Ikko Tanaka (1930-2002) is still considered one of Japan’s most influential graphic designers. He founded his studio in Tokyo in 1963 and a year later he took part in documenta 3.
His diverse oeuvre ranges from book designs and typographic experiments via art direction for companies like Seibu, Mazda and Shiseido, to logos and exhibition designs, through to the concept for no-name design store Muji. Outside Japan, he is best know for his posters, designed for theater and dance productions, exhibitions and other cultural events, social and environmental issues, but also for font foundries and fashion designers. The selection draws a distilled picture of the manifold aspects in Ikko Tanaka’s poster oeuvre.
 
His style can be described as forceful and clear, expressive and harmonious, boldly abstract and sublime, deceptively simple. A fresh take on Japanese aesthetics is clearly identifiable, as are western sources of inspiration, including the Bauhaus. East meets West, as one of his books about Issey Miyake was titled, also applied to the activities of Ikko Tanaka, who always saw himself as a mediator between Japanese culture and the west.
 
A joint project of Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum – and Neues Museum, Nuremberg
October 27, 2017 to February 18, 2018
 
Introduction: December 7, 2017, 18:00 
Dr. Corinna Rösner, Die Neue Sammlung 
Dr. Mariko Takagi, associate professor, Doshisha Women’s College of Liberal Arts, Kyoto
In cooperation with DNP Foundation for Cultural Promotion, Tokyo
 
Parallel to this presentation – from October 27, 2017 to February 18, 2018 – Neues Museum is staging the exhibition On the Art of Building a Teahouse. Excursions into Japanese aesthetics, which also includes several loans from the collection of Die Neue Sammlung.
Exhibition view. Ikko Tanaka. Posters from Japan
Exhibition view. Ikko Tanaka. Posters from Japan

Ikko Tanaka (1930-2002) gilt bis heute als einer der einflussreichsten japanischen Grafikdesigner.
1963 gründete er sein Studio in Tokio; 1964 nahm er an der Documenta 3 teil.
Sein vielfältiges Werk reicht von Buchgestaltung und typografischen Experimenten über Art Direction für Unternehmen wie Seibu, Mazda oder Shiseido, Logos und Ausstellungsgestaltung bis zur Konzeption des No-Name-Design Warenhauses Muji. International bekannt wurden vor allem seine Plakate, entworfen für Theater, Tanz, Ausstellungen und andere kulturelle Ereignisse, soziale und Umweltthemen, aber auch für Schriftenhersteller und Modeschöpfer.
 
In konzentrierter Auswahl fokussiert die Ausstellung unterschiedlichste Aspekte im Plakatwerk von Ikko Tanaka.
Kraftvoll und klar, expressiv und harmonisch, kühn abstrahierend und sublim, täuschend einfach – so läßt sich sein Stil umschreiben. In die Gegenwart übersetzte japanische Ästhetik ist ebenso unübersehbar wie westliche Inspirationen, etwa durch das Bauhaus. „East meets West“ – wie eines seiner Bücher über Issey Miyake hieß – gilt auch für das Wirken von Ikko Tanaka, der sich stets als Vermittler zwischen japanischer Kultur und dem Westen verstand.
 
Eine Kooperation der Neuen Sammlung – The Design Museum – mit Neues Museum, Nürnberg
 
Vortrag:
Dr. Mariko Takagi: Ikko Tanaka – die Symbiose traditioneller japanischer Ästhetik mit der modernen typografischen Gestaltung
Donnerstag 07.12.2017, 18:00

Staatliches Museum für Kunst und Design Nürnberg, Klarissenplatz, 90402 Nürnberg
 
Parallel zu dieser Präsentation zeigt das Neue Museum vom 27. Oktober 2017 bis 18. Februar 2018 die Ausstellung Von der Kunst, ein Teehaus zu bauen. Exkursionen in die japanische Ästhetik , in der Die Neue Sammlung mit diversen Leihgaben vertreten ist.
 
Blick in die Präsentation. Ikko Tanaka. Plakate aus Japan
Blick in die Präsentation. Ikko Tanaka. Plakate aus Japan
Ikko Tanaka. Plakate aus Japan
27.10.2017 – 18.02.2018

Staatliches Museum für Kunst und Design, Klarissenplatz, 90402 Nürnberg