In Karl Fritsch a protagonist from the international jewelry scene realigned the Danner Rotunda as a curator.
Since 2004, Die Neue Sammlung has been showcasing contemporary international jewelry art in the Pinakothek der Moderne. This means that for the first time one of the most varied contemporary forms of artistic expression has found a permanent home in a museum of this kind, alongside art, architecture, graphic art and design.

The starting point for this is the Danner Rotunda, which illustrates the stylistic approaches of more than one-hundred jewelry artists from the world over, thanks to the Danner Foundation’s commitment and its jewelry collection which forms the core of this exhibition, and thanks to private donors, including Galerie Spektrum and Professor Peter Skubic, not to mention loans and donations from individual jewelry artists.
The 2004 opening exhibition was curated by Professor Hermann Jünger, who taught the jewelry class at the Munich Art Academy from 1972-1990, and Otto Künzli, who took over the chair in 1991.

They are succeeded by Karl Fritsch as a representative of a younger generation, who naturally brings his own ideas into play. Karl Fritsch has transferred his artistic concept, which involves reinvigorating, embedding, overlaying and reshaping already existing objects and revealing the actual process, to the task of reinterpreting the Danner Rotunda. In so doing he has changed the face of the permanent presentation in response to the contemporary jewelry scene with its many facets and different artistic attitudes.

Co-operation: The Danner Foundation, Munich and Die Neue Sammlung

Schmuck in der Pinakothek der Moderne. Kuratiert von Karl Fritsch, 2010. Foto: Rainer Viertlböck


Mit Karl Fritsch hat ein international agierender Protagonist der Schmuckszene als Kurator die Danner-Rotunde im Jahr 2010 neu eingerichtet.

Seit 2004 zeigt Die Neue Sammlung zeitgenössischen internationalen Autorenschmuck in der Pinakothek der Moderne. Eine der facettenreichsten künstlerischen Ausdrucksformen der Gegenwart ist damit erstmals in einem Museum dieser Art dauerhaft präsent, an der Seite von Kunst, Architektur, Grafik und Design.
Ausgangspunkt dafür bildet die Danner-Rotunde, in der sich Positionen von über hundert Schmuckkünstlern aus aller Welt aufzeigen lassen – dank dem Engagement der Danner-Stiftung und ihrer Schmucksammlung, die im Zentrum der Ausstellung steht, und dank den privaten Donatoren wie etwa Galerie Spektrum oder Professor Peter Skubic, sowie Leihgaben und Schenkungen einzelner Schmuckkünstler.
Die Eröffnungsaustellung 2004 kuratierten Professor Hermann Jünger, der die Schmuckklasse der Münchner Kunstakademie 1972-1990 leitete, und Otto Künzli, der die Professur 1991 übernahm.
Ihnen folgt Karl Fritsch als Vertreter einer jüngeren Generation, der dementsprechend ganz andere Akzente setzt. Seine künstlerische Konzeption, Bestehendes neu zu beleben, einzubetten, zu überlagern oder umzuformen und Prozesshaftes offenzulegen, überträgt Karl Fritsch auf die Aufgabe der Neuinterpretation der Danner-Rotunde und verändert so das Gesicht der Dauerpräsentation in Reaktion auf das zeitgenössische Schmuckgeschehen mit seinen vielen Facetten und unterschiedlichen künstlerischen Haltungen.

Kooperation: Danner-Stiftung München und Die Neue Sammlung