The FUTURO house by Matti Suuronen embodies in an especially striking manner the future visions of the 1960s – the era of space travel known as the “Space Age”. To accompany the presentation of the FUTURO we are showing a monthly selection of futurist, future-related design objects from our museum holdings. Our basic premise: every age has its own, sometimes highly different concepts of what is futuristic, and what is visionary.
 
Object in November: desc microphone
Designer: Gio Ponti
Draft: 1930s
Manufacturer: Ducati, Italy
 
If tested in a wind tunnel, the table microphone would probably prove to have a very low flow resistance – you can see that.
 
Shaped like one of the 1930s Zeppelins, the microphone’s casing floats almost weightlessly on a rectangular base. The latter’s silhouette is in turn so curved that it brings to mind the body of a streamlined racing car.
 
Fast cars and elegant airships – they were perhaps the most popular ambassadors of the aesthetics of streamlining that from the end of the 1930s onwards not only prevailed in mobility design but in fact in the decades that followed emerged as the predominant aesthetic (including that of everyday objects) and thus became the epitome of a forward-looking, futuristic form of design which was also compatible with mass appealing design.
 
The table microphone is a relatively early and highly successful example of transposing the aesthetics of streamlining onto the design of objects for everyday use.
Even if air resistance does not of course play any role in this small Bakelite object, it is nevertheless shaped like an ideal streamlined body, and thus symbolizes a focus forwards into the future.
 
It was designed by Italian architect and designer Gio Ponti for Ducati.
 
Gio Ponti, desc microphone, 1930s. Bakelite. Manufacturer: Societá Scientifica Radiobrevetti Ducati, Italy. Photo: A. Bröhan, München

Das FUTURO-Haus von Matti Suuronen verkörpert besonders markant die Zukunftsvisionen der 1960er Jahre – dem Zeitalter der Raumfahrt, dem sogenannten „Space Age“. Wir stellen hier begleitend zur Präsentation des FUTURO eine monatliche Auswahl an futuristischen, zukunftsbezogenen Designobjekten aus dem Depot vor. Als grundsätzliche Prämisse dient uns dabei die Erkenntnis, dass jedes Zeitalter seine eigenen, durchaus auch unterschiedlichen Vorstellungen von dem hat, was futuristisch, was visionär ist.
 
Objekt im November: Tischmikrofon
Designer: Gio Ponti
Entwurf: 1930er Jahre
Hersteller: Ducati, Italien
 
Im Windkanaltest würde das Tischmikrofon vermutlich einen sehr geringen Strömungswiderstand bieten – das sieht man.
 
Geformt wie eines der Zeppeline der 1930er Jahre schwebt das Gehäuse des Mikrofons scheinbar schwerelos auf einem rechteckigen Fuß. Dessen Silhouette wiederum ist so geschwungen, daß es an die Karosserie eines sportlich-schnittigen Rennwagens denken lässt.
 
Schnelle Autos und elegante Luftschiffe – das waren die vielleicht populärsten Botschafter der Ästhetik der Stromlinienform, die seit dem Ende der 1930er Jahre nicht mehr nur das Mobilitätsdesign dominierte, sondern bis weit in die folgenden Jahrzehnte zur vorherrschenden Ästhetik (auch von Alltagsgegenständen) und damit zum Inbegriff eines zukunfsgerichteten, futuristischen, aber auch massenkompatiblen Designs wurde.
 
Das Tischmikrofon ist ein relativ frühes und zudem sehr gelungenes Bespiel für die Übertragung der Stromlinienästhetik auf das Design von Gegenständen aus dem Alltagsgebrauch.
Auch wenn der Luftwiderstand bei diesem kleinen Objekt aus Bakelit natürlich keine Rolle spielt, ist es dennoch wie ein idealer Stromlinienkörper geformt – und steht damit sinnbildlich für eine Ausrichtung nach vorn in die Zukunft.
 
Entworfen wurde es von dem italienischen Architekten und Designer Gio Ponti für Ducati.
 
Gio Ponti, Tischmikrofon, 1930er Jahre. Bakelit, braunschwarz. Hersteller: Societá Scientifica Radiobrevetti Ducati, Italien. Foto: A. Bröhan, München