htb_302
Hans Theo Baumann. On-board tableware for Lufthansa, 1971. Manufacturer: Hutschenreuther-Porzellanfabrik, Selb. Plastic, porcelain. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Hans Theo Baumann . Mokka- und Kaffeeservice | mocha and coffee service 13000 „Berlin“, 1956/1957 Hersteller | manufacturer: Rosenthal AG, Selb Porzellan | porcelain Donation des Entwerfers | donation of the designer Foto | photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)
Hans Theo Baumann. Mocha and coffee set 13000 „Berlin“, 1956/1957, porcelain. Manufactuerer: Rosenthal AG, Selb. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)



His output has made it into the history books. Once described as “a true master of German design”, he was among the protagonists who shaped the essence of “Made in Germany” and “Die Gute Form” in the wake of World War II – advocating a timeless and aesthetic design idiom. In 1959 Hans Theo Baumann (b. 1924 in Basel, Switzerland) was one of the co-founders of the Association of German Industrial Designers (VDID). Not only did he work with the top companies of Germany’s porcelain industry, he also joined forces with the architect Egon Eiermann, whose buildings epitomize the young German Federal Republic.
Baumann joined Philipp Rosenthal at an early stage and spent some time working in India and Japan. For more than half a century, his often prize-winning and widely exhibited designs were a decisive influence on the German design scene. Clear-cut, timeless shapes, high functionality and a holistic approach typify his richly diversified output.
Baumann’s successful products include dinner service and porcelain objects, tea and coffee pots, cups and plates, candle holders and vases. Philipp Rosenthal helped him launch his career as a porcelain designer as early as 1954. In addition to Rosenthal and Thomas, he counted Arzberg, Schönwald, Hutschenreuther and KPM Berlin among his clients, as well as other companies in Germany and abroad.
However, Baumann was not only interested in serial design, but also had a penchant for handcrafted low-volume productions and one-offs. The result: very unusual designs for the Karlsruhe-based Majolika ceramics manufactory and the Japanese porcelain manufactory Fukagawa, which are now rare and highly sought after items.
 
Following his training in Textile Engineering in Switzerland and a degree at the Dresden Academy of Fine Arts (1943-46), “Teddy” Baumann went to Basel where he studied Graphic Design and Interior Design at the Gewerbeschule/ Schule für Gestaltung. In 1953 he spent some time working with Egon Eiermann in Pforzheim, before opening his own studio in 1955. In 1959 he was among the co-founders of the Association of German Industrial Designers (VDID). From 1954 until the 1970s Baumann worked for Rosenthal as a freelance designer. In 1969 he was appointed to the National Institute of Design in Ahmedabad, India, and in 1985 he became a professor at the Berlin University of the Arts.
 
Thanks to Hans Theo Baumann’s generosity and assistance, Die Neue Sammlung was able to secure a representative spread of his output as a donation. A concise selection of these will now be on show for the first time.
 
Internationales Keramik-Museum. Weiden
Junly 6, 2014 – November 9, 2014

htb_302
Hans Theo Baumann. Bordgeschirr für die Lufthansa, 1971 Hersteller: Hutschenreuther-Porzellanfabrik, Selb. Kunststoff, Porzellan Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Hans Theo Baumann . Mokka- und Kaffeeservice | mocha and coffee service 13000 „Berlin“, 1956/1957 Hersteller | manufacturer: Rosenthal AG, Selb Porzellan | porcelain Donation des Entwerfers | donation of the designer Foto | photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)
Hans Theo Baumann. Mokka- und Kaffeeservice
13000 „Berlin“, 1956/1957, Porzellan
Hersteller: Rosenthal AG, Selb
Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


Seine Arbeiten haben Geschichte geschrieben. Als „Urgestein des deutschen Design“ wurde er einmal charakterisiert und zählt zu den Protagonisten, die nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg das Wesen des „Made in Germany“ und der „Guten Form“ geprägt haben. Die Rede ist von Hans Theo Baumann, der – 1924 in Basel geboren – 1959 den Verband Deutscher Industrie-Designer (VDID) mitbegründete. Er arbeitete mit der Elite der deutschen Porzellanindustrie, aber auch mit dem Architekten Egon Eiermann, dessen Bauten für die junge Bundesrepublik Deutschland stehen.
Früh ging Baumann zu Philipp Rosenthal und – nach Indien und Japan. Mehr als ein halbes Jahrhundert lang prägten seine Arbeiten das deutsche Design, oft prämiert und in zahlreichen Ausstellungen präsentiert. Klare, zeitlose Formen, hohe Funktionalität und ein ganzheitlicher Ansatz charakterisieren sein breit gefächertes Werk.
Zu Baumanns vielen erfolgreichen Produkten gehören auch seine Tafelservice und Porzellanobjekte, Kannen, Tassen und Teller, Leuchter und Vasen. Bereits 1954 verhalf ihm Philipp Rosenthal zu seinem Debüt als Porzellanentwerfer. Neben Rosenthal und Thomas beauftragten ihn Arzberg, Schönwald, Hutschenreuther und die KPM Berlin und andere Unternehmen im In- und Ausland.
Aber nicht nur das serielle Gestalten interessierte Baumann, sondern auch kunsthandwerkliche Kleinserien und Unikate. So entstanden für die Karlsruher Majolika und die japanische Porzellanmanufaktur Fukagawa ganz ungewöhnliche und heute überaus seltene Produkte.
 
Nach der Lehre zum Textiltechniker in der Schweiz und einem Studium an der Akademie der bildenden Künste in Dresden (1943-46) studierte „Teddy“ Baumann in Basel Grafik und Innenarchitektur an der Gewerbeschule/Schule für Gestaltung. 1953 arbeitete er mit Egon Eiermann in Pforzheim, eröffnete 1955 sein eigenes Studio und gehörte 1959 zu den Mitbegründern des Verbandes Deutscher Industrie-Designer (VDID). Von 1954 bis in die 70er Jahre war Baumann als freier Mitarbeiter für Rosenthal tätig. 1969 erhielt er den Ruf an das National Institute of Design in Ahmedabad, Indien, und 1985 eine Professur an der Hochschule der Künste in Berlin.
 
Dank der Großzügigkeit und Unterstützung von Hans Theo Baumann gelangte ein repräsentativer Querschnitt seiner Arbeiten als Schenkung an Die Neue Sammlung, die nun erstmals in einer konzentrierten Auswahl gezeigt werden kann.
 
Internationales Keramik-Museum. Weiden
06.07.2014 – 09.11.2014