The FUTURO house by Matti Suuronen embodies in an especially striking manner the future visions of the 1960s – the era of space travel known as the “Space Age”. To accompany the presentation of the FUTURO we are showing a monthly selection of futurist, future-related design objects from our museum holdings. Our basic premise: every age has its own, sometimes highly different concepts of what is futuristic, and what is visionary.
 
Object in December: Sunball
Designer: Günter Ferdinand Ris (sculptor) / Herbert Selldorf (architect)
Draft: 1969
Production: 1969 – 1972
Manufacturer: Rosenthal AG (factory Espelkamp)
 
Take a sphere, a beach chair and wide-ribbed cord, combine them with uninhibited enthusiasm for human extraterrestrial expeditions, and hey presto: You have a relaxation capsule ready for garden use.
 
Designed in the late 1960s by a sculptor and an architect, this garden sofa typifies the Pop design of the day: A round, expansive shape couched in brash colors and made of plastic. This was all possible thanks to hand laminating, a technology that enabled large-sized plastic furniture to be made by hand from high-tensile fiberglass. The fiber material was steeped in polyester resin in negative molds and then combined, a process that required a lot of labor and yet was an optimal way of manufacturing three-dimensionally molded prototypes and small series given the low tooling costs.
 
At a height of just short of 160 cm and a width of 170 cm, the Sunball provided plenty of space for two adults, while the round side-table mounted on one side was easily large enough to carry bowls of nuts and pretzels. By means of a swivel hinge on the side, the upper ball segment could be lowered over the lower section to ensure the cord world within was protected from the elements.
 
As with the Ball or Globe chair designed by Eerio Arnio in 1963, the Sunball was again a hybrid of furniture and architecture. It was an armchair in which you could hide and protect yourself from the surroundings. A design vision that reflected an epoch characterized by the arms race, offering protective spaces and series of modular architectural elements.
 
The Sunball was produced and on offer for only three years, as part of the interior design collection of Rosenthal AG, the Espelkamp-based porcelain makers. At a price of some 4,000 deutschmarks it was almost unaffordable as garden furniture and more expensive than many a bower in its entirety.
 
Incidentally, the highly popular German TV talk show of the 1970s, “Der grosse Preis”, anchored by Wim Thoelke, relied on the Sunball’s aesthetics and each candidate was sat in precisely such a so-called “Candidate Ball”.
Günter Ferdinand Ris and Herbert Selldorf, Sunball, 1969. Manufacturer: Rosenthal AG (factory Espelkamp). Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)

Günter Ferdinand Ris and Herbert Selldorf, Sunball, 1969. Manufacturer: Rosenthal AG (factory Espelkamp). Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)

Das FUTURO-Haus von Matti Suuronen verkörpert besonders markant die Zukunftsvisionen der 1960er Jahre – dem Zeitalter der Raumfahrt, dem sogenannten „Space Age“. Wir stellen hier begleitend zur Präsentation des FUTURO eine monatliche Auswahl an futuristischen, zukunftsbezogenen Designobjekten aus dem Depot vor. Als grundsätzliche Prämisse dient uns dabei die Erkenntnis, dass jedes Zeitalter seine eigenen, durchaus auch unterschiedlichen Vorstellungen von dem hat, was futuristisch, was visionär ist.
 
Objekt im Dezember: Sunball
Designer: Günter Ferdinand Ris (Bildhauer) / Herbert Selldorf (Architekt)
Entwurf: 1969
Produktion: 1969 – 1972
Hersteller: Rosenthal AG (Werk Espelkamp)
 
Man nehme: Kugel, Strandkorb und Breitcord, kombiniere dies mit einer hemmungslosen Begeisterung für extraterrestrische Humanexpeditionen und fertig ist die gartentaugliche Relaxkapsel: der Sunball.
 
Entworfen in den späten 1960er Jahren von einem Bildhauer und einem Architekten steht dieses Gartensofa exemplarisch für das Pop-Design jener Zeit: Runde, raumgreifende Formen in knalligen Farben, made in Kunststoff. Möglich wurde dies mitunter durch das Handlaminierverfahren, eine Technologie, mit der großformatige Kunststoffmöbel aus hoch zugfestem Fiberglas manuell hergestellt werden konnten. Das Tränken von Fasermaterial mit Polyesterharz auf Negativformen war zwar mit einem hohen Arbeitsaufwand verbunden, stellte jedoch hinsichtlich der niedrigen Werkzeugkosten eine optimale Möglichkeit zur Anfertigung von dreidimensional geformten Prototypen und Kleinserien dar.
 
Mit einer Höhe von knapp 160 cm und einer Breite von 170 cm bietet der Sunball bequem Platz für zwei Erwachsene, der einseitig drehbar montierte kreisrunde Abstelltisch hingegen für ausreichend Nüsschen und Salzletten. Mittels seitlich angebrachter Drehscharniere lässt sich das obere Kugelsegment über die untere Schale stülpen, um derart die Cordlandschaft wetterfest zu schützen.
 
Wie bereits bei dem 1963 entworfenen Ball- oder auch Globe-Chair von Eerio Arnio handelt es sich auch hier um ein Hybrid aus Mobiliar und Architektur. Ein Sessel in dem man sich von seiner Umwelt abschotten, zurückziehen, schützen kann. Eine gestalterische Vision, die sich in einer vom Rüstungswettlauf geprägten Epoche in Form von Schutzräumen und der Reihung modularer Architekturelemente widerspiegelt.
 
Der Sunball wurde nur drei Jahre in der Einrichtungskollektion des Porzellanherstellers Rosenthal AG in Espelkamp produziert und angeboten. Bei einem Preis von rund 4.000 DM war er ein nahezu unerschwingliches Gartenmöbel und teurer als so manche Laube.
 
Übrigens: Die in den 1970er Jahren so populäre Talkshow „Der große Preis“, moderiert von Wim Thoelke, bediente sich der Sunball-Ästhetik und platzierte ihre Kandidaten in sogenannten Kandidatenkugeln.
Günter Ferdinand Ris und Herbert Selldorf, Sunball, 1969. Hersteller: Rosenthal AG (Werk Espelkamp). Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)

Günter Ferdinand Ris und Herbert Selldorf, Sunball, 1969. Hersteller: Rosenthal AG (Werk Espelkamp). Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)