Exhibition: … only Chairs? Children’s Chairs from Sammlung Neuwald
Venue: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum, Pinakothek der Moderne, Munich
Press conference: December 6, 2017, 11:00 a.m.
Opening: December 6, 2017, 6:00 p.m.
Duration: December 7, 2017 – February 4, 2018
 
Children’s chairs play a special role in design history. While the invention of the chair dates back to Classical Antiquity, seating designed especially for children only exists from a much later point onwards. Initially these were reserved for the aristocracy and bourgeoisie. Over the course of the 19th century, however, with the advance of industrialization and general schooling increasingly gaining importance, the children’s chair soon emerged as a design category in its own right. By following its history, one cannot only follow the development of new construction methods and the use of new materials, but also trace the change in the social situation of children.
 
The Thonet company not only undertook pioneering work by making modern seating available to the broader masses through the invention of bentwood techniques, but also supplied furniture suitable for children. The company also focused on selling child-friendly furniture, and offered models produced especially for children as of their second catalogue brochure, published in 1866. When, a little later, the first furniture designed by architects began to revolutionize the way homes were conceived, the programmatic designs of Joseph Hoffmann and others also included furnishings for children’s bedrooms. Since then, many designers have addressed the stringent requirements connected to creating furniture suitable for children. Down through the years, the ergonomic and hygienic challenges of designing children’s chairs as well as the desired versatility in use, have given rise to a great variety of seating objects. The bandwidth of the category spans everything from scaled-down design classics to innovative seating objects that may be both sat on and played with.
 
The collection of children’s chairs belonging to Munich resident Gisela Neuwald provides an insight into this range of practical, imaginative and innovative design solutions. Die Neue Sammlung is now presenting this collection in cooperation with the Chair of Spatial Arts and Lighting Design at the Technical University of Munich (TUM). Since the 1970s, Mrs. Neuwald has brought together over 290 objects from across the world, incorporating classics of modern design as well as curiosities and folk art. These were evaluated and classified within the context of a research project carried out over the course of several years by the Furniture Design program in the Department of Architecture at TUM. The presentation on the second floor of Pinakothek der Moderne inspired by this project now presents a selection of the most important designs. It illuminates the various aspects according to which the development of the children’s chair from the Biedermeier period to the present day may be assessed.
 
The exhibition is accompanied by a publication.
 
Curator: Dr. des. Anna-Sophia Reichelt
In cooperation with Dipl. Ing. Achitect Bettina-Maria Mueller
 
These images may be used free of charge for editorial reporting on this exhibition, on condition that the credit is clearly and fully indicated (usually: owner, copyright holders and photographer). Download: Move Cursor on your choice and click; start download of High Resolution files with “save as” command.
 
Exhibition view. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Exhibition view. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Exhibition view. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Exhibition view. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Exhibition view. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Luigi Colani, desk-seating-combination “Zocker”, 1972. Plastic (polyethylene). Producer: Kinderlübke / Top System, Burkhard Lübke, Gütersloh, Germany. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Unknown, Armchair, about 1840. Wood (boxwood). Produced in China. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Richard Sapper, Marco Zanuso, Chair „seggiolino 4999“, 1964. Plastic (polypropylene). Producer: Kartell S.p.A., Noviglio, Italy. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Karin Mobring, armchair “Anna”, 1963. Wood (beech, beech plywood), lacquered. Producer: Ikea of Sweden AS, Älmhult, Sweden. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Walter Papst, chair 360/3, 1952-1954. Wood (beech), lacquered. Producer: Wilkhahn Wilkening + Hahne GmbH & Co. KG, Einbeck, Germany. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Harry Bertoia, chair Nr. 426 (from the “Diamond” series), 1962. Metal, lacquered; textile. Producer: Knoll Associates, New York, USA. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Hans J. Wegner, armchair CH 410 “Peter’s Stol”, 1944. Wood (beech), lacquered. Producer: Fredericia Stolefabrik A/S, Kopenhagen, Denmark. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Alvar Aalto, armchair Nr. 65, 1931-1933. Wood (birch), upper part of chair legs partly plywood, laquered; linoleum. Producer: Artek, Helsinki, Finland. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Unknown, armchair, about 1890. African wood. Produced in Ethiopia. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Unknown, rocking chair, about 1885. Wood (bent beech), stained; wickerwork. Producer: possibly Jacob & Josef Kohn, Vienna, Austria. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Konstantin Grcic, chair „Pro 4“, 2012. Wood (oak), lacquered; plastic (poypropylene). Producer: Flötotto Systemmöbel GmbH, Rietberg, Germany. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Javier Mariscal, chair “Julian”, 2005. Plastic (polyethylene). Producer: Magis S.p.A., Torre di Mosto, Italy. Photo: A. Laurenzo
Giandomenico Belotti, chair „Spaghetti Chair“, 1979. Metal; plastic (PVC). Producer: Alias S.p.A., Grumello del Monte, Italy. Photo: A. Laurenzo

Ausstellung: …nur Stühle? Kinderstühle der Sammlung Neuwald
Ort: Die Neue Sammlung – The Design Museum, Pinakothek der Moderne, München
Pressekonferenz: 06.12.2017, 11:00
Eröffnung: 06.12.2017, 18:00
Ausstellungsdauer: 07.12.2017 – 04.02.2018
 
Der Kinderstuhl nimmt in der Designgeschichte eine besondere Rolle ein. Während die Erfindung des Stuhles ins Altertum zurückreicht, lassen sich erst deutlich später speziell für Kinder angefertigte Sitzmöbel nachweisen, die allerdings Adel und Bürgertum vorbehalten waren. Im Laufe des 19. Jahrhunderts etablierte sich im Zuge der Industrialisierung sowie der erstarkenden Bedeutung der Pädagogik der Kinderstuhl als eigenständige Gattung des Designs. Anhand seiner Geschichte lässt sich die Entstehung neuer Konstruktionsmethoden und Materialien ebenso exemplarisch nachverfolgen wie die Veränderung der gesellschaftlichen Situation von Kindern.
 
Die Firma Thonet leistete nicht nur dahingehend Pionierarbeit, dass sie durch die Erfindung des Bugholzverfahrens der breiten Bevölkerung den Erwerb moderner Sitzmöbel ermöglichte. Sie wandte sich auch dem Vertrieb von kindgerechtem Mobiliar zu. Bereits auf ihrem zweiten Katalogblatt von 1866 wurden Möbel speziell für Kinder angeboten. Als nur wenig später die ersten Architektenmöbel die Gestaltung des Wohnens zu revolutionieren begannen, ließen sich in den programmatischen Entwürfen u.a. eines Joseph Hoffmann auch Einrichtungen für Kinderzimmer finden. Seitdem haben sich zahlreiche Gestalter mit den hohen Ansprüchen auseinandergesetzt, die der Entwurf von kindertauglichen Möbeln mit sich bringt. Die ergonomischen und hygienischen Herausforderungen bei der Gestaltung eines Kinderstuhles ebenso wie dessen möglichst vielseitige Einsetzbarkeit haben im Laufe der vergangenen Jahrzehnte verschiedenste Arten von Sitzobjekten entstehen lassen. Deren Bandbreite reicht vom Designklassiker in Kindergröße bis hin zum innovativen Sitzobjekt, das sich gleichermaßen als Stuhl wie auch zum Spielen eignet.
 
Einen Eindruck dieser praktischen, fantasievollen und innovativen Gestaltungslösungen bietet die Sammlung von Kinderstühlen der Münchnerin Gisela Neuwald, die Die Neue Sammlung in Kooperation mit dem Lehrstuhl für Raumkunst und Lichtgestaltung der Technischen Universität München (TUM) präsentiert. Seit den 1970er Jahren hat Frau Neuwald mehr als 290 Objekte aus aller Welt zusammengetragen, deren Spannweite sowohl die Klassiker des modernen Designs, aber auch Kuriosa und Volkskunst umfasst. Diese wurden im Rahmen eines langjährigen Forschungsprojektes im Fach Möbeldesign an der Fakultät für Architektur der TUM untersucht und klassifiziert. Die hiervon angeregte Präsentation stellt im zweiten Obergeschoss der Pinakothek der Moderne eine Auswahl der bedeutendsten Entwürfe vor. Sie beleuchtet die verschiedenen Gesichtspunkte, anhand derer die Entwicklung des Kinderstuhles vom Biedermeier bis heute bewertet werden kann.
 
Begleitend zur Ausstellung erscheint ein Katalog.
 
Kurator: Dr. des. Anna-Sophia Reichelt
In Zusammenarbeit mit Dipl. Ing. Architektin Bettina-Maria Mueller
 
Diese Abbildungen dürfen nur im Zuge der aktuellen Berichterstattung zur Ausstellung honorar- und genehmigungsfrei verwendet werden, sofern der Urhebervermerk korrekt und vollständig angegeben wird (meist: Eigentümer, Copyright Holder, Fotograf). Download: Cursor bitte auf das jeweilige Motiv und anklicken; den download der High Resolution Daten mit “speichern unter” Befehl starten.
Luigi Colani, Pult-Sitzkombination „Zocker“, 1972. Kunststoff (Polyethylen). Hersteller: Kinderlübke / Top System, Burkhard Lübke, Gütersloh, Deutschland. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Unbekannt, Armlehnstuhl, um 1840. Holz (Buchsbaum). Hergestellt in China. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Richard Sapper, Marco Zanuso, Lehnstuhl „seggiolino 4999“, 1964. Kunststoff (Polypropylen). Hersteller: Kartell S.p.A., Noviglio, Italien. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Karin Mobring, Armlehnstuhl „Anna“, 1963. Holz (Buche, Buchensperrholz), lackiert. Hersteller: IKEA of Sweden AS, Älmhult, Schweden. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Walter Papst, Lehnstuhl 360/3, 1952-1954. Holz (Buche), lackiert. Hersteller: Wilkhahn Wilkening + Hahne GmbH & Co. KG, Eimbeck, Deutschland. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Harry Bertoia, Lehnstuhl Nr. 426 (aus der Diamond-Serie), 1962. Metall, lackiert; Textil. Hersteller: Knoll Associates, New York, USA. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Hans J. Wegner, Armlehnstuhl CH 410 „Peter’s Stol“, 1944. Holz (Buche), lackiert. Hersteller: Fredericia Stolefabrik A/S, Kopenhagen, Dänemark. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Alvar Aalto, Lehnstuhl Nr. 65, 1931-1933. Holz (Birke), Stuhlbeine im oberen Teil schichtgeleimt, lackiert; Linoleum. Hersteller: Artek, Helsinki, Finnland. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Unbekannt, Armlehnstuhl, um 1890. Afrikanisches Holz. Hergestellt in Äthiopien. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Unbekannt, Schaukelfauteuil, um 1885. Holz (Buchenbugholz), gebeizt; Rohrgeflecht. Hersteller: wohl Jacob & Josef Kohn, Wien, Österreich. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Konstantin Grcic, Lehnstuhl „Pro 4“, 2012. Holz (Eichenholz), lackiert; Kunststoff (Polypropylen). Hersteller: Flötotto Systemmöbel GmbH, Rietberg, Deutschland. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Javier Mariscal, Lehnstuhl „Julian“, 2005. Kunststoff (Polyethylen). Hersteller: Magis S.p.A., Torre di Mosto, Italien. Foto: A. Laurenzo
Giandomenico Belotti, Lehnstuhl „Spaghetti Chair“, 1979. Metall; Kunststoff (PVC). Hersteller: Alias S.p.A., Grumello del Monte, Italien. Foto: A. Laurenzo