The Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum has set itself the goal of actively shaping the digital transformation and integrating it into all of the museum’s core tasks. Since its foundation in 1925, the museum has followed the guiding principle of making good design accessible to all. Whereas at that time design objects were shown regardless of price and origin, today the world’s oldest design museum has made it its task to create barrier-free information and mediation services for the exhibition objects.  

The Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum has set itself the goal of making design a digital and analogue experience for everyone. In doing so, several senses are to be addressed and design is to be explored as independently as possible. In this way, digitality and inclusion are equally understood as a social task and sustainably considered in all tasks that arise. The museum in the Pinakothek der Moderne is intended to be a place of exchange and learning about design history and new design developments where all people are welcome. This is how Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum shapes the future and remains true to its mission statement.  

  

The digital and the analogue space 

The digital makes it possible for the museum to be present beyond the analogue space, to convey knowledge worth knowing in new ways and to flexibly adapt the content to current situations. In this context, the analogue and digital are to be understood as independent areas that can mutually enrich each other. The digital offerings of Die Neue Sammlung can in no way replace on-site visits, but they do create new ways to the collection objects and exhibitions. They offer individual and inclusive ways of exploring, presenting, narrating and communicating design.  

Information can be preserved beyond the exhibitions, used flexibly for research and adapted at any time according to current scientific standards. In the exhibition space, the content is not only accessible on the respective original, but the design objects are to be experienced through further interactive and participatory offers. In this way, the digital and analogue levels of mediation complement each other and can be used by everyone individually according to their needs. Therefore, Die Neue Sammlung can be explored independently in the future and takes on a pioneering role in the field of digital and barrier-free cultural mediation.  

  

Already existing offers  

In order to make good design accessible to everyone, various mediation offers must be made available. The following measures have already been realized:  

  • Wifi access throughout the museum building  
  • Visual adaptation options of the website for people with visual impairments  

Currently under development and planned for the future  

Die Neue Sammlung is continuously working on the expansion of its digital and barrier-free offerings.

 

Since the beginning of 2022, the museum works on the project “An inclusive Design Experience” that is supposed to offer information on selected collection objects in easy-to-understand language, as audio descriptions and videos in sign language. These are accessible online in September 2023. Furthermore, hands-on-stations where all visitors can experience the objects haptically and playfully will provide important access to the collection. The museum also plans the first inclusive design book. 

A website relaunch is being realised as part of the project. The museum’s new website will be barrier-free and include a digital collection that will be continuously expanded. This will make it possible to access information on the objects in different language levels and for different target groups from everywhere. In addition, scientific research texts will be offered and the blog will be expanded.   

  

  

Internal digitisation must go hand in hand  

Parallel to the reorientation of its mediation and information services, Die Neue Sammlung is renewing the digital work tools. The focus is on equipping the staff with contemporary, collaborative work tools and programmes that facilitate collaboration and working from different locations. These are:   

  

  • New laptops and docking stations (October 2022) allow hybrid working in the office as well as at home or in the depot, exhibition spaces etc.  
  • Share systems and group work modules facilitate the collaboration.  
  • The conversion to Museum Plus (summer 2022) will enable all departments to carry out and link their object-related work in a common online tool. In addition, interfaces to standards databases and digital offerings are possible.  
  • The photo studio has unified and updated the standards of visual capture, image processing and long-term storage in 2021.  

  

The continuous improvement of technical and digital equipment is important to Die Neue Sammlung. 

Picture:

Hartmut Esslinger, Frog Design (Esslinger Design), “Apple IIc”, 1983, Foto: Die Neue Sammlung (A. Laurenzo)

Leitbild und Stellung der Digitalität in Die Neue Sammlung 

Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, den digitalen Wandel aktiv mitzugestalten und bei allen Kernaufgaben des Museums zu integrieren. Seit ihrer Gründung 1925 folgt das Museum dem Leitbild, Gute Gestaltung allen Menschen zugänglich machen. Während damals unter dieser Prämisse Designobjekte unabhängig von Preis und Herkunft gezeigt wurden, macht es sich das älteste Designmuseum der Welt heute zur Aufgabe, barrierefreie Informations- und Vermittlungsangebote zu den Ausstellungsobjekten zu schaffen. 

Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum hat es sich zum Ziel gesetzt, Design für alle digital und analog erlebbar zu machen. Dabei sollen mehrere Sinne angesprochen werden und Design möglichst selbstständig erkundet werden können. So werden Digitalität und Inklusion gleichwertig als gesellschaftliche Aufgabe begriffen und bei allen anfallenden Aufgaben nachhaltig mitgedacht. Das Museum in der Pinakothek der Moderne soll ein Ort des Austausches und des Lernens über Designgeschichte und neue Designentwicklungen sein, an dem alle Menschen willkommen sind. So gestaltet Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum die Zukunft und bleibt seinem Leitbild treu. 

 

Der digitale und der analoge Raum

Das Digitale ermöglicht es dem Museum, über den analogen Raum hinaus präsent zu sein, Wissenswertes über neue Wege zu vermitteln und die Inhalte jeweils der Aktualität flexibel anzupassen. Dabei sind die Bereiche von analog und digital als eigenständige Bereiche zu verstehen, die sich gegenseitig befruchten können. Die digitalen Angebote von Die Neue Sammlung können keinesfalls den Besuch vor Ort ersetzen, doch schaffen sie neue Zugangsmöglichkeiten zu den Sammlungsobjekten und Ausstellungen. Sie bieten individuelle und inklusive Wege der Erforschung, Darstellung, Erzählung und Vermittlung von Design. 

Informationen können über den Ausstellungszeitraum hinaus bewahrt werden, für die Forschung flexibel genutzt und nach aktuellem wissenschaftlichem Stand jederzeit angeglichen werden. Im Ausstellungsraum sind die Inhalte nicht nur am jeweiligen Original abrufbar, sondern die Designobjekte sollen durch weitere interaktive und partizipative Angebote erfahrbar werden. So ergänzen sich die digitalen und analogen Vermittlungsebenen, und können von allen Menschen je nach ihren Bedürfnissen individuell genutzt werden. Die Neue Sammlung kann auf diese Weise zukünftig selbstständig erkundet werden und nimmt eine Vorreiterrolle im Bereich der digitalen und barrierefreien Kulturvermittlung ein. 

 

Bereits vorhandene Angebote 

Um gute Gestaltung jedem zugänglich zu machen, müssen verschiedene Vermittlungsangebote offeriert werden. Folgende Maßnahmen wurden bereits getroffen: 

  • Blog „Design+“ 
  • Interviews, Ausstellungsfilme und Einblicke in die Museumsarbeit auf Youtube 
  • Online-Führungen und Online-Vorträge 
  • Roboter Führerschein (zur Ausstellung „KI.Robotik.Design“, 16.07.2021 – 10.04.2023) 
  • Konferenzreihe „FUTURE TALKS. The Conservation of the Modern“ (seit 2021 hybrid) 
  • Online-Forschungsprojekt „DDR Kunststoffe im Design. Ein Forschungsprojekt zu Material, Technologie und Restaurierung“ 

 

Aktuell in Entwicklung und in Zukunft geplant 

Die Neue Sammlung arbeitet fortwährend am Ausbau ihres digitalen und barrierefreien Angebots. 

 

Seit Anfang 2022 werden im Rahmen des Projektes „Design inklusiv erleben“ Informationen zu ausgewählten Sammlungsobjekten in leicht verständlicher Sprache, als Audiodeskriptionen und als Videos in Gebärdensprache erarbeitet. Einen wichtigen Zugang zur Sammlung werden des Weiteren Taststationen bieten, an denen alle Besucher:innen die Objekte haptisch sowie spielerisch erfahren können. Auch das erste inklusive Designbuch ist in Planung. 

 
Im Rahmen des Projektes wird ein Website-Relaunch realisiert. Der neue Webauftritt des Museums soll barrierefrei sein und in Zukunft auch eine digitale Sammlung umfassen, welche stetig erweitert wird. Dadurch können die Informationen zu den Objekten in verschiedenen Sprachniveaus und für die unterschiedlichen Zielgruppen überall abgerufen werden. Darüber hinaus sollen wissenschaftliche Texte zur Forschung offeriert und der Blog ausgebaut werden.  
 

Interne Digitalisierung muss mit einhergehen 

Die Neue Sammlung führt parallel zur Neuausrichtung ihrer Vermittlungs- und Informationsangebote auch eine Erneuerung der digitalen Arbeitsmittel für die Mitarbeiter:innen durch. Im Zentrum steht dabei die Ausstattung mit zeitgemäßen, kollaborativen Arbeitsmitteln und Programmen, die die Zusammenarbeit und das Arbeiten an verschiedenen Orten erleichtern. Diese sind:  

  • Die Neuausstattung der Arbeitsplätze mit Laptops und Docking-Stationen (Oktober 2022) erlaubt das hybride Arbeiten im Büro genauso wie zuhause oder im Depot, den Ausstellungsräumen etc. 
  • Share-Systeme und Gruppenarbeitsmodule erleichtern die Zusammenarbeit. 
  • Durch die Umstellung auf Museum Plus (Sommer 2022) können alle Abteilungen ihre objektbezogenen Arbeiten in einem gemeinsamen Online-Tool durchführen und verknüpfen. Außerdem sind Schnittstellen zu Normdatenbanken und digitalen Angeboten möglich. 
  • Das Fotoatelier hat die Standards der visuellen Erfassung, Bildverarbeitung und Langzeitspeicherung 2021 vereinheitlicht und auf den neuesten Stand gebracht. 

Die stetige Verbesserung der technischen und digitalen Ausstattung ist der Neuen Sammlung wichtig. 

Bildnachweis Kachel:

Hartmut Esslinger, Frog Design (Esslinger Design), „Apple IIc“, 1983, Foto: Die Neue Sammlung (A. Laurenzo)