Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries, Manifesto, 2018. Graphic: Ingo Offermanns


Intervention in Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum. Collage: Projektbüro Friedrich von Borries


Electro-clone, Munich 2018. Twitterbot by Robert and Ilona Meisenecker. Photo: Ilona Meisenecker


The Munich Slide, Berlin 2018. Photo: Achim Hatzius


Wrapping up, Berlin 2018. Wrapping up the donation to Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum. Photo: Mikael Mikael


Friedrich von Borries, Berlin 2018. Photo: Thomas Schweigert


Exhibition: Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design. Design of Politics
Press conference: November 29, 2018, 11:00 a.m.
Opening: November 29, 2018, 07:00 p.m.
Venue: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum, Pinakothek der Moderne, München
Duration: November 30, 2018 – September 29, 2019

Having in 2016 addressed the relationship between design and politics both from a literary angle in the novel project “RLF. Das richtige Leben im Falschen” and programmatically with the manifesto “Weltentwerfen. Eine politische Designtheorie” (Suhrkamp Verlag), Friedrich von Borries is now developing on this topic an intervention in the museum space at the invitation of Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum.

The exhibition thus also continues a series on contemporary design positions held in the Paternoster Hall. For these, Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum has invited international protagonists of design such as Konstantin Grcic, Werner Aisslinger and Hella Jongerius to produce expansive and multipart installations since 2015.

The exhibition conceived by architect and design theorist Friedrich von Borries consists of three parts:
The first part – the engagement with “Politics of Design” – shows which political moment design contains within itself through a series of interventions in the museum collection. Theses such as “design sexualizes,” “design colonizes” and “design manipulates” offer a new perspective on Coca-Cola advertising, the Sony Walkman, and modernist furniture. Yet the interventionist stance also includes questioning the museum’s own power of interpretation. For this purpose, people were asked via an open call to bring objects to the museum; in September all participants then formed an independent jury. As a result, the museum is showing, among other things, models of vulvas, DIY furniture and urban gardening trash cans for the duration of the exhibition. The highlight of the engagement with the “Politics of Design” is the design model of a slide created by Friedrich von Borries for Thonet with a view to the company’s upcoming 200th anniversary. It addresses the fact that sitting down disciplines us and furthermore has a connection to possession – as seen in the German word “besitzen” – while also raising the question of how we get into dynamic movement from the static, persisting seated position.

The second part of the exhibition is a subjective reflection on the work of Friedrich von Borries to date, displayed in the two paternoster elevators. By donating an artwork his heteronym, the artist Mikael Mikael, intervenes in the museum collection, while in a perpetuating, Sisyphean marble-run installation he also points to the fundamental dilemma of a politically active artist or designer, who will presumably never reach the – supposed – goal.

The third part – “Design of Politics” – looks at the possibilities for shaping and changing politics through design. What contribution can design make to the social and cultural development of a society? Workshops are to be held in the context of the exhibition as a discursive, public design process in cooperation with the Federal Agency for Civic Education (Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung /bpb). By means of an open call, interested citizens, activists, designers, artists and scientists are being invited to a series of workshops, a “base camp for democracy,” at which project ideas are to be jointly developed. The results will be discussed publicly with high-profile guests from the fields of politics, science and culture. A Facebook page with text recommendations, book reviews and expert interviews is to accompany the search movement. This process will be documented in the exhibition.

The exhibition does not only address issues such as “surveillance,” “self-fulfillment,” “commodity,” and “market” against the backdrop of democracy as a form of government that is both worthy of protection and simultaneously in need of improvement. Indeed, with a view to the relationship between politics and design, it also raises the question as to which contexts designers and architects now need to navigate if they want their work to be politically responsible. 

The catalog accompanying the exhibition will be issued by Koenig Books.

Accompanying program (in german language)

Concept:
Prof. Friedrich von Borries

Curators:
Dr. Angelika Nollert, Dr. Xenia Riemann-Tyroller

For further information please contact:
Dr. Xenia Riemann-Tyroller
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
Türkenstrasse 15
80333 Munich
Tel.: +49 (0)89 272725-0
E-mail: riemann@die-neue-sammlung.de

Tine Nehler M.A.; Head of the Press Department
Pinakotheken im Kunstareal. Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
Kunstareal. Barer Strasse 29. 80799 Munich. Germany
Tel.: +49 (0)89 23805-122
Fax: +49 (0)89 23805-125
E-mail: presse@pinakothek.de
Internet: http://www.die-neue-sammlung.de

Supported by:

Cooperation partner:

Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018. Foto: Anna Seibel


Friedrich von Borries, Manifest, 2018. Grafik: Ingo Offermanns


Friedrich von Borries, Berlin 2018. Foto: Thomas Schweigert


Einpacken, Berlin 2018. Verpacken der Schenkung an Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum. Foto: Mikael Mikael


Intervention in Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum. Collage: Projektbüro Friedrich von Borries


Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics. Ausstellungsansicht / Installation view, 2018
Foto: Anna Seibel


Elektroklon, München 2018. Twitterbot von Robert und Ilona Meisenecker. Foto: Ilona Meisenecker


Die Münchner Rutsche, Berlin 2018. Foto: Achim Hatzius


Ausstellung: Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design. Design of Politics
Pressekonferenz: 29.11.2018, 11:00
Eröffnung: 29.11.2018, 19:00
Ort: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum, Pinakothek der Moderne, München
Ausstellungsdauer: 30.11.2018 – 29.09.2019

Nachdem sich Friedrich von Borries 2016 im Roman-Projekt „RLF. Das richtige Leben im Falschen“ literarisch und mit dem Manifest „Weltentwerfen. Eine politische Designtheorie“ (Suhrkamp Verlag) programmatisch mit dem Verhältnis von Design und Politik auseinandergesetzt hat, entwickelt er nun auf Einladung der Neuen Sammlung – The Design Museum zu diesem Thema eine Intervention in den musealen Raum.

Die Ausstellung setzt damit auch die Reihe für zeitgenössische Designpositionen in der Paternoster-Halle fort, zu der Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum seit 2015 jährlich internationale Protagonisten des Designs wie Konstantin Grcic, Werner Aisslinger und Hella Jongerius zu einer raumgreifenden und mehrteiligen Installation eingeladen hat.

Die vom Architekten und Designtheoretiker Friedrich von Borries konzipierte Ausstellung besteht aus drei Teilen:
Der erste Teil – die Auseinandersetzung mit „Politics of Design“ – zeigt an einer Reihe von Interventionen in die Sammlung des Museums auf, welches politische Moment Design in sich trägt. Anhand von Thesen wie „Design sexualisiert“, „Design kolonialisiert“ und „Design manipuliert“ wird ein neuer Blick auf Cola-Werbung, Sony-Walkmans und Möbel der Moderne geworfen. Zur interventionistischen Haltung zählt aber auch, die Deutungsmacht des Museum in Frage zu stellen. Hierzu wurde in einem Open Call dazu aufgefordert, Objekte ins Museum zu bringen; im September bildeten alle Teilnehmer eine eigenständige Jury. Für die Dauer der Ausstellung sind als Ergebnis im Museum nun u.a. Vulva-Modelle, DIY-Möbel und Urban-Gardening-Mülleimer zu sehen. Höhepunkt der Auseinandersetzung mit den „Politics of Design“ ist der Modellentwurf einer Rutsche, die von Friedrich von Borries für Thonet im Hinblick auf das anstehende 200-jährige Jubiläum von Thonet entworfen wurde. Sie thematisiert, dass Sitzen diszipliniert und zudem mit Besitzen zusammenhängt, und wirft die Frage auf, wie wir aus dem statischen beharrenden Sitzen in dynamische Bewegung kommen.

Der zweite Teil der Ausstellung ist eine subjektive Reflexion des bisherigen Werkes von Friedrich von Borries in den beiden Paternoster-Liften. Mit einer Schenkung interveniert sein Heteronym, der Künstler Mikael Mikael, in die Sammlung des Museums, und in einer perpetuierenden, sisyphos-artigen Kugelbahn-Installation verweist er auf das grundsätzliche Dilemma eines politisch agierenden Künstlers oder Designers, der nie das – vermeintliche – Ziel erreichen wird.

Der dritte Teil – „Design of Politics“ – untersucht die Möglichkeiten der Gestaltung und Veränderung von Politik durch Design. Welchen Beitrag kann das Design für die soziale und kulturelle Entwicklung einer Gesellschaft leisten? In Kooperation mit der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung (bpb) finden im Rahmen der Ausstellung deshalb Workshops als diskursiver, öffentlicher Designprozess statt. In einem Open Call werden interessierte Bürger, Aktivisten, Designer, Künstler und Wissenschaftler zu einer Reihe von Workshops, einem „Basiscamp für Demokratie“ eingeladen, um gemeinsam Projektideen zu entwickeln. Die Ergebnisse werden öffentlich mit prominenten Gästen aus Politik, Wissenschaft und Kultur diskutiert. Eine Facebook-Seite mit Textempfehlungen, Buchrezensionen und Experten-Interviews begleitet die Suchbewegung. Dieser Prozess wird in der Ausstellung dokumentiert.

Die Ausstellung thematisiert nicht nur Inhalte wie „Überwachung“, „Selbstverwirklichung“, „Ware“ oder „Markt“ vor dem Hintergrund der Demokratie als schützenswerte und gleichzeitig stets verbesserungswürdige Herrschaftsform. Sie stellt im Hinblick auf das Verhältnis von Politik und Design auch die Frage, in welchem Spannungsfeld Designer und Architekten heute agieren müssen, wenn sie politisch verantwortungsvoll gestalten wollen.

Der Katalog zur Ausstellung erscheint bei Koenig Books.

Begleitprogramm

Konzept:
Prof. Dr. Friedrich von Borries

Kuratoren:
Dr. Angelika Nollert, Dr. Xenia Riemann-Tyroller

Für weitere Informationen kontaktieren Sie bitte:
Dr. Xenia Riemann-Tyroller
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
Türkenstraße 15
80333 München
T +49 (0)89 272725-0
e-mail: riemann@die-neue-sammlung.de

Tine Nehler M.A.; Head of the Press Department
Pinakotheken im Kunstareal. Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
Kunstareal. Barer Straße 29. D 80799 München
T +49 (0)89 23805-122. F +49 (0)89 23805-125
e-mail: presse@pinakothek.de

Unterstützt von:

Kooperationspartner: