Exhibition view. Danner Prize 2020. 100 years Danner Foundation. Photo: Danner-Stiftung (Eva Jünger)

Exhibition view. Danner Prize 2020. 100 years Danner Foundation. Photo: Danner-Stiftung (Eva Jünger)

Exhibition view. Danner Prize 2020. 100 years Danner Foundation. Photo: Danner-Stiftung (Eva Jünger)

Exhibition view. Danner Prize 2020. 100 years Danner Foundation. Photo: Danner-Stiftung (Eva Jünger)

+++ Due to the current circumstances in connection with the COVID-19 virus, DIE NEUE SAMMLUNG will be closed to visitors from Monday, November 2nd, 2020 until November 30th, 2020. We are following the decision of the Bavarian Ministry of Science and Art.
We hope to see you again soon in our exhibitions. Until then, we will offer numerous digital offers that you can use from home. +++


Contemporary craftsmanship from Bavaria in an institution for modern art, architecture, graphic art and design: As such, the exhibition for the Danner Prize 2020 constitutes an important element in the Pinakothek der Moderne program in that it highlights the interaction between the free and the applied arts. Established in 1920 in Munich, the Danner Foundation is one of the most renowned organizations in Europe promoting hand craftsmanship. Every three years since 1984 the Foundation has awarded the prize (named after it) for outstanding achievements in arts and craftsmanship.
Following 1996 this is now the second time that Die Neue Sammlung is hosting the exhibition for the Danner Prize, attesting to the longstanding binds between the two institutions in matters of arts and crafts.

Now, in 2020, one of the most important awards in this field will be bestowed for the 13th time. The competition promotes new creative ideas and developments in arts and crafts and takes place under the auspices of the Bavarian Minister of Economic Affairs, Regional Development and Energy, Hubert Aiwanger. A jury of international experts judge the entries for the prize, which this time comes attached with prize money of EUR 20,000 to mark the 100th anniversary of the Foundation’s inception.

Jewelry artist Bettina Dittlmann will receive the Danner Prize 2020 for her magnet brooch “Wohin”. “Bettina Dittlmann makes use of magnets in her jewelry objects in order to lend left-over and poor materials such as tinder, iron dust or iron wire a new form but without creating a final shape. This radical commitment to renewal, involvement and change gives her work a societal and political relevance. In this sense her jewelry is also an invitation to its wearers to actively take on responsibility,” as Angelika Nollert expressed it in her eulogy.
Honorary prizes go to Otto Baier for his titanium objects “Stromboli” und “Vulkano”, to Peter Bauhuis for four of his objects “Skulptur/Kette”, to Petra Bittl for her ceramic vessels “Paar” and “Wintergestalt”, and to Paul Müller for his delicate candlestick holders.

In the course of its 36-year history the Danner Prize has lost none of its attractiveness and importance. Indeed, in 2020 some 200 expert craftspeople took part in the competition. The jury selected the works of 33 other participants it considered worthy of being exhibited in the Danner Prize exhibition.

Once again, this year the Foundation was keen to present works of excellent craftsmanship and artistry in combination with current trends in handicrafts. As such, the Danner Prize can be said to embody the goals of the Foundation, namely of promoting both those artisans who are already established alongside young talents and enabling a lively debate on the further development of applied art.

Marking the 100th anniversary of the establishment of the Foundation, Karl Rothmüller, Royal Bavarian Master Goldsmith, will be honored in the exhibition as the driving force behind the creation of the Foundation. Other objects from the Danner Foundation Collection highlight on an almost totally unknown aspect of the Foundation including a piece that has never been shown before by Stanislav Libenský und Jaroslava Brychtová the two founders of the international studio glass movement in Europe.

An exhibition of the Danner Foundation in collaboration with Die Neue Sammlung.
Exhibition curator: Isolde Bazlen

Pinakothek der Moderne
Exhibition
October 15, 2020 – January 17, 2021

Danner-Preis 2020 – 100 Jahre Danner-Stiftung.Blick in die Ausstellung. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung-The Design Museum (Patrizia Hamm)

Bettina Dittlmann. Brosche „Wohin“, 2019. Eisen, Lot, Emaille, Granate, Pyrit, Neodymscheibenmagnet. Danner-Preis 2020. Foto: Danner-Stiftung. Eva Jünger

Stanislav Libenský und Jaroslavá Brychtová, 1991/1992, Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum. Dauerleihgabe der Danner Stiftung München. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)

Zeitgenössisches Kunsthandwerk aus Bayern in einem Haus für moderne Kunst, Architektur, Grafik und Design: Die Ausstellung zum Danner-Preis 2020 nimmt damit einen wichtigen Aspekt des Programms der Pinakothek der Moderne auf: den Austausch zwischen freier und angewandter Kunst. Die Danner-Stiftung, 1920 in München gegründet, gehört zu den renommiertesten Einrichtungen in Europa zur Förderung des Kunsthandwerks. Seit 1984 verleiht die Stiftung im Turnus von drei Jahren für herausragende kunsthandwerkliche Leistungen den nach ihr benannten Preis.
Nach 1996 ist es bereits das zweite Mal, dass Die Neue Sammlung die Einladung zur Ausstellung des Danner-Preises ausgesprochen hat, wodurch die seit Langem währende Verbundenheit beider Institutionen in Fragen des Kunsthandwerks zum Ausdruck kommt.

2020 wird zum 13. Mal der Danner-Preis verliehen, eine der bedeutendsten Auszeichnungen in diesem Bereich. Der Wettbewerb fördert neue gestalterische Ideen und Entwicklungen im Kunsthandwerk und steht unter der Schirmherrschaft des Bayerischen Staatsministers für Wirtschaft, Landesentwicklung und Energie, Hubert Aiwanger. Eine international besetzte Fachjury vergibt den Preis, der anlässlich des 100-jährigen Gründungsjubiläums der Stiftung diesmal mit 20.000 Euro dotiert ist.

Die Schmuckkünstlerin Bettina Dittlmann erhält den Danner-Preis 2020 für ihre Magnetbrosche „Wohin“. „Bettina Dittlmann setzt Magnete in ihre Schmuckarbeiten ein, um verbliebenen und poveren Materialien wie Zunder, Eisenstaub oder Eisendraht eine neue Form zu geben ohne dabei eine endgültige Gestalt zu formulieren. Dieses radikale Bekenntnis zu Erneuerung, Mitwirkung und Veränderung verleiht ihrem Werk eine sozialgesellschaftliche und politische Relevanz. Ihr Schmuck ist in diesem Sinne auch ein Angebot an seine Träger*innen, aktiv Verantwortung zu übernehmen“ wie es Angelika Nollert in ihrer Laudatio formuliert.
Die Ehrenpreise gehen an Otto Baier für seine Titanobjekte „Stromboli“ und „Vulkano“, an Peter Bauhuis für vier seiner Objekte „Skulptur/Kette“, an Petra Bittl für ihre Keramikgefäße „Paar“ und „Wintergestalt“ und an Paul Müller für seine grazilen Kerzenleuchter.

Im Laufe seiner 36-jährigen Geschichte hat der Danner-Preis nicht an seiner Attraktivität und Bedeutung verloren. So beteiligten sich am Wettbewerb 2020 rund 200 Kunsthandwerkerinnen und Kunsthandwerker. Als ausstellungswürdig befand die Jury die Arbeiten von 33 weiteren Wettbewerbsteilnehmerinnen und -teilnehmern für die Danner-Preis-Ausstellung.

Auch in diesem Jahr war es der Stiftung ein wichtiges Anliegen, handwerklich und künstlerisch qualitätvolle Werke in Verbindung mit aktuellen Tendenzen im Kunsthandwerk zu präsentieren. Damit steht der Danner-Preis stellvertretend für die Ziele der Stiftung, etablierte Kunsthandwerkerinnen und Kunsthandwerker ebenso zu fördern wie junge Talente und einen lebendigen Diskurs zur Fortentwicklung des Kunsthandwerks zu ermöglichen.

Aus Anlass des 100-jährigen Gründungsjubiläums der Stiftung wird der Bayer. Kgl. Hofgoldschmied Karl I Rothmüller als ihr Ideengeber und Initiator in der Ausstellung gewürdigt. Arbeiten von seiner Hand sind auch zu sehen in der Ausstellung „MUC / Schmuck, Perspektiven auf eine Münchner Privatsammlung“, Münchner Stadtmuseum (13.11.2020 – 05.04.2021).

Weitere Objekte aus der Sammlung der Danner-Stiftung werfen das Licht auf eine fast völlig unbekannte Facette der Stiftung. Darunter eine noch nie zuvor gezeigte Arbeit von Stanislav Libenský und Jaroslava Brychtová, den beiden Begründern der internationalen Studio-Glas-Bewegung in Europa.

Eine Ausstellung der Danner-Stiftung in Zusammenarbeit mit der Neuen Sammlung.
Ausstellungskuratorin: Isolde Bazlen

Pinakothek der Moderne
Ausstellung
15.10.2020 – 17.01.2021