Three rooms complete with design presented at Neues Museum will shed light on the topic of “East and West”. In the wake of the presentations on “DDR / BRD” and “Czech Design” attention moves across the Atlantic to North America.
 
After World War II, the USA was considered the leading design nation. Design celebrities such as Eero Saarinen or Charles and Ray Eames played a key part in this, and their work stands out both for organic shapes and superior functions. The design of everyday articles was driven by issues of comfort and making daily work easier. The consumption of beverages such as Coca Cola or leisure-time pursuits all now became a matter for the masses and thus more democratic. The numerous vending machines and juke boxes that arose from the late 1940s to the end of the 1950s symbolize this new, colorful feel for life. To this day, the notion of the “American Way of Life” is a synonym for what liberty and prosperity has to offer. With the ambiguous irony of their name, the futuristic and elegant “Over the Top” sunglasses seem to mirror this splendidly.

The display for the presentation “East and West: USA” has been specially designed by Berlin artist Tilo Schulz (born 1972 in Leipzig). Since the early 1990s, Tilo Schulz has worked as an artist, curator, exhibition designers, and author.
 
See also:
EAST AND WEST: DDR / BRD
EAST AND WEST: CZECH DESIGN
Presentation view. Photo: Rainer Viertlböck
Presentation view “East and West: USA”, Neues Museum – Staatliches Museum für Kunst und Design in Nürnberg. Photo: Rainer Viertlböck
Werksentwurf, Sonnenbrille "Over the Top", 2000. Hersteller: Oakley Inc. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung (A. Laurenzo)
In-hose design, Sunglasses “Over the Top”, 2000. Manufacturer: Oakley Inc. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung (A. Laurenzo)

Drei Räume mit Designobjekten beleuchten im Neuen Museum  das Thema „Ost und West“. Nach den Präsentationen zu „DDR / BRD“ und „Tschechisches Design“ geht der Blick über den Atlantik nach Nordamerika.
 
Die USA gelten nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg als führende Designnation. Persönlichkeiten wie Eero Saarinen sowie Charles und Ray Eames trugen wesentlich zu dieser Definition bei. Ihre Entwürfe sind durch ihre organische Formensprache ebenso charakterisiert wie durch ihre Funktionalität. Fragen des Komforts und der Arbeitserleichterung prägen das Design für den Alltag. Der Konsum von Genussmitteln wie Coca Cola oder von Freizeitvergnügen wird massentauglich und damit demokratisiert. Die vielen Automaten und Musikboxen, die Ende der 1940er und in den 1950er Jahren entstanden, stehen für dieses neue farbenfrohe Lebensgefühl. Bis heute ist der Begriff des „American Way of Life“ ein Synonym für die Möglichkeit von Freiheit und Wohlstand. Die futuristisch-elegante Sonnenbrille „Over the Top“ scheint darauf mit ihrer Doppeldeutigkeit des Namens ironisch Bezug zu nehmen.

Das Display für die Präsentation „East and West: USA“ gestalte der Berliner Künstler Tilo Schulz (*1972 in Leipzig). Seit Anfang der 1990er Jahre ist Tilo Schulz als Künstler, Kurator, Ausstellungsgestalter und Autor tätig.
 
Siehe auch:
EAST AND WEST: DDR / BRD
EAST AND WEST: TSCHECHISCHES DESIGN
eaw_vb_1920
Blick in die Präsentation „East and West: USA“, Neues Museum – Staatliches Museum für Kunst und Design in Nürnberg. Foto: Rainer Viertlböck
Werksentwurf, Sonnenbrille "Over the Top", 2000. Hersteller: Oakley Inc. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung (A. Laurenzo)
Werksentwurf, Sonnenbrille „Over the Top“, 2000. Hersteller: Oakley Inc. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung (A. Laurenzo)