Explosion and chaos – or Land of the Morning Calm? Design in South Korea oscillates between these extremes. With selected objects Die Neue Sammlung is presenting design, handicrafts and posters from South Korea for the first time, beginning with the 1980s. In South Korea design encompasses both craftwork and the design of industrial products, which enjoy great prestige in a country that has advanced from the poverty of the post-War era to become an industrialized nation.
 
The Korean approach to arts and crafts was initially characterized by the search for simple beauty in an everyday product. As such, the sublime simplicity of Korean porcelain objects is just as fascinating as the gently flowing forms of metal vessels. Delicate pieces of jewelry made of unusual materials and handcrafted to perfection lead the way into another dimension, hitherto unparalleled in terms of its innovativeness. Since the “Frankfurt Declaration” (1992) and its call for more “quality over quantity,” this caliber has also come to bear precisely in industrial production and has helped make South Korea a leading culture in Asia today. And that applies to cameras by Samsung and cell phones by LG just as much as to luminaires by Ramun and automobiles by Kia, with their famous “tiger nose.” Yet “Made in Korea” is nowhere to be read; Korean products are only recognizable at second glance – instead it is often brand names that stand for K-design.
 
K-Pop, K-style, K-film – the so-called Korean Wave has reached not only all of Asia, but also the West. Yet cultural trends go in both directions, and Korean graphic design is exposed not only to Pop art and comics, but also the Bauhaus and Swiss typography. Contemporary Korean posters show this influence particularly impressively and vividly. This is the first exhibition in Europe devoted specially to this area. Some 100 works from 25 graphic artists and studios from South Korea outline the heterogeneous trends in evidence, from experiments with Hangul typography and 3D rendering to an adoption of the style of the 1970s or 1980s … explosion?
The range of assignments encompasses cultural posters for art and design exhibitions, film festivals and performing arts as well as announcements of books, magazines and record markets and posters for music groups, clubs and fashion designers. Alongside in-house commissions for poster competitions we find works relating to humanitarian matters and political protest – e.g. by Na Kim (b. 1979), Bohuy Kim (b. 1985) and the studio Ordinary People – as well as environmental protection and initiatives against excessive urban development, for instance by the designers of Everyday Practice.
The exhibition presents typographical poetry by the great Hangul reformer Sang-Soo Ahn (b. 1952) and abstract and conceptual design approaches, for example by Chris Ro (b. 1976), Byung-rok Chae (b. 1981) and Dohyung Kim (b. 1974). Moreover, it features 2D/3D transformations (Hoon-dong Chung, b. 1970), type posters (Goo-ryong Kang, b. 1982), surreal fantasies (Byoung-il Sun, b. 1958) and the large, multi-award-winning screenprints by Kum-jun Park (b. 1983), showcasing their technical and creative refinement.
 
Exhibition participants:
 
Joo Hyun Ahn – Sang-Soo Ahn – Byung-rok Chae – Joonghyun Cho – Eun Mi Chun- Hoon-Dong Chung – DAEKI & JUN / Daeki Shim, Hyojun Shim – EVERYDAY PRACTICE / Jonghoo Kwon, Kyung-chul Kim, Eojin Kim – Frogdesign / Hartmut Esslinger – GOLDEN TREE / Namoo Kim, Hyojin An – Minjae Huh – Kap-Sun Hwang – JIN & PARK / Dallae Jin, Woohyuk Park – Jin Jung / therewhere – Junwon Jung – Goo-Ryong Kang – Kia / Peter Schreyer – Bohuy Kim – Dohyung Kim – Dong-Hyun Kim – KIMGARDEN / Yunho Lee, Kangin Kim – Na Kim – Sangwoo Kim – Dongchun Lee – Jaemin Lee – LG Corporate Design Center / Kang Heui-cha, Seung Chui Cho – Richard Meier – Alessandro Mendini – ORDINARY PEOPLE / Jin Kang, Jeong-min Seo, Se-yong Ahn, Jae-ha Lee, In-jee Jeong etc. – Kum-jun Park / 601Bisang – Shinwoo Park / paper press – F. A. Porsche Design – Chris Ro / ADearFriend – Dokho Shin – Samsung Electronics Corporate Design Center / Kwang-ha Choi, Sang-min Hyun, Hyoungshin Park, Sangmin Hyun – SULKI & MIN / Sulki Choi, Min Choi – Byoung-il Sun – WORKROOM / Kyeong-soo Lee, Yong-wan Jeon, Hyung-jin Kim, Seogwon Hwang – Mingoo Yoon – Sol Yoon – Myung-sang Yu
 
Korean Poster: Guide/Map/Overview (PDF)
 
Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich
04.03.2017 – 18.06.2017
Presentation view. Kum-Jun Park = 601Bisang. Four poster series “Digilog“, 2012. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Presentation view. Alessandro Mendini. Table lamp “Amuleto“, 2010. Manufacturer: Daeyoung One for Ramun. Photo: A. Laurenzo

Explosion und Chaos – oder Land der Morgenstille? Zwischen diesen Extremen oszilliert Design in Südkorea. Mit ausgewählten Objekten zeigt Die Neue Sammlung erstmals Design, Kunsthandwerk und Plakate aus Südkorea, beginnend mit den 1980er Jahren.
Unter Design versteht man in Korea sowohl Kunsthandwerk als auch die Gestaltung von Industrieprodukten, die hohes Ansehen in einem Land genießen, das sich von der Armut der Nachkriegszeit zum Industriestaat entwickelt hat. Die Suche nach der einfachen Schönheit in einem alltäglichen Produkt zeichnete zunächst den koreanischen Weg im Kunsthandwerk aus. So fasziniert die sublime Einfachheit koreanischer Porzellanobjekte gleichermaßen wie die sanft dahinfließenden Formen von Metallgefäßen. Zarte, aus ungewöhnlichen Materialien und in hoher handwerklicher Perfektion gearbeitete Schmuckobjekte führen in eine andere Dimension, die aufgrund ihrer Innovation bislang ihresgleichen sucht. Eine Qualität, die seit der „Frankfurter Deklaration“ (1992) und ihrem Aufruf zu mehr „Klasse statt Masse“ ihre Umsetzung auch und gerade in der industriellen Fertigung fand und dazu beigetragen hat, dass Korea heute zu einer Leitkultur Asiens geworden ist. Egal ob es sich dabei um Kameras von Samsung und Mobiltelefone von LG handelt, um Leuchten von Ramun oder Automobile von Kia mit ihrer berühmten „Tiger-Nose“. Doch „Made in Korea“ liest man nicht; koreanische Produkte sind erst auf den zweiten Blick erkennbar – stattdessen sind es eher die Markennamen, die für das K-Design stehen.
 
K-Pop, K-Style, K-Film – die sogenannte Koreanische Welle hat nicht nur ganz Asien, sondern auch den Westen erreicht. Jedoch gehen die kulturellen Strömungen in beide Richtungen, und das koreanische Graphikdesign rezipiert nicht nur Pop Art und Comics, sondern auch Bauhaus und Schweizer Typographie. Zeitgenössische koreanische Plakate zeigen dies besonders eindrucksvoll und lebendig. Erstmals in Europa widmet sich eine Ausstellung speziell diesem Bereich. Rund 100 Arbeiten von 25 Grafikern und Studios aus Korea skizzieren das Bild der heterogenen Tendenzen von Experimenten mit der koreanischen Hangul-Typographie oder 3D-Renderings bis zum Aufgreifen des Stils der 70er- und 80er-Jahre … Explosion?
Das Spektrum der Aufgaben umfaßt Kulturplakate für Kunst- und Design-Ausstellungen, Film-Festivals und Performing Arts ebenso wie die Ankündigung von Büchern, Magazinen und Schallplatten-Märkten oder Plakate für Musikgruppen, Clubs und Modedesigner. Neben Eigenaufträgen für Plakatwettbewerbe stehen humanitäre Anliegen und politischer Protest – wie bei Na Kim (*1979), Bohuy Kim (*1985) und dem Studio Ordinary People –, Umweltschutz und Initiativen gegen Auswüchse der Stadtentwicklung, etwa der Designergruppe Everyday Practice.
Die Ausstellung läßt typografische Poesien des großen Hangul-Reformers Sang-Soo Ahn (*1952) entdecken, abstrakte und konzeptuelle Designansätze – so zum Beispiel bei Chris Ro (*1976), Byung-rok Chae (*1981) und Dohyung Kim (*1974) –, 2D-3D-Transformationen (Hoon-Dong Chung *1970) und Type-Design (Goo-Ryong Kang *1982), surreale Phantasien (Byoung-il Sun *1958) und die großformatigen, vielfach ausgezeichneten Siebdrucke von Kum-Jun Park (*1983) mit ihrem drucktechnischen und gestalterischen Raffinement.
 
Designer in der Ausstellung:
Joo Hyun Ahn – Sang-Soo Ahn – Byung-rok Chae – Joonghyun Cho – Eun Mi Chun- Hoon-Dong Chung – DAEKI & JUN / Daeki Shim, Hyojun Shim – EVERYDAY PRACTICE / Jonghoo Kwon, Kyung-chul Kim, Eojin Kim – Frogdesign / Hartmut Esslinger – GOLDEN TREE / Namoo Kim, Hyojin An – Minjae Huh – Kap-Sun Hwang – JIN & PARK / Dallae Jin, Woohyuk Park – Jin Jung / therewhere – Junwon Jung – Goo-Ryong Kang – Kia / Peter Schreyer – Bohuy Kim – Dohyung Kim – Dong-Hyun Kim – KIMGARDEN / Yunho Lee, Kangin Kim – Na Kim – Sangwoo Kim – Dongchun Lee – Jaemin Lee – LG Corporate Design Center / Kang Heui-cha, Seung Chui Cho – Richard Meier – Alessandro Mendini – ORDINARY PEOPLE / Jin Kang, Jeong-min Seo, Se-yong Ahn, Jae-ha Lee, In-jee Jeong etc. – Kum-Jun Park / 601Bisang – Shinwoo Park / paper press – F. A. Porsche Design – Chris Ro / ADearFriend – Dokho Shin – Samsung Electronics Corporate Design Center / Kwang-ha Choi, Sang-min Hyun, Hyoungshin Park, Sangmin Hyun – SULKI & MIN / Sulki Choi, Min Choi – Byoung-il Sun – WORKROOM / Kyeong-soo Lee, Yong-wan Jeon, Hyung-jin Kim, Seogwon Hwang – Mingoo Yoon – Sol Yoon – Myung-sang Yu
 
Korean Poster: Guide/Übersicht (PDF)
 
Pinakothek der Moderne, München
04.03.2017 – 18.06.2017
 

Blick in die Präsentation. Kum-Jun Park = 601Bisang. Vierteilige Plakatserie „Digilog“, 2012. Foto: A. Laurenzo

Blick in die Präsentation. Alessandro Mendini.Tischleuchte „Amuleto“, 2010. Herst. Daeyoung One für Ramun. Foto: A. Laurenzo