DIE NEUE SAMMLUNG – THE DESIGN MUSEUM

Website

Welcome to the website of Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum. On the following pages you will find information about the exhibitions, the programme, the opening hours and the admission prices of Die Neue Sammlung. Further down you will also find links which will lead you to information about the physical and digital accessibility as well as information about the mediation programme of the museum.

Collection

The Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum is one of the world’s largest and most important museums of 20th and 21st century in applied art. The international collection from 1900 to the present day includes over 100.000 objects from 20 different areas, such as furniture and graphics, ceramics and glass, jewellery and appliances, as well as mobility and IT design. Die Neue Sammlung has a leading position in the field of product and industrial design.

History

Likewise, Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum is considered the oldest design museum in the world. In 1903, the “Münchner Vereinigung für angewandte Kunst” (Munich Association for Applied Art) was founded which changed its name to “Münchner Bund” in 1911. The first collection was the “Moderne Vorbildersammlung” (Modern Model Collection) which was established in 1912. The collection differed greatly from museums of applied art or museums of arts and crafts in this time due the the collectors’ interest in modernism and thus conceptions of contemporary form. The museum was founded in 1925 and opened the following year in Prinzregentenstraße.

Location and architecture

Since 2002 Die Neue Sammlung has been located in the Pinakothek der Moderne. The building houses four museums: of art, architecture, graphics and design. The property of the Pinakothek der Moderne is located in Maxvorstadt, on the Kunstareal, surrounded by university buildings. Originally, the Türkenkaserne (built in 1823) was located on this spot. It was largely destroyed in the Second World War and the undeveloped area was used by the Roncalli Circus for almost 20 years. In 1990, the Bavarian state government decided to designate it as a building site for museums. In 1992, the architect Stephan Braunfels from Munich won the design competition as his idea took the needs of all four museums into account. The entrance of the museum in Barerstraße creates a visual and thereby connecting axis to Alte Pinakothek, Neue Pinakothek and the city.

Visit

For opening hours and prices click here.

For the exhibition programme click here.

For information on physical and digital accessibility click here.

Accessibility

Since 2020 Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum has offered room easy-to-read texts which are available on the walls, digital and as audio files. Thus, the museum already offers access at the following language levels:


Texts in

– C1 German

– C1 English
– A2 German
– A2 English

Audios in
– C1 German
– C1 English
– A2 German
– A2 English

At the moment the museum plans digital and tactile options to experience and explore a few objects of the collection. The offer will be aimed at people with visual, hearing and cognitive impairments and should be available by the end of 2023.

The Pinakothek der Moderne offers both audio tours and tours in sign language.

Here you will find more information about accessibility.

DIE NEUE SAMMLUNG – THE DESIGN MUSEUM


VIDEO in DGS

Website 

Willkommen auf der Website von Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum. 

Auf den folgenden Seiten finden Sie Informationen über die Ausstellungen, das Programm, die Öffnungszeiten und die Eintrittspreise der Neuen Sammlung. Weiter unten finden Sie auch einen Link zur physischen und digitalen Barrierefreiheit sowie Informationen zu dem Vermittlungsprogramm des Museums. 

 

Sammlung

Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum zählt weltweit zu den größten und bedeutendsten Museen für angewandte Kunst des 20. und 21. Jahrhunderts. Die internationale Sammlung von 1900 bis heute umfasst über 100.000 Objekte aus 20 Sammlungsgebieten, wie zum Beispiel Möbel und Grafik, Keramik und Glas, Schmuck und Geräte sowie die Themen Mobility und IT-Design. Im Bereich von Produkt- und Industriedesign ist Die Neue Sammlung führend.

 

Gründungsgeschichte

Genauso gilt Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum als das älteste Designmuseum der Welt. 1903 wurde die „Münchner Vereinigung für angewandte Kunst“ gegründet, welche sich 1911 in „Münchner Bund“ umbenannte. Eine erste Sammlung bildete die seit 1912 aufgebaute „Moderne Vorbildersammlung“. Die Sammlung unterschied sich stark von Museen für angewandte Kunst oder Museen für Kunst und Gewerbe, weil das Interesse der jeweiligen Moderne und damit zeitgenössischen Formgestaltungen galt. Das Museum wurde 1925 gegründet und ein Jahr später in der Prinzregentenstraße eröffnet.

 

Standort und Architektur

Seit 2002 befindet sich Die Neue Sammlung in der Pinakothek der Moderne. Das Gebäude beherbergt vier Museen: für Kunst, Architektur, Grafik und Design. Das Grundstück der Pinakothek der Moderne befindet sich in Maxvorstadt, auf dem Kunstareal, umgeben von Universitätsbauten. Ursprünglich befand sich auf dem Gelände die 1823 erbaute Türkenkaserne. Sie wurde zu großen Teilen im 2. Weltkrieg zerstört und so wurde der unbebaute Platz fast 20 Jahre lang für die Auftritte des Zirkus Roncalli genutzt. 1990 beschloss sich die Bayerische Staatsregierung das Grundstück als Baugrund für Museen auszuweisen. Der Münchner Architekt Stephan Braunfels überzeugte 1992 mit seinem Entwurf, bei dem die Bedürfnisse aller vier Museen beachtet wurden. Durch den Eingang in der Barerstraße ergibt sich eine verbindende Achse zur Alten und Neuen Pinakothek sowie zur Innenstadt.

 

Ihr Museumsbesuch

Zu den Öffnungszeiten und Preisen geht es hier.

Zum Ausstellungsprogramm geht es hier.

Zu Informationen über die physische und digitale Barrierefreiheit geht es hier.

 

Vermittlungsangebote

Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum bietet seit 2020 Raumtexte in Leichter Sprache, die analog, digital und als Audiodateien zur Verfügung stehen. Damit bietet das Museum bereits Zugänge auf folgenden Sprachniveaus


Texte in

– C1 Deutsch
– C1 Englisch
– A2 Deutsch
– A2 Englisch


Hörtexte in
– C1 Deutsch
– C1 Englisch
– A2 Deutsch
– A2 Englisch

 

In Planung ist ein digitales und taktiles Vermittlungsangebot, das einzelne Objekte der Neuen Sammlung erfahrbar machen wird. Das Angebot wird sich an Menschen mit Seh-, Hör- und kognitiven Einschränkungen richten und soll Ende 2023 zur Verfügung stehen.

Die Pinakothek der Moderne bietet sowohl Hörführungen als auch Führungen in Gebärdensprache an.

Mehr Informationen zur Barrierefreiheit finden Sie hier.