Exhibition: Ingo Maurer intim. Design or what?
Press conference: November 14, 2019, 11:00
Opening: November 14, 2019, 19:00
Venue: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum, Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich
Exhibiton: November 15, 2019 – October 18, 2020

 

With the exhibition “Ingo Maurer intim. Design or what?” (Ingo Maurer intimately. Design or what?) Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum is presenting the work of internationally renowned lighting designer Ingo Maurer who was the worthy recipient of many accolades. The exhibition introduces the viewer to Maurer’s fascinating world of light and shade.

In close collaboration with Ingo Maurer and his team, Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum developed a comprehensive show that includes everything from his early designs right up to his latest luminaires, with more than 80 objects plus models and photographs. It is with great sadness that we learned of Ingo Maurer’s death so shortly before the exhibition opening.

Ingo Maurer (1932 Island of Reichenau, Lake Constance – 2019 Munich) devoted himself almost exclusively to light since 1966, and with his “Bulb” luminaire produced his first, famous statement in the form of an iconic light bulb. Since that time, he and his team in his Munich workshop have been developing complex, ingenious, and elaborate light objects and lighting concepts for both private and public spaces as well as spectacular one-offs.

Maurer’s international breakthrough came 1984 with his novel lighting system “YaYaHo”, one of the first low-voltage wire systems for halogen reflector lamps. To this day, many of his luminaires are well-known the world over, among them “Zettel’z” (1997), which users can partly design themselves. His “EL.E.DEE” (2001) is considered the very first LED table lamp – and in 2008 together with the Osram company he devised “Early Future”, the world’s first mass-produced OLED luminaire.

“Ingo Maurer intim” alludes to how Ingo Maurer saw his work. In close and trusting collaboration with his team, Maurer developed each step from the initial sketch to the final product to the sales process. “Design or what?” alludes to the exciting interaction of design, art, and architecture. Because with Maurer’s objects the question often arises of how, if at all, they can be pigeonholed in terms of style. This gave Maurer a great deal of freedom as no one discipline had clear expectations of what he would create.

This scope can be seen from his versatility and open mind, his special application of porcelain, plastic, paper or gold – and his use of technological novelties of the day, such as halogen lamps or OLED. Alongside the materials and technology, quite unspectacular moments in everyday life serve as his inspiration when conjuring up new lighting situations.
A joy in experimentation and playfulness are to be sensed in his works, which span the entire spectrum of elegance, simplicity, mannerism, construction, and humor. The latter is reflected in his preferred use of witty and onomatopoetic product names that draw on different languages.

In the final instance, it is not form that takes the foreground in his pieces, but the quality of light and its impact on people and the particular space involved. Maurer creates emotion and mood and seeks a symbiosis of technology and poetry.

In the person of Ingo Maurer and his team – following on from Konstantin Grcic, Werner Aisslinger, Hella Jongerius & Louise Schouwenberg and Friedrich von Borries – we are continuing our series on contemporary positions in design in the Paternoster Hall; ever since 2015, each year Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum has been inviting international protagonists of design to present their ideas here.

 

The exhibition will be accompanied by a publication brought out by Koenig Books and designed by Petra Lüer / Wigel.

 

In May 2019 Ingo Maurer realized his “Pendulum”, a site-specific installation for the rotunda at Pinakothek der Moderne, and it remains on show until February 2020.

 

FURTHER INFORMATION
Dr. Xenia-Riemann-Tyroller
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
T +49 (0)89 272725-0
info@die-neue-sammlung.de

Tine Nehler M.A.
Head Press & Communikation
Alte Pinakothek, Neue Pinakothek, Sammlung Schack und Staatsgalerien
& Pinakothek der Moderne (Kunst | Graphik | Architektur | Design)
Barer Strasse 29 | 80799 Munich
T +49 (0)89 23805-122
presse@pinakothek-der-moderne.de
pinakothek-der-moderne.de/presse

 

These images may be used free of charge for editorial reporting on this exhibition, on condition that the credit is clearly and fully indicated. Download: Move Cursor on your choice and click; start download of High Resolution files with “save as” command.

Exhibition „Ingo Maurer intim. Design or what?“ Photo: Anna Seibel

Exhibition „Ingo Maurer intim. Design or what?“ Photo: Anna Seibel

Ingo Maurer, Lucellino Wall, 1992. Birds Birds Birds, 1992. Photo: Anna Seibel

Exhibition „Ingo Maurer intim. Design or what?“ Photo: Anna Seibel

Ingo Maurer, Zettel’z Laughing Buddha 1997/2018. Photo: Anna Seibel

Exhibition “Ingo Maurer intim. Design or what?“ Photo: Anna Seibel

Dagmar Mombach, Ingo Maurer + Team, MaMo Nouchies. Photo: Anna Seibel

Ingo Maurer, Lucellino Table, 1992. Photo: Ingo Maurer GmbH

Ingo Maurer + Team, Oop’s, 2019. Photo: Tom Vack

Ingo Maurer, Zettel’z 5, 1997. Photo: Ingo Maurer GmbH

Ingo Maurer, One from the Heart, 1989. Photo: Tom Vack

Ingo Maurer, Porca Miseria!, 1994. Photo: Stefan Geisbauer

Ingo Maurer + Team, Torre Velasca Blu, 2019. Photo: Tom Vack

Ingo Maurer + Team, Silver Cloud, 2019. Photo: Simon Koy

Ingo Maurer + Team, Lighting design Marienplatz, 2015. Photo: Friederike Klesper

Eckhard Knuth, Ingo Maurer, Holonzki / Dead Bulb Alive, 2000. Photo: Tom Vack

Ingo Maurer, Bulb, 1966. Design M, München. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)

Dagmar Mombach, Ingo Maurer + Team, Samurai, 1998. Photo: Markus Tollkopf

Ingo Maurer, EL.E.DEE, 2001. Photo: Tom Vack

Ingo Maurer, Living Vegas, 2007. Photo: Tom Vack

Moritz Waldemeyer, Ingo Maurer + Team, My New Flame, 2012. Photo: Ingo Maurer GmbH

Ingo Maurer with Pendulum, 2019. Photo: Stephan Goerlich

Ingo Maurer, Portrait, 2007. Photo: Tom Vack

Ingo Maurer with his lamp “What We Do Counts”, 2015. Photo: Tom Vack

Ingo Maurer + Team, Ringelpiez, 2017. Photo: Tom Vack

Ingo Maurer + Team, YaYaHo, 1984. Photo: Ingo Maurer GmbH

Ausstellung: Ingo Maurer intim. Design or what?
Pressekonferenz: 14.11.2019, 11:00
Eröffnung: 14.11.2019, 19:00
Ort: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum, Pinakothek der Moderne, München
Ausstellungsdauer: 15.11.2019 – 18.11.2020

Mit der Ausstellung „Ingo Maurer intim. Design or what?“ führt der vielfach ausgezeichnete und international renommierte Lichtgestalter Ingo Maurer in seine faszinierende Welt des Lichts und Schattens ein.

Ingo Maurer (geb. 1932, Insel Reichenau, Bodensee), der lange in den USA als Grafiker gearbeitet hat, widmet sich seit 1966 fast ausschließlich dem Licht und gestaltete mit der Lampe „Bulb“ sein erstes bekanntes Statement in Form einer ikonenhaften Glühbirne. Seither entwickelt er mit seinem Team in seiner Münchener Firma komplexe, raffinierte und aufwendige Lichtobjekte und Beleuchtungskonzepte für private und öffentliche Räume sowie spektakuläre Unikate.

Seinen internationalen Durchbruch hatte Maurer mit dem 1984 entwickelten Lichtsystem „YaYaHo“, eines der ersten Niedervolt-Seilsysteme für Halogenreflektoren. Bekannt sind bis heute viele seiner Leuchten, unter anderem „Zettel’z“ von 1997, die der Nutzer selbst mitgestalten kann. Seine „EL.E.DEE“ aus dem Jahre 2001 gilt als erste LED-Tischlampe. 2008 entwickelten er und das Unternehmen Osram mit „Early Future“ die weltweit erste serienreife OLED-Leuchte.

„Ingo Maurer intim“ spricht die Sicht von Ingo Maurer auf seine Arbeit an. Er entwickelt in enger und vertrauensvoller Zusammenarbeit mit seinen Mitarbeiter*innen „im Team“ jeden Schritt von der Skizze zum Produkt bis zum Verkauf. „Design or what?“ öffnet ein Spannungsfeld zwischen Design, Kunst und Architektur. Denn bei Maurers Objekten stellt sich vielfach die Frage, wie – wenn überhaupt – sie sich stilistisch kategorisieren lassen. Das bietet Maurer eine große Freiheit, da keine Disziplin eine Erwartungshaltung an ihn hat.

Dieser Freiraum zeigt sich in seiner Beweglichkeit und Unvoreingenommenheit, Materialien wie Porzellan, Plastik, Papier oder Gold ungewöhnlich anzuwenden und technologische Neuheiten wie Halogen oder OLED einzusetzen. Neben Material und Technik sind ihm unspektakuläre Momente des Alltags Inspirationsquellen, um neue Lichtsituationen entstehen zu lassen.
Experimentierfreude und Verspieltheit zeigen sich im Spektrum von Eleganz, Schlichtheit, Manierismus, Konstruktion und Humor. Letzterer spiegelt sich in feinsinnigen und lautmalerischen Produktnamen aus unterschiedlichen Sprachen, für die er eine Vorliebe hat.

Letztlich aber steht in seinen Entwürfen nicht die Form im Vordergrund, sondern die Qualität des Lichts und seine Wirkung auf den Menschen und den Raum. Maurer erzeugt Emotionalität und Atmosphäre und strebt eine Symbiose aus Technik und Poesie an.

In enger Zusammenarbeit mit Ingo Maurer und seinem Team zeigt Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum das Werk dieses Lichtpoeten von frühen Entwürfen bis hin zu aktuellen Leuchten anhand von mehr als 80 Objekten sowie Skizzen, Modellen und Fotografien.

Mit Ingo Maurer und seinem Team wird – nach Konstantin Grcic, Werner Aisslinger, Hella Jongerius & Louise Schouwenberg und Friedrich von Borries – die Reihe zeitgenössischer Positionen in der Paternoster-Halle fortgesetzt, zu der Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum seit 2015 jährlich internationale Protagonist*innen des Designs einlädt.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint eine Publikation bei Koenig Books, gestaltet von Petra Lüer / Wigel.

Im Mai 2019 entwickelte Ingo Maurer im Auftrag der Neuen Sammlung mit dem Pendulum eine ortsspezifische Installation für die Rotunde der Pinakothek der Moderne, die bis Februar 2020 zu sehen sein wird.

WEITERE INFORMATIONEN
Dr. Xenia-Riemann-Tyroller
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
T +49 (0)89 272725-0
info@die-neue-sammlung.de

Tine Nehler M.A.
Leitung Presse & Kommunikation
Alte Pinakothek, Neue Pinakothek, Sammlung Schack und Staatsgalerien
& Pinakothek der Moderne (Kunst | Graphik | Architektur | Design)
T +49 (0)89 23805-122
presse@pinakothek-der-moderne.de
pinakothek-der-moderne.de/presse

Diese Abbildungen dürfen nur im Zuge der aktuellen Berichterstattung zur Ausstellung honorar- und genehmigungsfrei verwendet werden, sofern der Urhebervermerk korrekt und vollständig angegeben wird (meist: Eigentümer, Copyright Holder, Fotograf).
Download: Cursor bitte auf das jeweilige Motiv und anklicken; den download der High Resolution Daten mit “speichern unter” Befehl starten.

Ingo Maurer und Team, YaYaHo, 1984. Foto: Ingo Maurer GmbH


Ingo Maurer, Luccelino Table, 1992. Foto: Ingo Maurer GmbH


Ingo Maurer, Bulb, 1966. Design M, München. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Ingo Maurer, Zettel’z 5, 1997. Foto: Ingo Maurer GmbH


Moritz Waldemeyer, Ingo Maurer und Team, My New Flame, 2012. Foto: Ingo Maurer GmbH


Ingo Maurer mit Pendulum, 2019. Foto: Stephan Görlich


Ingo Maurer, Porträt, 2007. Foto: Tom Vack


Ingo Maurer, Porträt, 2015. Foto: Tom Vack


Ingo Maurer und Team, Lichtgestaltung Marienplatz, 2015. Foto: Friederike_Klesper


Ingo Maurer und Team, Torre Velasca Blu, 2019. Foto: Tom Vack