‏SUN, July 17, 2022, 2 p.m. – 10 p.m



The classical music start-up HIDALGO will perform together with the Arcis Saxophone Quartet at Kunstareal München. The musical installation picks up on the theme of the exhibition HEADING OUTDOORS. In reference to this title, director Tom Wilmersdörffer explores the concept of freedom with classical music, video art and performance – and actively involves the audience.

The four musical interventions will start at 2.00 p.m., 4.00 p.m., 6.00 p.m. and 9.00 p.m. on the north side of the Pinakothek der Moderne. The musicians cycle through the Kunstareal, are wrapped in foil by the public and give a final concert at nightfall.

‏Four musical interventions
‏Location: North side of the Pinakothek der Moderne

I. Homo Ludens
Start: 2.00 p.m.
Only in play is man truly free. The Arcis Saxophone Quartet will cycle through the Kunstareal making music on a Beer-Bike. The audience can accompany them with their own bikes and participate in the “concert movement”. The caravan will ride for about 45 minutes through the surrounding streets and return to the Pinakothek der Moderne at the end.

II. The bondage of the intellectual follower
‏Start: 4.00 p.m.
How do we communicate and what information falls by the wayside? In the second intervention, the Arcis Saxophon Quartet meets at a long conference table in front of the Pinakothek der Moderne. The sounds are distorted via loudspeakers and the audience can intervene themselves via controllers. What is played is not what one hears.

III. Conditionality of the will
‏Start: 6.00 p.m.
Wrap-up meeting on the lawn next to the FUTURO house: the four musicians play their wind instruments back to back and let the audience wrap them in foil. It becomes increasingly difficult for them to make music – until the quartet melts into a single block and even the air to breathe becomes scarce.

IV. The Craft of Freedom
‏Start: 9.00 p.m.
The program “JSB:48” will be performed for the first time with pieces from “The Well-Tempered Clavier” by Johann Sebastian Bach, newly composed contemporary preludes and the “24 Préludes and Fugues” by Nikolai Kapustin. On the facade of the Pinakothek there will be a video performance with scenic images about freedom and lack of freedom.


Alternatives for bad weather

Going outdoors means being weatherproof. All actions are carried out even in bad weather. 

Arcis Saxophone Quartet:

Soprano saxophone – Claus Hierluksch

Alto saxophone – Ricarda Fuss

Tenor saxophone – Edoardo Zotti

Baritone saxophone – Jure Knez


Text in Easy-to-Read




Great open-air music event for the exhibition: Heading Outdoors – Ins Freie

The open-air music event takes place: July 17, 2022, from 2 pm until 10 pm.

It takes place at Kunst-Areal.

There are many other museums at Kunst-Areal.

For example: the Alte Pinakothek, the Lenbach Haus or the Museum Brandhorst.

The organiziers are:
· Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
· Pinakothek der Moderne
· Kunst-Areal Munich

The music event fits the content of the exhibition: Heading Outdoors. This name expresses the longing for freedom and for the stay in nature.

The event will take place even if the weather is bad.

Tom Wilmersdörffer directs the event. It consists of: a concert, video art and a performance. The audience can also participate.

The music company Hidalgo had the idea for this program. They have invited the musicians.

Arcis Saxophon Quartett plays at the concert.

A quartet consists of 4 saxophone players:

Claus Hierluksch, Ricarda Fuss, Edoardo Zotti and Jure Knez.

A saxophone is a wind instrument.

What is the program?

The program starts on the north side of the Pinakothek der Moderne.

There is also the entrance of the museum.

The musicians play 4 music pieces at different times: at 2 pm, at 4 pm, at 6 pm and at 9 pm.

When it gets dark, the final concert takes place.

The first performance will start at 2 pm.

It has the name: Homo ludens.

This is Latin and means: the playing man.

The name is supposed to mean: only in play is man truly free.

The Arcis Saxophon Quartett will cycle through the Kunst-Areal on a beer bike.

On the beer bike, the 4 musicians sit on benches opposite of each other.

Everyone has to pedal, but only one person steers. At the same time, the musicians play their instruments.

The audience can accompany the beer bike with their own bikes.

The beer bike and the other bikes cycle for about 45 minutes through the streets around Pinakothek der Moderne.

Then they all return there.

The second performance starts at 4 pm.

It has the name: The bondage of the intellectual follower.

The name is supposed to mean: Who wants to be free, must do something himself and must have ideas.

The Arcis Saxophon Quartett sits at a long conference table in front of Pinakothek der Moderne.

At the same time, it plays music.

Speakers distort the music.

The audience can distort the music too.

This way you hear something different, than the musicians play.

The third performance starts at 6 pm. It has the name: Conditionality of the will.

The name is supposed to mean: Often you cannot do everything the way as you want.

The musicians from Arcis Saxophon Quartett sit in front of the museum on the lawn next to FUTURO house.

The FUTURO house is a round house made of plastic. The Arcis Saxophon Quartett plays back-to-back on their instruments.

At the same time, the musicians let the audience wrap them in foil.

That is why they are less and less able to play their instruments.

In the end, they are wrapped together.

Then they almost cannot breathe and play music anymore.

The fourth performance starts at 9 pm.

It has the name: Take a Seat or The Craft of Freedom.

The program of the fourth performance is called: JSB:48.

JSB is an abbreviation for Johann Sebastian Bach. He lived about 300 years ago and is still a well-known composer today.

The Arcis Saxophon Quartett plays the following music pieces:
· The Well-Tempered Clavier by Johann Sebastian Bach.

Well-tempered means: The piano is tuned in a way, that it has a melodious sound.

In the time before Johann Sebastian Bach, this was not often the case.
· Newly composed preludes by young composers. Preludes are the plural of prelude.

It means: fore-play and is an old piece of music.
· 24 Préludes and Fugues by Nikolai Kapustin. Préludes is French and means: fore-play.

It is pronounced like this: Pray-luwd.

A fugue is also an old piece of music.

Nikolai Kapustin is a composer from Ukraine.

He died 2 years ago.

On the outside wall of Pinakothek der Moderne there is a video fitting the music.

The video shows pictures of freedom and the lack of freedom.

A cooperation of Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum with Kunstareal München and HIDALGO.