The FUTURO House by Matti Suuronen is an especially poignant embodiment of the future visions in the 1960s or the Space Age as it came to be known. To accompany the presentation of the FUTURO we are showcasing futuristic, forward-looking design objects from the museum storerooms – one per month. In doing so we are likewise fundamentally highlighting the fact that every age has its own special and sometimes different notion of what is futuristic and visionary.


 
Object for January: Juicy Salif Citrus-Squeezer

Designer: Philippe Starck (born 1949)

Design year: 1988
Production: since 1990

Manufacturer: Alessi S.p.A.
 
Shaped like a space capsule on stilts, Juicy Salif Citrus Squeezer by Philippe Starck stands on long, spindly legs. It has hardly anything in common with the normal notion of such an appliance. In place of the customary device complete with sieve and pulp separator Starck created a tapering cone body that sits atop slightly curving insect-like legs. Only the sharp-edged ribs that help to squeeze the juice from the fruit recall customary citrus squeezers.
 
Starck had the idea for the design while vacationing in Italy. A plate of calamari with lemon juice is said to have inspired the designer to produce this unusual shape resembling an octopus. He drew his initial sketch on a restaurant table mat and sent it Alberto Alessi, who was actually expecting to receive a tray design. 
 
The 29cm-tall citrus squeezer of made of cast, polished aluminum looks more like a sculpture than a household appliance. Starck himself describes it as a “typical wedding gift” that you can be proud to present. Even though “Juicy Salif” has often been accused of not being very practical, in fact it is. All you need do is place a glass beneath the raised cone. The minimalist design has been frequently criticized for not includíng a sieve to catch the pips and pulp and, but Starck’s product is highly functional. It merely focuses on the actual action of squeezing, for which he came up with a new, surprising idea. This subversive approach to an everyday object is typical of the French designer, and “Juicy Salif” has long since been considered one of the design icons of the 1990s.
Philippe Starck, citrus press “Juicy Salif”, 1988. Manufacturer: Alessi S.p.A. Photo: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)

Das FUTURO-Haus von Matti Suuronen verkörpert besonders markant die Zukunftsvisionen der 1960er Jahre – dem Zeitalter der Raumfahrt, dem sogenannten „Space Age“. Wir stellen hier begleitend zur Präsentation des FUTURO eine monatliche Auswahl an futuristischen, zukunftsbezogenen Designobjekten aus dem Depot vor. Als grundsätzliche Prämisse dient uns dabei die Erkenntnis, dass jedes Zeitalter seine eigenen, durchaus auch unterschiedlichen Vorstellungen von dem hat, was futuristisch, was visionär ist.
 


Objekt im Januar: Zitronenpresse Juicy Salif

Designer: Philippe Starck (geboren 1949)

Entwurf: 1988
Produktion: seit 1990

Hersteller: Alessi S.p.A.
 
Wie eine Raumschiffkapsel auf Stelzen schwebt die Zitruspresse Juicy Salif von Philippe Starck auf ihren langen, dünnen Beinen. Mit der gängigen Vorstellung von einem solchen Küchengerät hat sie jedoch kaum etwas gemeinsam. Statt der gewohnten Form mit Sieb und Auffangbehälter kreierte Starck einen spitz zulaufenden Zapfen, der auf insektenartigen, leicht geschwungenen Beinen thront. Nur die scharfkantigen Rippen, mit deren Hilfe der Saft aus der Frucht gepresst wird, erinnern noch an übliche Zitruspressen.
Die Idee kam Starck während eines Urlaubs in Italien. Ein Teller Calamari mit Zitronensaft soll den Designer zu dieser ungewöhnlichen, einer Krake ähnelnden Form inspiriert haben. Die Skizzen zeichnete er direkt auf das Tischset des Restaurants und schickte sie an Alberto Alessi, der eigentlich auf einen Entwurf für ein Tablett wartete. 
 
Die insgesamt 29cm hohe Zitruspresse aus gegossenem und polierten Aluminium präsentiert sich eher als Skulptur denn als Haushaltsgerät. Starck selbst beschreibt sie als „typisches Hochzeitsgeschenk“, das man stolz präsentieren kann. Dennoch lässt sich die Juicy Salif durchaus praktisch einsetzen, auch wenn das immer wieder angezweifelt wird. Zur Verwendung stellt man das Glas unter den erhobenen Reibekegel, damit es den Saft aufnimmt. Diese auf das Wesentliche beschränkte Form, die kein Sieb zum Auffangen von Kernen und Fruchtfleisch vorsieht, sorgte immer wieder für Kritik, doch ist Starcks Design nicht funktionsfeindlich. Er isolierte vielmehr die wesentliche Handlung des Auspressens und fand für sie eine neue, überraschende Lösung. Diese umstürzlerische Herangehensweise an einen banalen Gegenstand ist typisch für den französischen Designer, dessen Juicy Salif zu den Designikonen der 1990er Jahre zählt.
Philippe Starck, Zitronenpresse „Juicy Salif“, 1988. Hersteller: Alessi S.p.A. Foto: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum (A. Laurenzo)