Exhibition: Beate Kuhn. Ceramic Works from the Freiberger Collection
Location: Die Neue Sammlung, Munich
Press conference: July 12, 2017, 11 a.m.
Private view: July 13, 2017, 7 p.m.
Duration: July 14, 2017 – November 19, 2017
 
With her unmistakable signature style and her inexhaustible imagination, Beate Kuhn (1927-2015) is among the most important German ceramic artists working after 1945. Using genuine pottery materials and techniques, she created an oeuvre that far surpasses functional ceramics and ties in with post-war developments in fine art from Picasso to the seriality of Minimal Art.
While in the first years of her practice Beate Kuhn still worked mainly making painted vessels, artistic ceramic sculptures were later to become the focus of her output. She developed a completely independent formal idiom using basic elements such as cylinders, cones, spheres, cup shapes or discs in varying sequences.
Alongside art and music, it was nature that continually provided her with new impulses for her engagement with themes such as movement, rhythm and change. Even her less figurative works conjure up associations of the underwater world, of corals and marine plants, and the nature in our surroundings, the branches of shrubs, tree trunks, flowers or other plants. The additive groupings often reflect natural laws of the life process, of growth and rhythmic change.
It is thanks to the gift from Mannheim-based ceramics collector Klaus Freiberger that Die Neue Sammlung is able to present a comprehensive overview of all of Beate Kuhn’s work periods with around 190 works made between 1954 and 2013.
Klaus Freiberger worked as an architect and at the same time established a collection of over 2,000 objects over the course of nearly 60 years, which he has generously bequeathed to Die Neue Sammlung. The works of Beate Kuhn’s that he has acquired hold a special position in the collection. As the collector is only a few years younger than the artist herself, Freiberger was able to accompany the creative development of the ceramic artist and recipient of numerous awards with a passionate and at the same time expert gaze. His gift represents a fantastic addition to the museum’s own collection of ceramics.
Since its foundation in 1925, Die Neue Sammlung has been collecting ceramics, so far exhibiting these mostly at the International Ceramics Museum in Weiden. Die Neue Sammlung is delighted to provide a ceramic oeuvre with the prominent platform that is an exhibition at Pinakothek der Moderne for the first time.
A catalogue will be issued by arnoldsche Art Publishers to accompany the exhibition that will include a comprehensive inventory of all of Beate Kuhn’s works in the Freiberger collection.
 
Die Neue Sammlung would like to thank PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V. for their generous support of this project.
 
Curators:
Dr. Josef Straßer
Dr. des. Anna-Sophia Reichelt (assistant)
 
Further information:
Dr. Josef Strasser
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
T +49 (0)89 272725-0
Email: strasser@die-neue-sammlung.de
 
Tine Nehler M.A. | director press & communication
Elisabeth Strobel | press & communication
Pinakotheken im Kunstareal | Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
Kunstareal | Barer Strasse 29 | 80799 Munich
T +49 (0)89 23805-122 | F +49 (0)89 23805-125
Email: presse@pinakothek.de
 
These images may be used free of charge for editorial reporting on this exhibition, on condition that the credit is clearly and fully indicated (usually: owner, copyright holders and photographer). Download: Move Cursor on your choice and click; start download of High Resolution files with “save as” command.
 
Exhibition view, Beate Kuhn. Foto: Anna Seibel
Exhibition view, Beate Kuhn, “Brunnen der Tiefe“, 1967. Photo: Anna Seibel
Exhibition view, Beate Kuhn. Photo: Anna Seibel
Exhibition view, Beate Kuhn. Photo: Anna Seibel
Exhibition view, Beate Kuhn, Gruppe, 1965. Photo: Anna Seibel
Exhibition view, Beate Kuhn, “Katze“, 1975. Photo: Anna Seibel
Exhibition view, Beate Kuhn. Photo: Anna Seibel
Exhibition view, Beate Kuhn, “Kleine Familie im Halbkreis“, 1988. Photo: Anna Seibel
Exhibition view, Beate Kuhn, “Bäume vor Himmel“, 1991. Photo: Anna Seibel
Beate Kuhn. Vase „Die Nachdenkliche“, 1955, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Vase, 1960, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Object, 1998, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Vessel sculpture „Wolkentopf“, 1997, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Object „Bäume vor Himmel“, 1991, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn: Object „Kleine Familie im Halbkreis“, 1988, porcelain and stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Object, 1986, porcelain. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Vessel sculpture, 1983, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Spoon object, 1975, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Spoon object, 1975, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Object „Spiegel“, 1971, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Object „Trichterturm“, 1970, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Object, 1965, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Group, 1965, stoneware. Photo: A. Laurenzo

Ausstellung: Beate Kuhn. Keramiken aus der Sammlung Freiberger
Ort: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
Pressekonferenz: 12.07.2017, 11.00
Eröffnung: 13.07.2017, 19.00
Ausstellungsdauer: 14.07.2017 – 19.11.2017
 
Beate Kuhn (1927-2015) gehört mit ihrer unverkennbaren Handschrift und ihrer unerschöpflichen Fantasie zu den bedeutendsten deutschen Keramikern nach 1945. Mit den genuinen Mitteln und Techniken der Töpferei schuf sie ein Werk, das weit über die funktionelle Gebrauchskeramik hinausreicht und an die Entwicklungen der bildenden Kunst seit der Nachkriegszeit, von Picasso bis zur Serialität der Minimal Art, anschließt.
Widmete sich Beate Kuhn in den ersten Jahren ihres Schaffens noch dem bemalten Gefäß, so stand später die freie keramische Plastik im Mittelpunkt ihres Interesses. Aus der variierenden Aneinanderreihung von auf der Scheibe gedrehten Grundelementen wie Zylinder, Kegel, Kugel, Schale oder Scheiben entwickelte sie eine völlig eigenständige Formensprache.
Neben der Kunst und der Musik war es die Natur, die ihr immer wieder neue Anregungen für ihre Auseinandersetzung mit den Themen Bewegung, Rhythmus und Veränderung lieferte. Selbst ihre weniger gegenständlichen Werke wecken Assoziationen an die Unterwasserwelt, an Korallen und Meerespflanzen, und an die Natur der Umgebung, an Buschgeäst, Baumstämme, Blumen oder andere Pflanzen. Häufig spiegeln die additiven Reihungen die natürlichen Gesetzmäßigkeiten des Lebensprozesses vom Wachsen und rhythmischen Wandel wider.
Der Schenkung des Mannheimer Keramiksammlers Klaus Freiberger ist es zu verdanken, dass Die Neue Sammlung mit rund 190 zwischen 1954 und 2013 entstandenen Arbeiten einen umfassenden Überblick aller Schaffensperioden von Beate Kuhn präsentieren kann.
Im Laufe von annähernd sechzig Jahren hat der Architekt Klaus Freiberger eine Sammlung von mehr als 2.000 Objekten aufgebaut, die er der Neuen Sammlung großzügig überlassen hat – die von ihm zusammengetragenen Werke Beate Kuhns nehmen hierin eine besondere Stellung ein. Nur wenige Jahre jünger als die Künstlerin selbst, konnte Freiberger die künstlerische Entwicklung der vielfach ausgezeichneten Keramikkünstlerin mit einem leidenschaftlichen und zugleich fachmännischen Blick begleiten. Seine Schenkung stellt eine großartige Ergänzung der hauseigenen Keramiksammlung dar.
Seit ihrer Gründung 1925 hat Die Neue Sammlung Keramik gesammelt und diese bisher hauptsächlich im Internationalen Keramik-Museum in Weiden gezeigt. Die Neue Sammlung freut sich, mit dieser Ausstellung nun erstmals in der Pinakothek der Moderne einem keramischen Œuvre einen prominenten Platz zu bieten.
Zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog bei arnoldsche Art Publishers mit einem ausführlichen Verzeichnis aller Werke von Beate Kuhn aus der Sammlung Freiberger.
 
Die Neue Sammlung bedankt sich bei PIN. Freunde der Pinakothek der Moderne e.V. für die großzügige Unterstützung des Projektes.
 
 
Kuratoren:
Dr. Josef Straßer
Dr. des. Anna-Sophia Reichelt (Assistenz)
 
Weitere Informationen:
Dr. Josef Straßer
Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum
T +49 (0)89 272725-0
E-Mail: strasser@die-neue-sammlung.de
 
Tine Nehler M.A. | Leitung Presse & Kommunikation
Elisabeth Strobel | Presse & Kommunikation
Pinakotheken im Kunstareal | Bayerische Staatsgemäldesammlungen
Kunstareal | Barer Straße 29 | 80799 München
T +49 (0)89 23805-122 | F +49 (0)89 23805-125
E-Mail: presse@pinakothek.de
 
Diese Abbildungen dürfen nur im Zuge der aktuellen Berichterstattung zur Ausstellung honorar- und genehmigungsfrei verwendet werden, sofern der Urhebervermerk korrekt und vollständig angegeben wird (meist: Eigentümer, Copyright Holder, Fotograf). Download: Cursor bitte auf das jeweilige Motiv und anklicken; den download der High Resolution Daten mit “speichern unter” Befehl starten.
 
Ausstellungsansicht, Beate Kuhn. Foto: Anna Seibel
Ausstellungsansicht, Beate Kuhn, „Brunnen der Tiefe“, 1967. Foto: Anna Seibel
Ausstellungsansicht, Beate Kuhn. Foto: Anna Seibel
Ausstellungsansicht, Beate Kuhn. Foto: Anna Seibel
Ausstellungsansicht, Beate Kuhn, Gruppe, 1965. Foto: Anna Seibel
Ausstellungsansicht, Beate Kuhn, „Katze“, 1975. Foto: Anna Seibel
Ausstellungsansicht, Beate Kuhn. Foto: Anna Seibel
Ausstellungsansicht, Beate Kuhn, „Kleine Familie im Halbkreis“, 1988. Foto: Anna Seibel
Ausstellungsansicht, Beate Kuhn, „Bäume vor Himmel“, 1991. Foto: Anna Seibel
Beate Kuhn. Vase „Die Nachdenkliche“, 1955, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Vase, 1960, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Objekt, 1998, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Gefäßplastik „Wolkentopf“, 1997, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Objekt „Bäume vor Himmel“, 1991, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn: Objekt „Kleine Familie im Halbkreis“, 1988, Porzellan und Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Objekt, 1986, Porzellan. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Gefäßplastik, 1983, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Löffelobjekt, 1975, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Löffelobjekt, 1975, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Objekt „Spiegel“, 1971, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Objekt „Trichterturm“, 1970, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Objekt, 1965, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Beate Kuhn. Gruppe, 1965, Steinzeug. Foto: A. Laurenzo