Ikko Tanaka: Faces. Posters. Japanese wall title: Tetsuya Ohta, Tokyo. Foto: A. Laurenzo


Tetsuya Ohta


Face … font… printing type …

The word face with its innumerable meanings also refers in printing to the type as in typeface and thus here references printing per se and in particular the fonts.

A large, Japanese typeface greets visitors to Pinakothek der Moderne until mid-July 2018 … and illegibly for most sets – a strong graphic message that evidently has something to do with the wall behind it, on which two rows of posters are to be seen, in bright colors and likewise in a largely incomprehensible script.

For the exhibition Ikko Tanaka. Faces. Posters, a presentation from the museum collection at Neue Sammlung, Japanese graphic designer Tetsuya Ohta has created the “headliner”, the typographical theme for the entrance displayed on the pillar in the rotunda.

For this purpose, Ohta used Ikko Tanaka’s hand-written signature blown-up to cover the whole wall, written in black from top to bottom, and from right to left: “Tanaka Ikko”. Beneath it in red, and shaped like a seal on a graphic sheet, stands the character for “face”. Unlike the expressive signature, this character is a typeface. As is customary in Japanese, the person’s name and the term are both reproduced by Chinese Kanji characters.
On the other side of the pillar Munich graphic designer Mirko Borsche created the German-English exhibition title.

As of 1963 Tetsuya Ohta was the first assistant and staff member of Ikko Tanaka working in the latter’s graphic studio in Tokyo, which opened in 1963; in 1975 Ohta opened his own studio. The design of the typography on the pillar and the graphics for the exhibition poster and flyer can all be read as his homage to Ikko Tanaka.

The design and realization of the Japanese wall title was made possible with the kind support of DNP Foundation for Cultural Promotion, Tokyo

Ikko Tanaka: Gesichter. Plakate. Grafik: Tetsuya Ohta, Tokio. Foto: A. Laurenzo


Tetsuya Ohta


Gesicht … face … Schriftbild … Drucktype …

„Face“ – die englische Entsprechung des deutschen Wortes „Gesicht“ – bedeutet im Englischen unter anderem auch „Schriftbild“. Zudem taucht es im Zusammenhang von „typeface“ auf, also „Schriftart, Schrifttype“ und bezieht sich hier auf das Druckwesen, in speziellen auf Druckschriften.

Ein großes, japanisches Schriftbild empfängt bis Mitte Juli 2018 die Besucher der Pinakothek der Moderne… unlesbar für die meisten, aber ein starkes grafisches Signal, das offenbar etwas mit der
dahinter liegenden Wand zu tun hat, auf der zwei Reihen von Plakaten zu sehen sind, in kräftigen Farben und mit meist ebenfalls unverständlicher Schrift.
Für die Ausstellung Ikko Tanaka. Gesichter. Plakate – eine Präsentation aus den Museumsbeständen der Neuen Sammlung – entwarf der japanische Grafikdesigner Tetsuya Ohta den „Aufmacher“: das typografische Eingangsmotiv auf dem Wandpfeiler in der Rotunde.
Ohta verwendete dafür in wandfüllender Vergrößerung die handschriftliche Signatur von Ikko Tanaka, mit schwarzer Tusche von oben nach unten und rechts nach links geschrieben: „Tanaka Ikko“.  In Rot sitzt darunter in der Art des Stempels auf einem grafischen Blatt das Zeichen für „Gesicht“. Im Unterschied zur ausdrucksvollen Signatur ist dieses Zeichen eine Drucktype. Wie im Japanischen üblich werden der Eigenname und der Begriff durch chinesische Logogramme, Kanji, wiedergegeben.

Auf der anderen Seite des Wandpfeilers gestaltete der Münchner Grafikdesigner MIrko Borsche seine Interpretation des Ausstellungstitels.

In den 1960/70er Jahren war Tetsuya Ohta der erste Mitarbeiter von Ikko Tanaka in dessen 1963 gegründeten Grafikdesign-Studio in Tokio; 1975 eröffnete er sein eigenes Studio. Die Gestaltung der Typografie auf dem Wandpfeiler ebenso wie die Grafik auf Ausstellungsplakat und Flyer lassen sich als seine Hommage an Ikko Tanaka verstehen.

Gestaltung und Realisierung der Wandbeschriftung mit freundlicher Unterstützung  durch DNP Foundation for Cultural Promotion, Tokio