Talk. Asif Khan
Live stream. Youtube
September 24, 2020. 7 pm

In English language

Asif Khan. Photo: James Moriarty



With his sensational architecture, which often incorporates the latest technical developments and seeks unusual spatial and visual experiences, ASIF KHAN has catapulted himself in recent years into the ranks of the most internationally sought-after architects of our time. In 2019, he designed the architecture of the exhibition “A Different Perspective. African Ceramics from the Collection of Franz, Duke of Bavaria” for Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum. Other current projects include the new Museum of London, the public space of Expo 2020 in Dubai and the Tselinny Centre for Contemporary Culture in Almaty, Kazakhstan.

Khan’s work revolves around the question of how material and social innovations and interventions change the perception and design of spaces. Some of his projects are designed for direct interaction, a well-known example of this approach is his multi-award-winning Megafaces Pavilion for the Winter Olympics in Sochi 2014, while other of his architectures use new materials and technologies to enable new perceptions of space, such as the recently unveiled entrance portals for this year’s Expo in Dubai.

In his lecture, Asif Khan offers a look behind the scenes. He will provide insights into the creation of the exhibition “A Different Perspective”, for which he designed two very distinct spaces, and he will explain the ideas and development behind future, past and current projects.

The collaboration between Asif Khan and Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum was a result of British Council Design Connections programme.
The event is part of the CONNEXIONS talk series. CONNEXIONS is supported by EY.S

Talk. Asif Khan
Live stream. Youtube
24.09.2020. 19:00
In englischer Sprache

Asif khan. Foto: James Moriarty

 




 


Mit seinen Aufsehen erregenden Architekturen, die oftmals neueste technische Entwicklungen einbinden und ungewöhnliche räumliche und visuelle Erfahrungen suchen, ist ASIF KHAN in den letzten Jahren in die Reihe der international gefragtesten Architekten unserer Zeit aufgestiegen. Für Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum gestaltete er 2019 die Architektur der Ausstellung „Anders gesehen. Afrikanische Keramik aus der Sammlung Herzog Franz von Bayern“. Weitere aktuelle Projekte umfassen das neue Museum of London, den öffentlichen Raum der Expo 2020 in Dubai sowie das Tselinny Zentrum für zeitgenössische Kultur in Almaty, Kasachstan.

Khans Arbeit kreist um die Frage, wie materielle und soziale Innovationen und Interventionen die Wahrnehmung und Gestaltung von Räumen verändern. Einige seiner Projekte sind auf direkte Interaktion angelegt, ein bekanntes Beispiel dieses Ansatzes ist sein mehrfach preisgekrönter Megafaces Pavillon für die Winterolympiade in Sotschi 2014. Andere seiner Architekturen nutzen neue Materialien und Technologien, um neue Raumwahrnehmungen zu ermöglichen, wie die gerade erst enthüllten Eingangsportale für die diesjährige Expo in Dubai.

In seinem Vortrag gewährt Asif Khan einen Blick hinter die Kulissen. Er gibt Einblicke in die Entstehung der Ausstellung „Anders gesehen“, für die er zwei sehr unterschiedliche Räume gestaltet hat, und er erläutert die Ideen und die Entwicklung, die hinter zukünftigen, vergangenen und aktuellen Projekten stehen.

Die Zusammenarbeit zwischen Asif Khan und der Neuen Sammlung – The Design Museum wurde angeregt durch das British Council Connections Programm.

Die Veranstaltung ist Teil der CONNEXIONS Gesprächsreihe.
CONNEXIONS wird gefördert durch EY.