FUTURO
A Flying Saucer in Town
 
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
Press conference: May 30, 2017, 11 a.m.
Opening: June 1, 2017, 7 p.m.
To be attended by State Minister Dr. Ludwig Spaenle
Silent Disco with Mirko Hecktor
(Knuggles Rec. / 1/2 Project01 / Mjunik Disco)
60ies Bar
 
Installation of temporary exhibition premises:
The FUTURO building by Matti Suuronen, initially designed in 1968
 
Die Neue Sammlung is paying tribute to the icon of the space age with a presentation in an outdoor space at Pinakothek der Moderne of the FUTURO, designed by Finnish architect Matti Suuronen in 1965-7 and originally intended as a ski lodge.
 
Ellipsoid in shape, the FUTURO definitely epitomizes the future visions of the 1960s, in which visionary designs focused on new materials for mobile living environments. Driven by a faith in science and technology and in the conquest of space, the FUTURO symbolizes the striving in that era for new, functional, efficient and mass-producible forms of housing.
 
With a diameter of eight meters and an overall height of just under six meters the building offers around 25 m² of living space which can be heated by electricity in less than 30 minutes. The building rests on a stable tubular steel frame. It has been designed so that it can even be erected on rough terrain and can withstand not only extreme temperatures, but also earthquakes and storms. The door doubles up as fold-out stairs similar to those on small private jets, and these can be used to access FUTURO, which seemingly floats on its steel base.
 
FUTURO was manufactured by Finnish company Polykem Ltd. as one of the world’s first mass-produced plastic houses and marketed internationally. Its walls are made of fiberglass-reinforced polyester shells with a sandwich layer of polyurethane foam providing insulation. In order to make assembly and dismantling easier, the house was manufactured in 16 arc segments which could be assembled on site in the space of only two days. A total of 16 double-glazed windows afford a panoramic view right round. There are unfortunately no records of how many FUTURO houses were sold in total. At a conservative estimate there were originally around 70 of them, of which around 60 are still in existence today.
 
The FUTURO house was acquired in 2016 for Die Neue Sammlung and it is now on show for the first time after comprehensive restoration work. Apart from a continuous bench right round, its circular, open-plan room boasts no interior fittings. The FUTURO house in Munich was initially purchased by Stiebel Eltron in the early 1970s and erected on the company site in Vlotho. It was subsequently acquired by the Charles-Wilp-Museum in Witten in 2012. From there, it has moved to Munich. In the 1970s, artist, graphic designer and composer Wilp owned a FUTURO house which was wrapped by Christo in 1970 and in which artists such as Andy Warhol, Claes Oldenbourg and Joseph Beuys guested; it has not, unfortunately, survived.
Curated by Dipl. Rest. Univ. Tim Bechthold, Dr. Caroline Fuchs and Dr. Angelika Nollert
 
PROGRAM
The FUTURO is open to the public during special opening hours, guided tours (limited numbers of participants) as well as for special events.
There will be an extensive program acccompanying the presentation of the FUTURO in Munich. Spread across the year, the program satellites will address the building and future visions in design, film, literature, music and performance.
 
SATELLITES
 
“Yesterday’s Tomorrow”
Film series on the topic of future visions and sci-fi
In collaboration with HFF – Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film Munich
Friday, February 9, 2018 to Sunday February 11, 2018

 
FUTURO 50|50
in cooperation with the Dept. of Industrial Design at Technical University of Munich

Duration of the exhibition at FUTURO: Friday, March 3, 2018 to Sunday, March 18, 2018
Presentation of the designs: Tuesday, March 6, 2018


 
To mark the 50th anniversary of the FUTURO, students of the Master’s programs in Industrial Design and Architecture at the Technical University of Munich are presenting their visions of a FUTURO house that could arise another 50 years on. What requirements, uses and forms of transportation, social currents and design guidelines will the FUTURO have to meet in 2068? The designs that are being created as part of a course in the 2017-8 Winter Semester will be exhibited during the mcbw 2018 in the FUTURO House and be presented on March 6, 2018 in the Siemens Auditorium in Pinakothek der Moderne.
 
Further satellites will take place with Sarah Dorkenwald, the Design Academy Eindhoven, and the Chair of Geodesy at the Technical University of Munich. For further information see http://dnstdm.de/en/
 
The exhibition is sponsored by PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V. and KONEN
 
Media Cooperation: Bayern 2 Zündfunk
 
Further information:
Dipl. Rest. Univ. Tim Bechthold
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
Tel.: +49 (0)89 272725-0
E-mail: bechthold@die-neue-sammlung.de
 
Dr. Caroline Fuchs
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
Tel.: +49 (0)89 272725-0
E-mail: fuchs@die-neue-sammlung.de
 
Tine Nehler M.A. | Head of PR & Communications
Pinakotheken im Kunstareal | Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
Kunstareal | Barer Strasse 29 | 80799 Munich, Germany
Tel.: +49 (0)89 23805-122 | Fax: +49 (0)89 23805-125
E-mail: presse@pinakothek.de
 
These images may be used free of charge for editorial reporting on this exhibition, on condition that the credit is clearly and fully indicated (usually: owner, copyright holders and photographer). Download: Move Cursor on your choice and click; start download of High Resolution files with “save as” command.



FUTURO Haus © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum


FUTURO Haus © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum


FUTURO Haus © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum




FUTURO Haus © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum


FUTURO Haus © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum


FUTURO Haus © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (T. Jackson)


FUTURO Haus © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (T. Jackson)


© Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


© Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)


© Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)



The FUTURO house at the Internationale Kunststoffhausausstellung (IKA) in Lüdenscheidt 1972. © Stadtarchiv Lüdenscheid, Bildsammlung, Werner Silla


Olotila FUTURO leaflet, detail, 1968-1969, Originally published by Polykem Oy Ab, producer of the FUTURO house. © Matti Suuronen, Espoo City Museum


Olotila FUTURO leaflet, detail, 1968-1969, Originally published by Polykem Oy Ab, producer of the FUTURO house.
© Matti Suuronen, Espoo City Museum



FUTURO houses on a mountain, late 1960s. The photo was taken with scale models of the house. © Matti Suuronen, Espoo City Museum, photo: unknown


Parts of the FUTURO during the disassenbly at Witten © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum


Assembly of the FUTURO in front of the Pinakothek der Moderne © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)



FUTURO. Detail © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum

FUTURO
A Flying Saucer in Town
 
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
Pressekonferenz: 30.05.2017, 11:00
Eröffnung: 01.06.2017, 19:00
in Anwesenheit von Staatsminister Dr. Ludwig Spaenle
Ausstellungsdauer: 02.06.2017 – 03.06.2018
 
In einer Präsentation im Außenbereich der Pinakothek der Moderne würdigt Die Neue Sammlung die Design-Ikone des Space-Age: das 1965-67 vom finnischen Architekten Matti Suuronen entwickelte und ursprünglich als Skihütte konzipierte Kunststoffhaus FUTURO.
 
In Form eines Ellipsoides gestaltet, verkörpert das FUTURO die Zukunftsvisionen der 1960er Jahre, in denen neue Materialien im Zentrum visionärer Entwürfe von mobilen Lebensräumen standen. Geprägt von Zuversicht in Wissenschaft und Technik sowie die Eroberung des Weltraums, symbolisiert das FUTURO das Streben nach neuen, funktionalen, effizienten und massenproduzierbaren Behausungen dieser Zeit.
 
Mit einem Durchmesser von acht Metern und einer Gesamthöhe von knapp sechs Metern bietet das Gebäude eine ca. 25 m² große Wohnfläche, die in weniger als 30 Minuten mit Strom beheizt werden kann. Das Gebäude ruht auf einem stabilen Stahlrohrgestell. Seine Ausführung ist so gestaltet, dass das Haus auch in unwegsamem Gelände aufgebaut werden kann und extremen Temperaturen genauso standhält wie Erdbeben oder Stürmen. Die Tür fungiert gleichzeitig als ausklappbare Treppe, ähnlich jener von kleinen Privat-Jets, über die man das auf seinem Stahlfundament schwebende FUTURO betritt.
 
Das FUTURO wurde von der finnischen Firma Polykem Ltd. als eines der ersten serienproduzierten Kunststoffhäuser der Geschichte hergestellt und international vertrieben. Seine Wände bestehen aus mit Glasfaser verstärkten Polyesterschalen, die eine Isolierung aus Polyurethan-Schaum sandwichartig umfassen. Um den Auf- und Abbau zu erleichtern, wurde es in 16 Kreissegmenten hergestellt, die vor Ort innerhalb von zwei Tagen zusammengebaut werden konnten. 16 doppelt verglaste Fenster bieten einen Panoramablick. Es existieren leider keine Aufzeichnungen, wie viele FUTURO-Häuser insgesamt verkauft wurden. Eine konservative Schätzung geht von ca. 70 Exemplaren aus, von denen heute ca. 60 erhaltene Häuser bekannt sind.
 
Das Münchner FUTURO-Haus konnte 2016 für Die Neue Sammlung erworben werden und wird nun nach einer umfassenden Restaurierung zum ersten Mal gezeigt. Der kreisrunde, nicht unterteilte Raum enthält, abgesehen von einer umlaufenden Bank, keine Inneneinrichtung. Das Münchener Exemplar des FUTURO wurde zunächst in den frühen 1970er-Jahren von Stiebel Eltron gekauft und auf dem Firmengelände in Vlotho errichtet. 2012 erwarb es das Charles-Wilp-Museum in Witten. Von dort aus gelangte es nun nach München. Der Künstler, Grafikdesigner und Komponist Wilp hatte in den 1970er-Jahren ein leider nicht erhaltenes FUTURO besessen, das Christo 1970 verpackt hatte und in dem Künstler wie Andy Warhol, Claes Oldenbourg und Yves Klein zu Gast gewesen waren.
 
Kuratiert von:
Dipl. Rest. Univ. Tim Bechthold
Dr. des. Caroline Fuchs
Dr. Angelika Nollert
 
PROGRAMM:
Das Haus ist im Rahmen von Führungen (begrenzte Teilnehmerzahl) und Sonderveranstaltungen für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Mehrere „Programm-Satelliten“ begleiten die Präsentation des FUTURO in München.
 
SATELLITEN
„Alles, was Sie schon immer über das FUTURO wissen wollten“ Vortragsreihe mit vier ExpertInnen
Sonntag, 23. Juli 2017, 11:00 – 13:00 und 14:00 – 16:00
Ernst von Siemens-Auditorium
 
SPRECHER:
Dr. Elke Genzel und Dr. Pamela Voigt (Leipzig):
Geträumte Zukunft. Pioniere der Kunststoffarchitektur
Cora Geißler (Berlin):
Das Leben mit dem FUTURO-Haus. Roadtrip zu den FUTUROS in der Welt
Marko Home (Helsinki):
FUTURO World
Dipl. Rest. Univ. Tim Bechthold (Die Neue Sammlung, München):
Keep Watching the Skies. A Flying Saucer Comes to Town
 
„Yesterday’s Tomorrow“
Filmreihe zum Thema Zukunftsvisionen und Science Fiction
Kooperation mit der HFF – Hochschule für Fernsehen und Film München
Freitag, 09. Februar 2018 bis Sonntag, 11. Februar 2018
 
„Happy Birthday, dear FUTURO“
50 Jahre Visionen im Design
Mai 2018
 
Es sind weitere Satelliten geplant, unter anderem mit Markus Acher, Sarah Dorkenwald, Thomas Meinecke, Andreas Neumeister, Louise Schouwenberg, dem Lehrstuhl für Geodäsie der TU München sowie dem Lehrstuhl für Industrial Design der TU München. Das Programm wird in Kürze bekannt gegeben.
 
SOCIAL MEDIA AKTION
„Gestalte Dein Haus der Zukunft“
Parallel zur Aufstellung des FUTURO Hauses vor der Pinakothek der Moderne laden wir die Instagram Comunity ein, ihre Entwürfe und Ideen zum Wohnen der Zukunft mit uns zu teilen.
Hashtag #futuroMUC
 
Medienkooperation: Bayern 2 Zündfunk
 
Die Ausstellung wird gefördert durch PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V. und KONEN.
 
Weitere Informationen:
Dipl. Rest. Univ. Tim Bechthold
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
T +49 (0)89 272725-0
E-Mail: bechthold@die-neue-sammlung.de
 
Dr. des. Caroline Fuchs
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
T +49 (0)89 272725-0
E-Mail: fuchs@die-neue-sammlung.de
 
Tine Nehler M.A.
Leitung Presse & Kommunikation Pinakotheken im Kunstareal | Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen Kunstareal | Barer Straße 29 | 80799 München
T +49 (0)89 23805-122 | F +49 (0)89 23805-125
E-Mail: presse@pinakothek.de
 
Diese Abbildungen dürfen nur im Zuge der aktuellen Berichterstattung zur Ausstellung honorar- und genehmigungsfrei verwendet werden, sofern der Urhebervermerk korrekt und vollständig angegeben wird (meist: Eigentümer, Copyright Holder, Fotograf). Download: Cursor bitte auf das jeweilige Motiv und anklicken; den download der High Resolution Daten mit “speichern unter” Befehl starten.
Das FUTURO auf der Internationalen Kunststoffhausausstellung (IKA) in Lüdenscheidt 1972 © Stadtarchiv Lüdenscheid, Bildsammlung, Werner Silla
Olotila FUTURO Broschüre, Detail, 1968-1969, veröffentlicht von Polykem Oy Ab, dem Hersteller des FUTURO-Hauses.
© Matti Suuronen, Espoo City Museum
Olotila FUTURO Broschüre, Detail, 1968-1969, veröffentlicht von Polykem Oy Ab, dem Hersteller des FUTURO Hauses.
© Matti Suuronen, Espoo City Museum
FUTURO-Häuser an einem Berghang, späte 1960er Jahre. Das Foto wurde mit maßstabgetreuen Modellen des FUTURO aufgenommen. © Matti Suuronen, Espoo City Museum, Foto: unbekannt
Teile des FUTURO beim Abbau in Witten © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
Der Aufbau des FUTURO vor der Pinakothek der Moderne
© Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)
FUTURO. Detail © Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum