROGRAM
Exhibition tour

Pinakothek der Moderne
Exhibition
From October 29, 2021

COOPERATION PARTNERS

Camping in der DDR: Angler- und Campinghocker, 1970er-Jahre. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (K. Mewes)

 

Sport in der Natur: Michael Müller, Kajak NATSEQ, 2018/2019, Kayak Innovations. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (K. Mewes)

 

Urbane Mobilität: Christoph Fraundorfer / Heinz Mayrhofer, Fahrrad Tour, 2017, My Esel GmbH (Österreich). Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (K. Mewes)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 


Die Ausstellung „Ins Freie“ nimmt eine grundlegende menschliche Sehnsucht in den Blick: den Drang nach draußen. Egal ob in die Natur,
den Park, den heimischen Garten oder die Stadt, allein oder in Gesellschaft – das Bedürfnis, freie Zeit im Außenraum zu verbringen, ist heute aktueller denn je.


Im Design spiegelt sich diese jahrhundertealte Sehnsucht auf vielfältige Weise wider, sei es in Entwürfen für den Außenbereich, in Sportgeräten oder in falt-, klapp- und tragbaren Objekten. Auch die Natur selbst dient als Inspirationsquelle für Designobjekte. Die Exponate reichen von Campingzubehör aus der ehemaligen DDR über 3D-gedruckte Gartenstühle aus Recyclingkunststoff bis hin zu Parkmobiliar, das Social Distancing unterstützt. Insgesamt sieben Themenkomplexe gliedern die Ausstellung und verweisen auch auf verschiedene Sammlungsbereiche des Museums: „Draußen = Drinnen“, „Sitzen im Freien“, „Camping in der DDR“, „Urbane Mobilität“, „Park und Pandemie“, „Sport in der Natur“ und „Föhnhimmel“.

 

Ein Steg, der wie die gesamte Ausstellungsarchitektur aus recyceltem und wiederverwendbarem Material besteht, führt durch den Raum und ermöglicht Perspektiven auf die unterschiedlichen Themen und Zeiten. Die präsentierten Objekte machen deutlich, dass Design stets gesellschafts- und zeitgebunden ist. Zum Beispiel das Material Kunststoff: In den 1960er-Jahren scheinbar zukunftsweisend ist es heute ein kaum lösbares Umweltproblem. Aktuell stellen vor allem Fragen der Nachhaltigkeit Designerinnen und Designer vor große Herausforderungen.

 

Die Ausstellung lädt dazu ein, sich mit dem stets wandelbaren Verhältnis von Mensch und Natur, von privatem und öffentlichem Raum, von drinnen und draußen, aber auch mit unserer Verantwortung gegenüber „Ins Freie“ zu beschäftigen.

 

Die Ausstellungsgestaltung wurde entwickelt in Kooperation mit dem Designer Hannes Gumpp.
Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Objektheft in Deutsch, Englisch und Leichter Sprache.

Ein umfangreiches Begleitprogramm auch im Freien ist geplant. Zudem gibt es einen virtuellen Rundgang durch die Ausstellung.



BARRIEREFREI
Ausstellung. Audio. Leichte Sprache
Hinaus ins FrEIE. AUDIO. LEICHTE SPRACHE

 

programm

Pinakothek der Moderne
Ausstellung
Ab 29.10.2021

 

KOOPERATIONSPARTNER