FUTURO. Satellit 9. Counterculture: Cazal eyewear meets American Hip Hop

Eyeglasses by German manufacturer Cazal were considered a sought-after accessory in New York’s Hip-Hop culture of the 1980s. Founded in 1975 by Günther Böttcher and designer Cari Zalloni, the label focused on frames characterized by an unusual, architectural design, high-quality workmanship and practical features like good ventilation. Cazal eyewear attracted attention with striking lines, real gold-plating and the prominent positioning of screws as ornamental elements. The design followed Zalloni’s credo “Cazal eyewear must be recognizable from across the street.” It came as a surprise to the manufacturer that these glasses became a coveted lifestyle accessory in the emerging Hip-Hop culture of South Bronx, New York. From July 12, Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum is devoting a studio exhibition to this unusual synthesis in the FUTURO House in front of Pinakothek der Moderne.
FUTURO. Satellit 9. COUNTERCULTURE will be curated by Sven ‘Katmando’ Christ, Mirko Hecktor, Tim Bechthold and Caroline Fuchs.

Accompanying program
Exhibition opening
FRI July 12, 2019, 5 p.m., FUTURO House in front of Pinakothek der Moderne

Panel discussion
FRI July 12, 2019, 7 p.m., Bavarian Center for Transatlantic Relations
Barer Straße 19 a, 80333 Munich
free admission, in English
What significance did Cazal eyewear have for American Hip-Hop culture? What kind of an impact did the modified spectacles have on Cazal and perception of the company in Germany? As an accompaniment to the studio exhibition of Cazal glasses at the FUTURO House in front of Pinakothek der Moderne, Johann Kugelberg (curator and publisher from New York), Harald Böttcher (former owner of CAZAL) and Danny Clavesilla aka DJ Supreme La Rock (DJ, producer & turntablist, Seattle) will talk about the connections between German eyewear design and American Hip Hop and their wider implications.
A cooperation between Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum and the Bavarian Center for Transatlantic Relations.

SUN July 14, 2019, 1 p.m. to 10 p.m., in front of the main entrance to Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich, free admission
Urban block party for the Kunstareal-Fest
The Kunstareal-Fest will be celebrated in the style of an urban block party. While at the FUTURO House outstanding eyewear and prototypes will be shown and juxtaposed with original American Hip-Hop record covers, on the grassy area around the FUTURO visitors can enjoy a genuine street party featuring Hip-Hop music from a soundwall, BBQ specialties from a Jamaican smoker and selected chilled drinks. The final highlight will be a live gig by DJ Supreme La Rock, DJ, producer & turntablist from Seattle.
From 6 p.m. live act: DJ Supreme La Rock
Local support: DJ Katmando, Mirko Hecktor & Freemind sound system

Sponsored by Campari, Cazal, Optik Bartholomä and Brillen Schneider
Supported by Paulaner Zwickl
In cooperation with our media partner Super Paper München.

FURTHER INFORMATION
Dr. Caroline Fuchs
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
T +49 (0) 89 272 725-0
fuchs@die-neue-sammlung.de

These images may be used free of charge for editorial reporting on this exhibition, on condition that the credit is clearly and fully indicated. Download: Move Cursor on your choice and click; start download of High Resolution files with “save as” command.

 

Prototype


Prototype


Prototype


Prototype


Prototype

FUTURO. Satellit 9. Counterculture Cazal Eyewear meets American Hip Hop

Die Brillen des deutschen Herstellers Cazal galten als gefragtes Accessoire in der New Yorker Hip-Hop Kultur der 1980er Jahre. Das 1975 von Günther Böttcher und dem Designer Cari Zalloni gegründete Label setzte auf Fassungen, die sich durch ihre ungewöhnliche, architektonische Gestaltung, die hohe Qualität der Ausführung und funktionale Eigenschaften wie z. B. eine gute Belüftung auszeichneten. Cazal Brillen machten durch prominent in Szene gesetzte Linien, echte Vergoldungen und die Integration von Schrauben als Schmuckelementen auf sich aufmerksam. Ihre Gestaltung folgte Zallonis Credo „Cazal-Brillen müssen von der anderen Straßenseite aus erkennbar sein“. Überraschend für den Hersteller wurden diese Brillen ein begehrtes Lifestyle-Accessoires in der entstehenden Hip-Hop Kultur der South Bronx, New York. Dieser ungewöhnlichen Synthese widmet Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum ab 12. Juli eine Studioausstellung im FUTURO Haus vor der Pinakothek der Moderne.
Der FUTURO. Satellit 9. COUNTERCULTUR wird kuratiert von Sven ‚Katmando‘ Christ, Mirko Hecktor, Tim Bechthold und Caroline Fuchs.

BEGLEITPROGRAMM
Ausstellungseröffnung
FR 12.07.2019, 17:00
FUTURO-Haus vor der Pinakothek der Moderne

Podiumsdiskussion
FR 12.07.2019, 19:00
Stiftung Bayerisches Amerikahaus
Barer Straße 19 a, 80333 München
Eintritt frei, in englischer Sprache
Welche Bedeutung hatten Cazal Brillen für die US-amerikanische Hip-Hop-Kultur? Wie wirkte sich die Adaptation der Brillen wiederum auf Cazal und deren Wahrnehmung in Deutschland aus? Begleitend zur Studio-Ausstellung der Cazal Brillen im FUTURO-Haus vor der Pinakothek der Moderne diskutieren Johann Kugelberg (Kurator und Verleger aus New York), Harald Böttcher (ehemaliger Inhaber von CAZAL) und Danny Clavesilla aka DJ Supreme La Rock (DJ, Produzent & Turntablist, Seattle) über die Beziehungen von deutschem Brillendesign und amerikanischem Hip-Hop und ihre Auswirkungen.
Eine Kooperation der Neuen Sammlung – The Design Museum und der Stiftung Bayerisches Amerikahaus.

SO 14.07.2019, 13:00 bis 22:00
Freifläche vor dem Haupteingang der Pinakothek der Moderne, München, Eintritt Frei
Urban Block Party zum Kunstareal-Fest
Zum Kunstareal-Fest kann im Stil einer Urban Block Party gefeiert werden. Während im FUTURO-Haus herausragende Brillenmodelle und -Prototypen ausgestellt und in Wechselbeziehung zu originalen US-Hip-Hop Plattencovern gesetzt werden, erwartet die Besucherinnen und Besucher auf der Wiese um das FUTURO eine stilechte Urban Block Party mit Hip-Hop Musik aus der Soundwall, BBQ-Spezialitäten vom Jamaican Smoker und ausgewählten gekühlten Getränken. Den Abschluss des Abends krönt ein Live-Gig von DJ Supreme La Rock, DJ, Produzent & Turntablist aus Seattle.
Ab 18:00 Live Act: DJ Supreme La Rock
Local support: DJ Katmando, Mirko Hecktor & Freemind Soundsystem

Gesponsert von Campari, Cazal, Optik Bartholomä und Brillen Schneider
Unterstützt von Paulaner Zwickl
In Kooperation mit unserem Medienpartner Super Paper München.

WEITERE INFORMATIONEN
Dr. Caroline Fuchs
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
T +49 (0) 89 272 725-0
fuchs@die-neue-sammlung.de

Diese Abbildungen dürfen nur im Zuge der aktuellen Berichterstattung zur Ausstellung honorar- und genehmigungsfrei verwendet werden, sofern der Urhebervermerk korrekt und vollständig angegeben wird (meist: Eigentümer, Copyright Holder, Fotograf). Download: Cursor bitte auf das jeweilige Motiv und anklicken; den download der High Resolution Daten mit “speichern unter” Befehl starten.

Prototype


Prototype


Prototype


Prototype


Prototype