Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel


Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel


Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel



Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel


Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel


Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel


Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel


Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel


Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel


wa_01_MB_108
Werner Aisslinger, Hemp Chair, 2011, Photo: Michel Bonvin


WA_05_SWING-SOFA1_Vitra
Werner Aisslinger, Nicole Losos, Swing Sofa, 2012, Photo: Vitra


WA_03_chair_farm_9_JL
Werner Aisslinger, Chair Farm, 2012, Photo: Julian Lechner


SONY DSC
Werner Aisslinger, Chair Farm, 2012, Photo: Julian Lechner


Press conference: November 10, 2016, 11 a.m.
Opening: November 10, 2016, 7 p.m.
Duration: November 11, 2016 – September 17, 2017
Location: Paternoster Hall

 
Award-winning product designer Werner Aisslinger (born 1964 in Nördlingen, lives in Berlin) has been invited to create a site-specific installation for the Paternoster Hall at Pinakothek der Moderne.
 
This new format, scheduled in each case for 10 months, expands the idea of a temporary exhibition and alters the image of Die Neue Sammlung. Following on from Konstantin Grcic, Werner Aisslinger is the second renown designer to explore the two-story hall, which can be viewed from a gallery and is characterized by two Paternoster elevators. He continues, with the contents of his own works, the discourse kindled about displays and museums.
 
Werner Aisslinger’s practice is based on the idea of material transfers and the question of what living and working in tomorrow’s world will be like. On the one hand, social changes are influencing people’s living needs, while on the other an ever-increasing volume of new materials with enormous potential are being marketed, which have their origins in the automotive industry, medicine, and the bio-sciences. Werner Aisslinger responds to these challenges with his objects used directly in living and working environments. He is known for his striking, unconventional solutions for product design and interior architecture. Ecological structures, sustainability issues, and practical aspects play the main role in the development and production process for his objects.
 
For Die Neue Sammlung, Werner Aisslinger converts the Paternoster Hall into a lively “House of Wonders”. The Paternoster elevators are part of a new temporary architecture, which offers fluctuating living and working situations. Micro-farming projects dispersed around the building exemplify how the production of food and furniture can be adapted to individual requirements. Connecting analogue and decorative designs with digital technology, robots, and drones more and more implemented into our daily lives, Werner Aisslinger is questioning the bond between big data and user behavior in terms of aesthetics and emotions.
 
The visionary concept of living, paired with the idea of mobility and system, is transferred to the outdoor area of the Pinakothek der Moderne: situated on the south-eastern site of the museum’s building, the Loftcube is conceived as a mobile working space and flexible living unit in one. Belonging to Aisslinger’s most important designs it will be accessible to the public by the end of November as a satellite of the exhibition within the context of the acompanying program.
 
Werner Aisslinger has received numerous design awards in international competitions, among them A&W Designer of the Year 2014, Design Plus Award, Federal Product Design Award, FX Award UK, German Design Award, Good Design Award, IF Product Design Gold, Premio Compasso d’Oro, and Red Dot Design Award – Best of the Best.
 
The exhibition will be accompanied by a catalogue that will be published in 2017 by Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König.
 
Supported by PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V.
 
With thanks to the magazines Domus and H.O.M.E.
 
For their cooperation thanks to
Alfa-Zeta, Axor / Hansgrohe, BASF, Berker, B.lux, Cappellini, Conmoto, CIAV, DeSede, Flötotto, Foscarini, FSB, Gerber, IC Berlin, Infarm, Kaldewei, Knit Knit, Kvadrat, L’Abbate, Lema, Loftcube, Lorenz, Magis, Moroso, Osram, Piure, Pom Berlin, Porro, TheGreenEyl, Triggerbangbang, Vitra, Zanotta


 

Curator: Dr. Angelika Nollert
Co-curator: Dr. Xenia Riemann
Curatorial assistant: Nadine Engel

 

These images may be used free of charge for editorial reporting on this exhibition, on condition that the credit is clearly and fully indicated (usually: owner, copyright holders and photographer). Download: Move Cursor on your choice and click; start download of High Resolution files with “save as” command.

WERNER AISSLINGER - Deutscher Produktdesigner. 06. September 2014 in Berlin © 2014 Steffen Jänicke Rechte gemaess Vereinbarung APPROVAL Retuschiert - Ready 2 Print
Werner Aisslinger, Porträt,
Photo: Steffen Jänicke


WA_04_CFH1_StudioAisslinger
Werner Aisslinger, Chair Farm, 2012, Photo: Studio Aisslinger

Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Foto: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Foto: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Foto: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Foto: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Foto: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Foto: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Foto: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Foto: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Photo: Anna Seibel
Werner Aisslinger. House of Wonders. Foto: Anna Seibel
wa_01_MB_108
Werner Aisslinger, Hemp Chair, 2011,
Foto: Michel Bonvin
WA_05_SWING-SOFA1_Vitra
Werner Aisslinger, Nicole Losos, Swing Sofa, 2012, Foto: Vitra
WA_03_chair_farm_9_JL
Werner Aisslinger, Chair Farm, 2012, Foto: Julian Lechner
SONY DSC
Werner Aisslinger, Chair Farm, 2012, Foto: Julian Lechner
Pressekonferenz: 10.11.2016, 11:00
Eröffnung: 10.11.2016, 19:00
Es sprechen:
Werner Aisslinger
Dr. Angelika Nollert (Direktorin, Die Neue Sammlung)
Ausstellungsdauer: 11.11.2016 – 17.09.2017
 
Der vielfach ausgezeichnete Produktdesigner Werner Aisslinger (*1964 in Nördlingen, lebt in Berlin) war eingeladen, für die Paternoster-Halle der Pinakothek der Moderne eine ortsspezifische Installation zu entwickeln.
 
Dieses neue, auf jeweils zehn Monate angelegte Format erweitert die Idee einer temporären Ausstellung und verändert das Bild der Neuen Sammlung. Werner Aisslinger ist – nach Konstantin Grcic – die zweite Designpersönlichkeit, die sich mit der doppelstöckigen und von einer Galerie einsehbaren sowie durch zwei Paternoster-Aufzüge charakterisierten Halle auseinandersetzt und so mit den Inhalten seiner eigenen Arbeiten den Diskurs über Display und Museum fortführt.
 
Werner Aisslingers Praxis basiert auf der Idee des Materialtransfers sowie auf der Frage, wie das Leben und Arbeiten von morgen aussieht. Zum einen beeinflussen gesellschaftliche Veränderungen die Wohnbedürfnisse der Menschen, zum anderen kommen immer mehr neue Materialien mit großem Potential auf den Markt, die aus Bereichen der Autoindustrie, der Medizin oder den Biowissenschaften stammen. Werner Aisslinger antwortet mit seinen Objekten des unmittelbaren Wohn- und Arbeitsumfeldes auf diese Herausforderungen. Er ist bekannt durch seine auffälligen und unkonventionellen Lösungen für Produktdesign und Innenarchitektur. Ökologische Strukturen, Themen der Nachhaltigkeit und praktische Aspekte spielen im Entwicklungs- und Herstellungsprozess seiner Objekte die Hauptrolle.
 
Für Die Neue Sammlung verwandelt Werner Aisslinger die Paternoster-Halle in ein lebendiges „House of Wonders“. Die Paternoster-Aufzüge werden Teil einer neuen temporären Architektur aus Pop-Up-Modulen, die veränderliche Wohn- und Arbeitssituationen vorschlägt. Sie wird umgeben von „Micro-Farming“-Projekten, die eine auf den individuellen Bedarf ausgerichtete Produktion von Nahrung und Möbeln vorstellen. Der auch im Alltag wachsende Einsatz von digitaler Technologie, Roboter und Drohne verbindet sich mit einer analogen dekorativen Gestaltung, die das Verhältnis von Big Data und seiner Nutzer auch unter Aspekten der Ästhetik und Emotion prüft.
 
Im Außenbereich der Pinakothek der Moderne setzt sich die architektonische Wohnvision mit dem Gedanken von Mobilität und System fort: Auf der südöstlichen Seite präsentiert sich ab Ende November der Loftcube, der als mobiler Arbeitsplatz und flexible Wohneinheit konzipiert ist. Er wird als Satellit der Ausstellung im Rahmen des Begleitprogramms für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich sein und gehört zu den bedeutendsten Entwürfen Werner Aisslingers.
 
Werner Aisslinger erhielt zahlreiche Designpreise internationaler Wettbewerbe, darunter A&W-Designer of the Year 2014, Design Plus Award, FX Award UK, German Design Award, Good Design Award, IF Product Design Gold, Premio Compasso d’Oro sowie Red Dot Design Award – Best of the Best.
 
Die Ausstellung wird von einer Publikation begleitet, die 2017 im Verlag der Buchhandlung Walther König erscheint und in Anwesenheit von Werner Aisslinger, Walther König und Mirko Borsche vorgestellt wird.
Ein vielfältiges Begleitprogramm mit einem Designer’s Talk und zahlreichen Führungen lädt ein, die Ausstellung unter verschiedenen Aspekten kennenzulernen.
 
Gefördert durch PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V.
Mit Dank an die Magazine Domus und H.O.M.E.
Mit Unterstützung von Alfa-Zeta, Axor / Hansgrohe, BASF, Berker, B.lux, Cappellini, Conmoto, CIAV, DeSede, Flötotto, Foscarini, FSB, Gerber, IC Berlin, Infarm, Kaldewei, Knit Knit, Kvadrat, L’Abbate, Lema, Loftcube, Lorenz, Magis, Moroso, Osram, Piure, Pom Berlin, Porro, TheGreenEyl, Triggerbangbang, Vitra, Zanotta
 
Kuratorin: Dr. Angelika Nollert
Co-Kuratorin: Dr. Xenia Riemann
Kuratorische Assistenz: Nadine Engel
 
Diese Abbildungen dürfen nur im Zuge der aktuellen Berichterstattung zur Ausstellung honorar- und genehmigungsfrei verwendet werden, sofern der Urhebervermerk korrekt und vollständig angegeben wird (meist: Eigentümer, Copyright Holder, Fotograf). Download: Cursor bitte auf das jeweilige Motiv und anklicken; den download der High Resolution Daten mit “speichern unter” Befehl starten.
WERNER AISSLINGER - Deutscher Produktdesigner. 06. September 2014 in Berlin © 2014 Steffen Jänicke Rechte gemaess Vereinbarung APPROVAL Retuschiert - Ready 2 Print
Werner Aisslinger, Porträt, Foto: Steffen Jänicke
WA_04_CFH1_StudioAisslinger
Werner Aisslinger, Chair Farm, 2012, Foto: Studio Aisslinger