The FUTURO house by Matti Suuronen embodies in an especially striking manner the future visions of the 1960s – the era of space travel known as the “Space Age”. To accompany the presentation of the FUTURO we are showing a monthly selection of futurist, future-related design objects from our museum holdings. Our basic premise: every age has its own, sometimes highly different concepts of what is futuristic, and what is visionary.
 
“It’s an S, it’s an O, it’s a crazy radio!” was the advertising slogan for one early precursor to the iPod, the portable, battery-operated Toot-a-loop, launched in 1969. Users could either wear it like a bracelet or twist its two semicircular halves in opposite directions and position it to resemble a rattlesnake. The volume control and loudspeaker worked even when it was closed and it only needed to be opened to change the radio station.
Two things made it possible to come up with this innovative new radio – firstly, ongoing progress in radio technology, with the introduction of the transistor in the mid-1950s making it possible to produce increasingly small appliances, and secondly the triumphant advance of plastics. Injection molding technology allowed for this unusual design to be manufactured easily and at a low cost. With its bright colors and playful shape, the Toot-a-loop is a noteworthy example of the Pop Art-inspired Japanese design from about 1970 onwards, which set out to appeal to young consumers.
J. M. Wilmin, Radio Toot-a-loop, Modell R-72-S, um 1969 (Entwurf). Hersteller: Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. Ltd. (Panasonic National)
J. M. Wilmin, Radio Toot-a-loop, Modell R-72-S, um 1969 (Entwurf). Hersteller: Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. Ltd. (Panasonic National)

Das FUTURO-Haus von Matti Suuronen verkörpert besonders markant die Zukunftsvisionen der 1960er Jahre – dem Zeitalter der Raumfahrt, dem sogenannten „Space Age“. Wir stellen hier begleitend zur Präsentation des FUTURO eine monatliche Auswahl an futuristischen, zukunftsbezogenen Designobjekten aus dem Depot vor. Als grundsätzliche Prämisse dient uns dabei die Erkenntnis, dass jedes Zeitalter seine eigenen, durchaus auch unterschiedlichen Vorstellungen von dem hat, was futuristisch, was visionär ist.
 
Objekt im Juli: Radio Toot-a-loop, Modell R-72-S

Designer: J. M. Wilmin

Entwurf: um 1969

Hersteller: Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. Ltd. (Panasonic National)
 
 

“It’s an S it’s an O, it’s a crazy radio!“ lautete der Werbespruch für einen frühen Vorläufer des I-Pod: das tragbare, mit Batterien betriebene Radio Toot-a-loop von 1969. Man konnte es entweder wie einen Armreif überstreifen oder seine zwei halbkreisförmigen Hälften gegeneinander verdrehen und das Radio klapperschlangenartig aufstellen. Lautstärke und Kopfhörereingang konnten in geschlossenem Zustand bedient werden, nur für die Senderwahl musste man das Gerät öffnen.
 
Voraussetzung für diese innovative Entwicklung waren zum einen der Fortschritt in der Radiotechnik, in der die Einführung des Transistors seit Mitte der 1950er Jahre immer kleinere Apparate möglich gemacht hatte, und zum anderen der Siegeszug des Kunststoffs. Die Spritzgusstechnik erlaubte es, diese außergewöhnliche Form einfach und kostengünstig zu produzieren. In seinen leuchtenden Farben und der verspielten Form ist das Toot-a-loop ein prominentes Beispiel für das von der Pop-Art inspirierte japanische Design um 1970, das auf ein junges Publikum ausgerichtet war.
J. M. Wilmin, Radio Toot-a-loop, Modell R-72-S, um 1969 (Entwurf). Hersteller: Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. Ltd. (Panasonic National)
J. M. Wilmin, Radio Toot-a-loop, Modell R-72-S, um 1969 (Entwurf). Hersteller: Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. Ltd. (Panasonic National)