Friedrich von Borries, Manifest / Manifesto, 2018. Grafik / Graphics: Ingo Offermanns


Workshop 1. #What would be if … ? Kalinca Vicente, Munich


Workshop 2. Blocking the Sound. Banu Çiçek Tülü, Berlin.


Workshop 3. Design Utopia. Gruppe Heft, Hamburg.


Workshop 4. Öffentliche Gestaltungsberatung St. Pauli, Hamburg. HFBK Hamburg


Can design make democracy better?
Invitation to four workshops


In the context of the exhibition Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics Die Neue Sammlung is hosting four workshops in cooperation with the Federal Agency for Civic Education /bpb. These are geared towards those interested in design and politics, individuals as well as groups, who want to learn about the design of public space.

The four workshops, which were selected through a democratic process, look at how design is able to ameliorate and further develop the symbolic representation, practical organization, everyday implementation and spatial extension of democracy.

Fifteen applicants, individuals and teams, had responded to an open call with their workshop concepts. After the first round through a pre-jury made up of Prof. Dr. Friedrich von Borries, Dr. Sabine Dengel (bpb) and Dr. Angelika Nollert (Director of Die Neue Sammlung) the ten selected applicants were able to choose the final workshops in a second round with four votes each.

The four workshops will take place in the first three weeks of September. On September 19, 2019, 7 p.m. the results will be made public and put up for discussion in a concluding panel event. Die Neue Sammlung will be delighted to receive active interest in the workshops and invites you to take part.

Participation in the workshops is free and subject to application. The language in which the workshops will be held is German unless otherwise specified. Travel allowances for school and university students will be provided by Leinemann-Stiftung für Bildung und Kunst and may be applied for via Die Neue Sammlung.

Are you interested and motivated to take part?
By citing your choice of workshop please
APPLY BY E-MAIL TO workshop@dnstdm.de
APPLICATION DEADLINE: September 2, 2019.

In cooperation with the Federal Agency for Civic Education /bpb.

Supported by Leinemann-Stiftung für Bildung und Kunst.


WORKSHOP 1
#What if…?
Reality, non-reality and the democracy in-between

Time period: Sunday, September 8, 2019, 2 p.m. – 6 p.m.

Drawing on the column “Was wäre, wenn…?” (trans. “what if…?”) by economy magazine brand eins as inspiration, the workshop will look at various scenarios, based on which dreams, propositions and hypotheses on how democracy may be made better are to be developed:
“What if…”
1. …political engagement turned us into “superstars”?
2. …everything I consume had an impact on election results?
3. …there were democratization processes in the economy?
4. …there no longer were nation state borders?
Together we discuss and design prototypes that make our ideas tangible.

Lead by: Kalinca Vicente, Munich
www.allwecan-do.com
24 places (age 14 and up)

WORKSHOP 2 (offered twice)
Blocking the Sound – A workshop on acoustic violence and everyday objects, with sound walk
Time period: Thursday, September 12, 2019 and Friday, September 13, 2019, 3 p.m. – 6 p.m.

“Blocking the sound” is a workshop series on violence through sound. This workshop looks at walking on the sidewalk as a privileged act. For this reason, the workshop kicks off with a sound walk, during which participants can think about the topic. A common means of protection from acoustic violence is the use of headphones. In the context of the workshop, participants are asked to design different headphones using recycled material.

In English and German language
Lead by: Banu Çiçek Tülü, Berlin
20 places (age 12 and up)

WORKSHOP 3 (two-day)
Design Utopia
Time period: Saturday, September 14 – Sunday, September 15, 2019, 10 a.m. – 6 p.m. each day

Majority decisions, secret agencies, parliamentary backrooms, non-voting district councilors– all of these are part of democracy. Democracy also always means referral to a higher authority that governs life. It’s all about hierarchy. How would a society be organized that sees itself as a direct democracy? Our suggestion: Let’s practice conceiving social utopias, an alternative plan! Alongside theoretical explorations we test out our abilities to self-organize.

Lead by:
HEFT = Ina Römling & Torben Körschkes, Hamburg and Caroline Kapp, Munich
20 places (age 16 and up)

WORKSHOP 4 (three-day)
Preparation camp for a public design consultation (with trial session)
Time period: Tuesday, September 17 – Thursday, September 19, 2019, 2 p.m. – 5 p.m. each day

The public design consultation “Oeffentliche Gestaltungsberatung” offers low-threshold and free support for a design-based examination of everyday problems. It works with and for people who otherwise cannot afford professional design services. The public design consultation format has already been tested out several times in different places and with different project partners. The goal is always to address real design problems rather than fictional ones. After a theoretical introduction we will be working on questions of practical implementation, among other things through exploring the city. The workshop concludes with exercises on design consultation.
www.gestaltungsberatung.org,
howto.gestaltungsberatung.org

Lead by:
Öffentliche Gestaltungsberatung der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg (HFBK)
www.design.hfbk-hamburg.de
15 places (age 14 and up)

Friedrich von Borries, Manifest / Manifesto, 2018. Grafik / Graphics: Ingo Offermanns


Workshop 1. #Was wäre, wenn … ? Kalinca Vicente, München


Workshop 2. Blocking the Sound. Banu Çiçek Tülü, Berlin.


Workshop 3. Design Utopia. Gruppe Heft, Hamburg.


Workshop 4. Öffentliche Gestaltungsberatung St. Pauli, Hamburg. HFBK Hamburg


KANN DESIGN DIE DEMOKRATIE VERBESSERN?
EINLADUNG ZU VIER WORKSHOPS


Im Rahmen der Ausstellung Friedrich von Borries. Politics of Design, Design of Politics bietet Die Neue Sammlung vier Workshops an, die in Kooperation mit der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung /bpb veranstaltet werden. Sie richten sich an Design- und Politikinteressierte, Einzelpersonen und Gruppen, die sich für die Gestaltung des öffentlichen Raums interessieren.

Die vier Workshops, die in einem demokratischen Verfahren ausgewählt wurden, setzen sich damit auseinander, ob und wie Design symbolische Repräsentation, praktische Organisation, alltägliche Umsetzung und räumliche Ausdehnung von Demokratie verbessern und weiterentwickeln kann.

An einem Open Call hatten sich fünfzehn Bewerber*innen, Einzelpersonen und Teams, mit ihren Workshop-Konzepten beworben. Nach einer ersten Runde durch die Vorjury Prof. Dr. Friedrich von Borries, Dr. Sabine Dengel (bpb) und Dr. Angelika Nollert (Direktorin, Die Neue Sammlung) konnten die zehn ausgewählten Bewerber*innen in einer zweiten Runde mit jeweils vier Stimmen die finalen Workshops bestimmen.

Die vier Workshops werden in den ersten drei Septemberwochen stattfinden.
Am 19. September 2019 stehen ihre Ergebnisse in einer abschließenden öffentlichen Podiumsveranstaltung zur Diskussion.
Die Neue Sammlung freut sich über reges Interesse und lädt zur Teilnahme ein.

Die Teilnahme an den Workshops ist kostenlos und erfolgt nach Anmeldung.
Die Sprache der Workshops ist Deutsch, wenn nicht anders angegeben.
Reisekostenzuschüsse für Studenten und Schüler können dank der Unterstützung durch die Leinemann-Stiftung für Bildung und Kunst bei der Neuen Sammlung beantragt werden.

Sie haben Lust und Interesse, mitzumachen?
Mit Nennung Ihrer Workshopwahl bitten wir um Ihre
ANMELDUNG UNTER: workshop@dnstdm.de,
ANMELDEFRIST: 02.09.2019.

Eine Kooperation mit der Bundeszentrale für politische Bildung/bpb.

Mit Unterstützung der Leinemann-Stiftung für Bildung und Kunst.


WORKSHOP 1
#Was wäre, wenn…?
Realität, Nicht-Realität und die Demokratie dazwischen

Zeitraum: Sonntag, 08.09.2019, 14:00 – 18:00 Uhr

In Anlehnung an die Rubrik „Was wäre, wenn…?“ des Wirtschaftsmagazins brand eins werden unterschiedliche Szenarien angeboten, worauf aufbauend Träume, Thesen & Hypothesen zur Demokratieverbesserung entwickelt werden können:
„Was wäre, wenn…?
1. … politisches Engagement uns zu „Superstars“ machen würde?
2. … alles was ich konsumiere, einen Einfluss auf die Wahlergebnisse hätte?
3. … es Demokratisierungsprozesse in der Wirtschaft gäbe?
4. … es keine nationalstaatlichen Grenzen mehr gäbe?“
Gemeinsam diskutieren und gestalten wir Prototypen, um unsere Ideen greifbar und erlebbar zu machen.

Leiterin: Kalinca Vicente, München
www.allwecan-do.com
24 Plätze (ab 14 Jahre)

WORKSHOP 2 (zweimal angeboten)
Blocking the Sound – Ein Workshop zu akustischer Gewalt und Alltagsgegenständen, mit Soundwalk

Zeitraum: Donnerstag, 12.09.2019 und Freitag, 13.09.2019, jeweils 15:00 – 18:00 Uhr

„Blocking the sound“ ist eine Workshop-Serie über Gewalt durch Klang. Dieser Workshop betrachtet das Laufen auf dem Gehweg als privilegierte Handlung. Daher beginnt der Workshop mit einem Soundwalk, währenddessen die Teilnehmer*innen über das Thema nachdenken können. Ein gebräuchlicher Schutz vor akustischer Gewalt während des Gehens ist die Verwendung von Kopfhörern. Im Rahmen des Workshops werden die Teilnehmer*innen aufgefordert, verschiedene Kopfhörer aus recyceltem Material zu entwerfen.

Sprache in Englisch und Deutsch
Leiterin: Banu Çiçek Tülü, Berlin
20 Plätze (ab 12 Jahre)

WORKSHOP 3 (2-tägig)
Design Utopia

Zeitraum: Samstag, 14.09. – Sonntag, 15.09.2019, 10:00 – 18:00 Uhr

Mehrheitsentscheide, Geheimdienste, parlamentarische Hinter­zimmer, stimmlose Stadtteilräte – all das ist Teil von Demokratie. Demokratie bedeutet immer auch der Verweis auf eine höhere Instanz, die das Leben regelt. Es geht um Hierarchie. Wie wäre eine Gesellschaft organisiert, die sich basis-demokratisch versteht? Wir schlagen vor: Eine Übung in sozialen Utopien, ein Gegenentwurf! Neben theoretischen Erkundungen versuchen wir uns in Selbstorganisation.

Leiter*innen:
HEFT = Ina Römling & Torben Körschkes, Hamburg und Caroline Kapp, München
20 Plätze (ab 16 Jahren)

WORKSHOP 4 (3-tägig)
Vorbereitungscamp für eine Öffentliche Gestaltungsberatung (mit Probetraining)

Zeitraum: Dienstag 17.09. – Donnerstag, 19.09.2019, jeweils 14:00 – 17:00 Uhr

Die Öffentliche Gestaltungsberatung bietet niedrigschwellige und kostenlose Unterstützung für die gestalterische Auseinandersetzung mit Alltagsproblemen. Sie arbeitet mit und für Menschen, die sich sonst kein professionelles Design leisten können. Die Gestaltungsberatung wurde bereits mehrfach an unterschiedlichen Orten mit je unterschiedlichen Projektpartner*innen erprobt. Anspruch ist dabei immer, gestalterische Auseinandersetzungen nicht um fiktive, sondern um wirkliche Probleme zu führen. Nach einer theoretischen Einführung wird an praktischen Umsetzungsfragen u.a. durch Stadterkundungen gearbeitet. Der Workshop schließt mit Übungen zur Gestaltungsberatung ab.
www.gestaltungsberatung.org,
howto.gestaltungsberatung.org

Leiter*innen:
Öffentliche Gestaltungsberatung der Hochschule für bildende Künste Hamburg (HFBK)
www.design.hfbk-hamburg.de
15 Plätze (ab 14 Jahren)