Workshop discussion on the design process of chair_ONE

With Konstantin Grcic, designer, Konstantin Grcic Design, Berlin
and Tim Bechthold, Head of Conservation, Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
Moderation: Hubert Filser, science journalist and physicist
 
In August 2013 Konstantin Grcic donated to Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum twentyseven threedimensional models, which – all of them designed between 1999 and 2003 – eventually led to the serial production of the iconic chair_ONE.
 
A workshop discussion with Konstantin Grcic was appointed and soon took place – moderated by Hubert Filser. Its aim was to clarify the chronological sequence of the models and to obtain futher background information on the making-of and the used materials.
 
The aquired information and knowledge of the design process served both as basis for the required conservation measurements as well as for the preparation of the exhibition The Good, The Bad, The Ugly in Pinakothek der Moderne in Munich.
 
The workshop discussion is a bonus of the documentary Konstantin Grcic. Design is Work (Germany, 2017) by Gereon Wetzel.


Konstantin Grcic. Design is Work

Werkstattgespräch zum Entwurfsprozess des chair_ONE
Mit Konstantin Grcic, Designer, Konstantin Grcic Design, Berlin
und Tim Bechthold, Head of Conservation, Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
Moderation: Hubert Filser, Wissenschaftsjournalist und Physiker
 
Im August 2013 schenkte Konstantin Grcic der Neuen Sammlung – The Design Museum siebenundzwanzig dreidimensionale Modelle – alle entworfen zwischen 1999 und 2003 -, die schließlich im Jahr 2004 zur seriellen Fertigung des ikonischen chair_ONE führten.
 
Um die chronologische Abfolge der Modelle zu klären und um weiterführende Hintergrundinformationen zu den verwendeten Materialien und der Anfertigung der Modelle zu bekommen, wurde ein Gespräch mit Konstantin Grcic vereinbart und zeitnah geführt. Moderiert wurde es von Hubert Filser.
 
Die gewonnenen Kenntnisse zum Entwurfsprozess waren sowohl Entscheidungsgrundlage für die notwendigen Konservierungsmaßnahmen, wie auch für die damals in Vorbereitung befindliche Ausstellung The Good, The Bad, The Ugly in der Pinakothek der Moderne.
 
Das gefilmte Werkstattgespräch ist Bonusmaterial zum Dokumentarfilm Konstantin Grcic. Design is Work (Deutschland, 2017) von Gereon Wetzel.
Konstantin Grcic. Design is Work