Hans Theo Baumann
Hans Theo Baumann
2014 © L. Baumann
htb_302
Hans Theo Baumann. On-board tableware for Lufthansa, 1971. Manufacturer: Hutschenreuther-Porzellanfabrik, Selb. Plastic, porcelain. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)
Hans Theo Baumann . Mokka- und Kaffeeservice | mocha and coffee service 13000 „Berlin“, 1956/1957 Hersteller | manufacturer: Rosenthal AG, Selb Porzellan | porcelain Donation des Entwerfers | donation of the designer Foto | photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)
Hans Theo Baumann. Mocha and coffee set 13000 „Berlin“, 1956/1957, porcelain. Manufactuerer: Rosenthal AG, Selb. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)
Farewell to a giant of German post-war design
Hans Theo Baumann is dead. The influential pioneer of German post-War design died on Saturday, August 6, 2016, aged ninety one.
Born in Basel, Switzerland in 1924, he followed in his father’s footsteps and trained as a stained glass artist. After World War II, a simple turned wooden box and cover he had made in Bernau in the Black Forest found its way into the hands of the young Philipp Rosenthal, convincing the latter of Baumann’s talent as a designer. This resulted in a collaboration with the porcelain factory Rosenthal in Selb that lasted many years. Countless  of Hans Theo Baumann’s designs were executed by the company, which like few others is now seen as synonymous with the emergence of a democratic way of life in post-War Germany. Baumann was one of the “seven young rebels in red ties”, who, championed by Design Centrum Stuttgart’s grande dame Mia Seeghers, revolted against the titans of German pre-War design. Together with Dittert, Kupetz, Raacke, Schütze, Slany, Votteler and the older Bauhaus alumni Herbert Hirche, Hans Theo Baumann shaped and defined the notion of a German post-War industrial designer. In 1959 the VDID, the Association of German Industrial Designers, was founded with Baumann as its first president.
Baumann’s extensive portfolio includes designs for more than 50 firms in Germany and abroad; indeed, it forms a veritable Who’s Who of post-War companies and by extension of design history. Baumann worked with porcelain, glass and ceramics, with metal, textiles and plastic, created lamps and furniture, as well as graphic designs. Few objects of daily use did not rouse the passionate Porsche driver’s interest. His glass vessels (1952) manufactured by sheet glass producers Lamberts in Waldsassen playfully struck a balance between art and function, his design for a Perspex shell chair for Vitra (1952–53) is still regarded a prime example of its kind in Germany, his on-board tableware for Lufthansa (1963–64, 1971, 1986–87) set new standards in the sphere of system tableware, his glass window for the Matthäuskirche church in Pforzheim (1953), designed by architect Egon Eiermann, formed the basis for the glass windows of his Kaiser-Wilhelm memorial church in Berlin, and Baumann’s own wine, grown in France, provided an opener for many a discussion on design. And of course the label for his wine bottles was designed by Baumann himself. His works were shown in important exhibitions from an early date, such as at the Milan Triennials of 1954 and 1957, and he won high accolades – including two gold medals at Expo 58 in Brussels. Correspondingly, strong foreign interest in this highly versatile and talented young German designer was kindled. In 1970 he established the professorship for ceramics at the National Institute of Design in Ahmedabad/India, in 1981 he travelled to Arita/Japan on the invitation of porcelain manufacturer Fukagawa, who make the chinaware for the Japanese imperial family. All of this did not preclude Baumann’s involvement with fine art – on the contrary, it was part of how he understood his existence as a human being, his work as a designer and artist. This gave rise – in a way that can almost be described as natural – to the foundation of the Kunstverein art society and exhibition space in his home town of Schopfheim in Baden-Würtemberg.
In 2004, Hans Theo Baumann and his family donated a collection of his objects to Die Neue Sammlung. Examples of his preliminary work – sketches, work drawings and prototypes – provided important accents to the exhibition “Gralglas. 1930 for many a discussion on design 1981. An Example of German Design” held here in 2011. In 2014 Die Neue Sammlung followed this up with a detailed look at his work in ceramics with the exhibition “Hans Theo Baumann – From Series to One-Offs” held at Internationales Keramikmuseum in Weiden. Only four weeks ago did Hans Theo Baumann prepare the transfer of his archive to Die Neue Sammlung with the help of his family.
We will all miss him, this titan of German post-War design, who with his prodigious output and ideas contributed to the project of returning German design to democratic expression and furthering its international renown. His impish roguish charm, his astute analyses paired with a grain of Alemannic bloody-mindedness and a mischievous twinkle in his eye, and his ability to think – and achieve – the impossible, right to the very end, cannot be imitated.

Hans Theo Baumann
Hans Theo Baumann
2014 © L. Baumann
htb_302
Hans Theo Baumann. Bordgeschirr für die Lufthansa, 1971 Hersteller: Hutschenreuther-Porzellanfabrik, Selb. Kunststoff, Porzellan Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)
Hans Theo Baumann . Mokka- und Kaffeeservice | mocha and coffee service 13000 „Berlin“, 1956/1957 Hersteller | manufacturer: Rosenthal AG, Selb Porzellan | porcelain Donation des Entwerfers | donation of the designer Foto | photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)
Hans Theo Baumann. Mokka- und Kaffeeservice
13000 „Berlin“, 1956/1957, Porzellan
Hersteller: Rosenthal AG, Selb
Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)
Ein Großer des deutschen Nachkriegsdesigns tritt ab.
Hans Theo Baumann ist tot – einer der maßgeblichen Begründer des deutschen Nachkriegsdesigns verstarb einundneunzigjährig am Samstag, den 6. August 2016.
Der gebürtige Schweizer (1924 geboren in Basel), wie sein Vater ausgebildeter Glasmaler, überzeugte nach dem Krieg mit einer schlichten, hölzernen, in Berrnau / Schwarzwald gedrechselten Deckeldose den jungen Philipp Rosenthal von seinem Entwurfstalent. Es entwickelte sich eine langjährige Zusammenarbeit mit der Porzellanfabrik Rosenthal in Selb. Viele seiner Entwürfe fanden ihre Umsetzung in  jener Firma, die heute wie keine andere für sich in Anspruch nehmen kann, für den Aufbruch zu demokratischen Lebensformen im Nachkriegsdeutschland zu stehen. Baumann gehörte zu den „sieben jungen Rebellen mit den roten Krawatten“, die unter dem Schutzmantel Mia Seeghers, der Grande Dame des Design Centrums Stuttgart, aufbegehrten gegen die Granden der deutschen Vorkriegsentwerfer. Mit Dittert, Kupetz, Raacke, Schütze, Slany, Votteler und dem älteren Bauhäusler Herbert Hirche prägte und definierte Hans Theo Baumann den Begriff des Deutschen Industriedesigners. 1959 folgte unter seiner Präsidentschaft die Gründung des VDID, des bis heute tätigen Verbandes der Deutschen Industriedesigner.
Baumanns reiches Portfolio umfasst Entwürfe für über 50 Firmen im In- und Ausland und stellt ein wahres Who-is-Who der Nachkriegsfirmen – und damit der Designgeschichte dar. Er arbeitete in Porzellan, Glas und Keramik, in Metall, Textil und Kunststoff, im Leuchten- und Möbelbereich und in der Grafik. Nur wenige Dinge des Alltags fanden nicht das Interesse des begeisterten Porschefahrers. Seine bei dem Flachglashersteller Lamberts in Waldsassen entstandenen Glasgefäße (1952) meisterten spielerisch den Spagat zwischen Kunst und Funktion, sein Entwurf eines Plexiglasschalenstuhls für die Vitra (1952/53) gilt noch heute als einer der ersten in Deutschland, seine Bordgeschirre für die Lufthansa (1963/64, 1971, 1986/87) schufen Maßstäbe im Bereich des Systemgeschirrs, seine Glasfenster für die Matthäuskirche in Pforzheim (1953) des Architekten Egon Eiermann lieferten die Grundlage für die Glasfenster seiner Kaiser-Wilhelm Gedächtniskirche in Berlin, und der eigene, in Frankreich ausgebaute Wein schuf die Grundlage für manch einen Designdiskurs. Und selbstverständlich war das Etikett der Flasche ein echter Baumann. Früh waren seine Arbeiten auf Ausstellungen vertreten wie 1954 und 1957 auf der Triennale in Mailand und erhielten hohe Auszeichnungen – u.a. 1958 auf der Brüsseler Weltausstellung zwei Goldmedaillen. Das Interesse des Auslands an diesem vielseitig begabten jungen deutschen Designer blieb dementsprechend nicht aus. 1970 baute er den Lehrstuhl für Keramik am National Institute of Design in Ahmedabad/Indien auf, 1981 nahm er die Einladung in die Porzellanmanufaktur Fukagawa in Arita/Japan wahr, in jene Manufaktur, die für das Porzellan des Kaiserhauses verantwortlich zeichnete. Das alles schloss die Auseinandersetzung mit der Kunst nicht aus – ganz im Gegenteil, sie gehörte zu seinem gelebten Selbstverständnis als Mensch, Designer und Künstler. Aus diesem erwuchs – fast möchte man sagen natürlich – auch die Gründung des Kunstvereins an seinem Wohnort im badischen Schopfheim. 2004 fand eine Sammlung seiner Objekte als Donation von Hans Theo Baumann und seiner Familie den Weg in Die Neue Sammlung. In der 2011 in München gezeigten Ausstellung „Gralglas. 1930 – 1981. Ein Beispiel des Deutschen Designs“ setzten Zeugnisse seiner Arbeit – Entwürfe, Werkzeichnungen und Prototypen – wichtige Akzente. 2014 der ausführliche Blick der Neuen Sammlung auf sein keramisches Schaffen in der Ausstellung „Hans Theo Baumann – Von der Serie zum Unikat“ im Internationalen Keramikmuseum in Weiden. Es ist erst vier Wochen her, dass Hans Theo Baumann mit Hilfe seiner Familie die Übernahme seines Archivs an Die Neue Sammlung vorbereitete.
 
Wir alle werden ihn vermissen, diesen ganz Großen des deutschen Nachkriegsdesigns, der mit seinen Entwürfen und seinen Ideen mit dazu beitrug, das deutsche Design zu demokratischen Aussagen zu führen und international wieder bemerkbar zu machen. Unnachahmlich dabei sein spitzbübischer Charme, seine wachen Analysen gepaart mit jenem Quentchen alemannischer Sturheit und einem schelmischen Augenzwinkern, dass das Unmögliche bis zum Schluss für ihn immer denkbar blieb.