The jewelry and object artist Anton Cepka is one of the most important jewelry makers of the 20th century. Born in 1936 in Sulekovo, Czechoslovakia – now Slovakia – Cepka was a leading exponent of the modern jewelry after World War II. Today he is respected as the doyen of both Slovakian and Czech jewelry artists. Thanks to a formal language reminiscent of Constructivism, he remained untroubled by affairs of state over many years – unlike many fellow artists.
Silver, optical glass and modern acrylic glass are Anton Cepka’s preferred materials. Out of these, brooches and pendants take shape which embody novel spatial ideas. Tending at first towards relief, they are later conceived fully in the round. Then the surprise – the elements of movement and light are added,
introducing the concept of kinetic art to the art of jewellery for the first time.
The actual construction of the objects demonstrates the high degree of craftsmanship which is intrinsic to all of Cepkas’ work.
 
Thanks to many lenders, both private and institutional, from Germany and abroad, it is possible for the first time to show around 180 decorative objects by Anton Cepka, from the period between 1963 and 2005, in a single exhibition.
 
The exhibition takes place under the auspices of the Minister of Culture of the Slovak Republic and is supported by he Slovakian Embassy in Berlin, the Slovakian Consulate General in Munich, Arnoldsche Art Publishers, Stuttgart, Danner Stiftung in Munich and Deedie Rose, USA.
 
Pinakothek der Moderne. Munich
Anton Cepka – Kinetic Jewelry
March 14, 2015 – June 7, 2015


Exhibition view


Exhibition view

Der im tschechoslowakischen, heute slowakischen Šulekovo 1936 geborene Schmuckentwerfer und Objektkünstler Anton Cepka gehört zu den wichtigsten Schmuckgestaltern des 20. Jahrhunderts und zu den Protagonisten des sogenannten Autorenschmucks nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg. Er gilt heute als Doyen der slowakischen wie tschechischen Schmuckentwerfer. Dank seiner an die konstruktivistische Kunst erinnernden Formensprache bleibt er lange – als einer der wenigen – von staatlichen Belangen unbehelligt. 
Gesudetes Silber, optisches Glas, Steine und das moderne Acrylglas sind die bevorzugten Materialien von Anton Cepka. Es entstehen neuartige, zunächst ins Relief gehende, später bildhauerisch konzipierte Raumkonzeptionen in Form von Broschen und Anhängern. Überraschend kommt das Moment der Bewegung und des Lichtes hinzu, durch das die kinetische Kunst erstmals konzeptuell Eingang in die Schmuckkunst findet.
Die Ausführung der Objekte zeugt dabei von der hohen, für Cepkas Objekte essentiellen Handwerkskunst.
 
Dank zahlreicher nationaler wie internationaler, privater wie institutionaler Leihgeber können zum ersten Mal rund 180 Schmuckobjekte Anton Cepkas aus dem Zeitraum von 1963 bis 2005 in einer Ausstellung gezeigt werden.
 
Die Ausstellung steht unter der Schirmherrschaft des Kulturministers der Slowakischen Republik und entstand mit Unterstützung der Botschaft der Slowakischen Republik in Berlin, des Generalkonsulats der Slowakischen Republik in München, Arnoldsche Art Publishers, Stuttgart, der Danner Stiftung in München und Deedie Rose, USA.
 
Pinakothek der Moderne. München
Anton Cepka – Kinetischer Schmuck
14.03.2015 – 07.06.2015

Blick in die Ausstellung


Blick in die Ausstellung