In 2018 Die Neue Sammlung at Neues Museum Nuremberg is focusing – as in Munich with the FUTURO house and the jewelry exhibition “Jablonec ’68” – on the ideas and movements that manifest themselves by the end of the 1960s: be it in the furniture designed by architects who break with Functionalism, be it in the closing of an important design school whose approach and teachings were too unconventional for their time, or also in a bar installation that reflects the new spirit of freedom and leisure.

Architects do not only occupy themselves with shell and structure of housing, with space and material; they also consider their interiors and residents. Wherever mankind interacts with space, architecture and design interlock. The presentation showcases designs by various archictectural movements and groupings. For example, the chair constructions by Egon Eiermann (1904–1970) reveal the functional concept of German postwar modernism, the material Frank Gehry (b. 1929) used for his furniture reflects his deconstructivist approach, and the flowing forms by Zaha Hadid (1950–2016) refer to her singular, kinetic language, while the grid pattern of the objects by Superstudio (1966–1978) show their projection of an architectural utopia continued into infinity.
Humans tend to be at the center of these design theories. Like architects, designers typically see their work as a social task and responsibilty. The seating objects, consequently, trace the concepts and ideas of architectural as well as design history.

A presentation by Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum – in cooperation with Neues Museum in Nuremberg

Neues Museum. Nuremberg
Furniture by Architects. Designed Manifestos

Presentation view. Photo: Anna Seibel


Presentation view. Photo: Anna Seibel

Die Neue Sammlung im Neuen Museum Nürnberg fokusiert sich 2018 – wie in München mit dem Futuro-Gebäude und der Schmuckausstellung „Jablonec ’68“ – auf die Ideen und Bewegungen, die sich Ende der 1960er Jahre im Design manifestieren: sei es in den Möbeln der Architekten, die mit dem Funktionalismus brechen, sei es in der Schließung einer bedeutenden Designhochschule, die in ihrem Ansatz zu unkonventionell für ihre Zeit war, oder auch in einer Bar-Installation, die den neuen Freizeit- wie Freiheitsgeist spiegelte.

Architekten befassen sich nicht nur mit der Hülle und Struktur von Gehäusen, mit Raum und Material, sie machen sich auch über ihre Innenleben und Bewohner Gedanken. Dort, wo der Mensch mit dem Raum interagiert, greifen Architektur und Design ineinander. Die Präsentation zeigt Entwürfe von verschiedenen architektonischen Strömungen und Gruppierungen. So spiegelt sich in den Stuhlkonstruktionen von Egon Eiermann (1904–1970) die funktionale Auffassung der deutschen Nachkriegsmoderne, im Material der Möbel von Frank Gehry (*1929) sein dekonstruktivistischer Ansatz, in den fließenden Formen der Zaha Hadid (1950–2016) ihre einzigartige, kinetische Sprache, oder in den Flächenrastern der Objekte von Superstudio (1966–1978) die Ansätze einer in die Unendlichkeit fortgeführten Architekturutopie.
In diesen Gestaltungstheorien steht oft der Mensch im Mittelpunkt. Wie in der Architektur wird auch im Design die Arbeit als soziale Aufgabe verstanden. Die Sitzobjekte bilden somit Konzepte und Ideen der Architektur- und der Designgeschichte ab.

Eine Präsentation der Neuen Sammlung – The Design Museum in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Neuen Museum in Nürnberg

Neues Museum. Nürnberg
Ab 13.04.2018

Blick in die Präsentation. Foto: Anna Seibel


Blick in die Präsentation. Foto: Anna Seibel